Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Graphics Cards
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 16-07-10, 08:37 PM
Br1t1shB33f Br1t1shB33f is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 120
Artifact or no artifact.

Hi guys. i can fairly say that in all my time PC gaming i have never seen an artifact. well i think this may have changed. Iv been overclocking and trying to find the best settings for my 5870 for a few days now and with mixed results.

My clock atm is 941Mhz (850Mhz default) and a voltage of 1.255v. This has been stable for a hour solid on GTA IV so im taking it as a safe setting for now.

Only issue i have is every now and then i notice if only for a millisecond a small white square on my screen. these squares pop up on differant area of the screen at completely random time. My question is are these artifacts due to an unstable clock ?? or are these game based ?? as im not to certain iv seen them b4.

Thx for ur feedback, Regards Sean.

__________________
Please forgive my inherent lack of keyboard skills, i am sure i am keyboard Dyslexic

CPU Intel Core i7 920 D0 @ 4.01Ghz



Motherboard
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R Rev.2

RAM Patriot Viper 6GB(3x2G 1600Mhz Tri channel

GPU Asus EAH5870 V2 (929/1249/1.237v)

Case Antec 1200



Cooling
Corsair H50

PSU Antec TruePower New 650


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16-07-10, 08:40 PM
thestepster's Avatar
thestepster thestepster is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,964
what you using the test your overclocks?
__________________


Intel Core i7 @ 4ghz and rising!

Noctua NH-D14 - Samsung F3 1TB - Asus P6X58D Premium - 12GB Corsair XMS3 1600

Zotac GTX580 at 895/1790/4200 @ 1030v (1000mv stock @ 772 core) - Corsair TX850 - Corsair 700D


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16-07-10, 08:42 PM
Br1t1shB33f Br1t1shB33f is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 120
im running a demanding game and Unigine Heaven 2.1 which i run looping 5 times over. if this insufficient plz let me know... as my title says.. im a newbie OC-er atm :P
__________________
Please forgive my inherent lack of keyboard skills, i am sure i am keyboard Dyslexic

CPU Intel Core i7 920 D0 @ 4.01Ghz



Motherboard
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R Rev.2

RAM Patriot Viper 6GB(3x2G 1600Mhz Tri channel

GPU Asus EAH5870 V2 (929/1249/1.237v)

Case Antec 1200



Cooling
Corsair H50

PSU Antec TruePower New 650


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16-07-10, 08:46 PM
thestepster's Avatar
thestepster thestepster is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,964
have you tried atitool? im sure that has an artifact detector in it

EDIT: here's a link mate

http://www.techpowerup.com/atitool/
__________________


Intel Core i7 @ 4ghz and rising!

Noctua NH-D14 - Samsung F3 1TB - Asus P6X58D Premium - 12GB Corsair XMS3 1600

Zotac GTX580 at 895/1790/4200 @ 1030v (1000mv stock @ 772 core) - Corsair TX850 - Corsair 700D


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16-07-10, 08:47 PM
Br1t1shB33f Br1t1shB33f is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 120
Thx stepster... gunna run it now and i'll let u know the results as u were interested enough to help
__________________
Please forgive my inherent lack of keyboard skills, i am sure i am keyboard Dyslexic

CPU Intel Core i7 920 D0 @ 4.01Ghz



Motherboard
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R Rev.2

RAM Patriot Viper 6GB(3x2G 1600Mhz Tri channel

GPU Asus EAH5870 V2 (929/1249/1.237v)

Case Antec 1200



Cooling
Corsair H50

PSU Antec TruePower New 650


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16-07-10, 08:50 PM
Br1t1shB33f Br1t1shB33f is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 120
Ok lets just say there was a "few" artifacts. does this mean i need more voltage ?

EDIT i take it the beeps are the artifacts being found as i see nothing on the cube.
__________________
Please forgive my inherent lack of keyboard skills, i am sure i am keyboard Dyslexic

CPU Intel Core i7 920 D0 @ 4.01Ghz



Motherboard
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R Rev.2

RAM Patriot Viper 6GB(3x2G 1600Mhz Tri channel

GPU Asus EAH5870 V2 (929/1249/1.237v)

Case Antec 1200



Cooling
Corsair H50

PSU Antec TruePower New 650


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16-07-10, 08:54 PM
thestepster's Avatar
thestepster thestepster is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,964
i havent actually used the tool as i havent overclocked an ati card but i would presume so well it either means can your card take more voltage safely? if not its time to bump down the overclock a bit and run it again
__________________


Intel Core i7 @ 4ghz and rising!

Noctua NH-D14 - Samsung F3 1TB - Asus P6X58D Premium - 12GB Corsair XMS3 1600

Zotac GTX580 at 895/1790/4200 @ 1030v (1000mv stock @ 772 core) - Corsair TX850 - Corsair 700D


Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16-07-10, 08:56 PM
Br1t1shB33f Br1t1shB33f is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 120
yeah.. this tool is confusing as the No errors timer resets but the overall timer says no erros lol... i may jump down and see what happens.

I'll do a test a basic clocks and see the results.
__________________
Please forgive my inherent lack of keyboard skills, i am sure i am keyboard Dyslexic

CPU Intel Core i7 920 D0 @ 4.01Ghz



Motherboard
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R Rev.2

RAM Patriot Viper 6GB(3x2G 1600Mhz Tri channel

GPU Asus EAH5870 V2 (929/1249/1.237v)

Case Antec 1200



Cooling
Corsair H50

PSU Antec TruePower New 650


Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 16-07-10, 08:57 PM
thestepster's Avatar
thestepster thestepster is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,964
yeah just try and do it that way, trial and error mate
__________________


Intel Core i7 @ 4ghz and rising!

Noctua NH-D14 - Samsung F3 1TB - Asus P6X58D Premium - 12GB Corsair XMS3 1600

Zotac GTX580 at 895/1790/4200 @ 1030v (1000mv stock @ 772 core) - Corsair TX850 - Corsair 700D


Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 16-07-10, 08:59 PM
Br1t1shB33f Br1t1shB33f is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 120
Ok now im confused and worried... i have artifacts for deffo on base clock. i see yellow pixels everywhere.

Edit** Reapplyed the old clocks and no artifacts. i didnt set properly.
__________________
Please forgive my inherent lack of keyboard skills, i am sure i am keyboard Dyslexic

CPU Intel Core i7 920 D0 @ 4.01Ghz



Motherboard
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R Rev.2

RAM Patriot Viper 6GB(3x2G 1600Mhz Tri channel

GPU Asus EAH5870 V2 (929/1249/1.237v)

Case Antec 1200



Cooling
Corsair H50

PSU Antec TruePower New 650


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 05:32 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.