Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D Reviews & Videos
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 14-09-10, 05:38 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 15,791
When we first reviewed the i7 970 Hexcore we had a feeling our CPU had more to offer. Could we finally get 5GHZ on air cooling?

Continue Reading

__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14-09-10, 06:08 PM
El Gappo El Gappo is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 30
SOoooooo when you joining the 6ghz club? Nicely done Tom
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14-09-10, 06:37 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 15,791
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Gappo View Post

SOoooooo when you joining the 6ghz club? Nicely done Tom
Might have to move to the arctic first mate.... Or find some other way of getting subzero.....
__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14-09-10, 09:10 PM
chudley chudley is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,305
Cant wait to get my prize from Noctua, not that I will be expecting to reach 5ghz, but I defo will be trying to up my cpu speed a bit Nicely done Tom.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14-09-10, 09:21 PM
AMDFTW AMDFTW is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 4,608
likewise chud i can see 3.6 in the horizon
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15-09-10, 09:02 AM
silenthill silenthill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 224
I just like to know if you could play any new game for around two hours without blue screens or freezing screens because I’m sure you haven’t tried it, forget about benchmarks and prime 95 that’s all a load of bullshit and if you can get crysis to run for two hours without any problems then my friend your system is as stable as can be. Prime 95 is software that stresses the cpu 100% which in real life never happens because most new game these days rely mostly on the gpu, so if you are a gamer like me and not interested in HD encoding then your 5GHz is fine and stable.

__________________
CORE I7 920 @ 4.3 GHz - GTX 480 SLI OC TO 800,1600,4000 ----- CPU-Z
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15-09-10, 10:03 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 15,791
Quote:
Originally Posted by silenthill View Post

I just like to know if you could play any new game for around two hours without blue screens or freezing screens because I’m sure you haven’t tried it, forget about benchmarks and prime 95 that’s all a load of bullshit and if you can get crysis to run for two hours without any problems then my friend your system is as stable as can be. Prime 95 is software that stresses the cpu 100% which in real life never happens because most new game these days rely mostly on the gpu, so if you are a gamer like me and not interested in HD encoding then your 5GHz is fine and stable.
It was an epeen shot dude, suicide run even. Just to see if we could get it to windows. Although steam did open and a few other things updated. But I very much doubt if the cpu had tried to do anything it would have been stable.

But hey, lets save the benches for next time eh
__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16-09-10, 09:47 AM
F-alienware F-alienware is offline
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist
Posts: 0
Send a message via MSN to F-alienware
Haha it's like Indiana Jones.

Let me know if you hit the danger levels Tom, I'll hide in the fridge
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 21-10-10, 07:26 AM
robtmathias robtmathias is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10
Send a message via AIM to robtmathias
Great article! 1 month later, is this still the fastest setup for the money? I am new to overclocking, but I understand cooling, and have one of those 3 foot tall floor rolling super cold AC units with a flex duct going out to the window pointed inside my tower. Just ordered the Tuniq 120 Extreme, same as the Noctua there.

Long story short, can I have your exact settings for a stable 4.8, so I can go out and buy that setup?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 21-10-10, 07:54 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 15,791
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Mathias View Post

Great article! 1 month later, is this still the fastest setup for the money? I am new to overclocking, but I understand cooling, and have one of those 3 foot tall floor rolling super cold AC units with a flex duct going out to the window pointed inside my tower. Just ordered the Tuniq 120 Extreme, same as the Noctua there.

Long story short, can I have your exact settings for a stable 4.8, so I can go out and buy that setup?
A nothing Tuniq make even comes close to the Noctua

B even if I gave you the settings the CPU you get might not get anywhere near it as its all part of the silicone lottery

C You need to understand how bad that aircon is really, you could end up killing your pc because of it.
__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 04:00 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.