Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Forum Teams > Redline Folding @ OC3D - 98860
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 06-08-10, 01:50 PM
SnW's Avatar
SnW SnW is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3,931
When the forums where down i had my Coolermaster 900w blew up on me again

no replacement and to be honest i don't want this PSU anymore,

I am also checking all the electrics in my house maybe something wrong here!?

also sold my QC9550 and 2x GTS250 so i could upgrade to this,



Trying to make one Folding rig 1x i7 , 3x GTX480 or something

i thought i would let you guys know so you know the reason my F@H stats are going downhill but i will try to be back ASAP!!

Posting this from my laptop because i first need to sort the electrics in my house cause i don't want to blow up a i7 and 3x GTX480 !

__________________
sig update v1.1.

The Iron is the best antidepressant I have ever found. There is no better way to fight weakness than with strength. Once the mind and body have been awakened to their true potential, it’s impossible to turn back.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-08-10, 02:10 PM
AMDFTW AMDFTW is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 4,595
i would think for a hardcore folding rig like yours,i would use ither enermax or corsair,they seem very stable
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-08-10, 02:25 PM
thestepster's Avatar
thestepster thestepster is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,964
yeah man go for a top end corsair since ur gonna be suckin the power away from the rest of ur house using 3 480's

nice upgrade tho mate

ive got cash here for another 2 gtx460's but what to do!
__________________


Intel Core i7 @ 4ghz and rising!

Noctua NH-D14 - Samsung F3 1TB - Asus P6X58D Premium - 12GB Corsair XMS3 1600

Zotac GTX580 at 895/1790/4200 @ 1030v (1000mv stock @ 772 core) - Corsair TX850 - Corsair 700D


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-08-10, 02:42 PM
AMDFTW AMDFTW is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 4,595
get them baught step gainward GS FTW
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-08-10, 03:29 PM
hmmblah's Avatar
hmmblah hmmblah is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,582
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnW View Post

When the forums where down i had my Coolermaster 900w blew up on me again

no replacement and to be honest i don't want this PSU anymore,

I am also checking all the electrics in my house maybe something wrong here!?

also sold my QC9550 and 2x GTS250 so i could upgrade to this,



Trying to make one Folding rig 1x i7 , 3x GTX480 or something

i thought i would let you guys know so you know the reason my F@H stats are going downhill but i will try to be back ASAP!!

Posting this from my laptop because i first need to sort the electrics in my house cause i don't want to blow up a i7 and 3x GTX480 !
Nice, Ray! I expect to see pics when you get that beast of a rig running. I'd say go for a top end Corsair as well to power that rig. What are you going to do for cooling?
__________________
i7 930 | GA-X58A-UD3R | GTX680 | 6GB DDR3 | 250GB 840 Pro SSD



3DMark11 - P10045 | X3680
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-08-10, 04:36 PM
Edi Edi is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: California
Posts: 32
Nice upgrade Ray! As with everyone else, I recommend going for the top end Corsair, it should help stable everything out.
__________________
Folding Gear: Q6600, 460GTX, 8800GTS, GTS 250

Audio Gear: PC => YuLong D100 => WooAudio WA6-SE => Beyerdynamic T1

Theater Gear: Fusion Research 18TB Genesis => Denon 1910 => Energy C4 => Samsung 52" LN52B750

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-08-10, 05:17 PM
killablade killablade is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Leeuwarden, FR. The Netherlands
Posts: 1,987
Nice upgrade mate! Sucks to hear about your PSU though.

What motherboards are you going to use those cpu's with?

As for PSU's, I'd go for the Corsair AX-series. They are awesome!
__________________
My *finished* build - KingPenguin
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-08-10, 05:22 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 14,789
For 3x 480's you are going to need one mother of a PSU dude!
__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-08-10, 05:26 PM
SnW's Avatar
SnW SnW is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3,931
Yea Corsair it is

and the i7 is cooled by my Domino A.L.C.

I have it installed already even Folded a SMP WU with it but i still need to check the electrics...
__________________
sig update v1.1.

The Iron is the best antidepressant I have ever found. There is no better way to fight weakness than with strength. Once the mind and body have been awakened to their true potential, it’s impossible to turn back.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-08-10, 05:27 PM
killablade killablade is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Leeuwarden, FR. The Netherlands
Posts: 1,987
You could always put one of the GTX480's in the i5 rig if the PSU can't handle 3
__________________
My *finished* build - KingPenguin
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 05:15 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.