Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D Reviews & Videos
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 12-07-10, 08:29 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 15,310
OC3D Review: ASUS VW266H Monitor

The last Asus monitor we looked at had a great panel and an abysmal design. How does this latest one fair?

Continue Reading

__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-07-10, 09:56 AM
F-alienware F-alienware is offline
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist
Posts: 0
Send a message via MSN to F-alienware
I soooo nearly got an Asus back in January when I got my Hannspree. Thing was it was literally a neck and neck race and the Asus cost more.

Great review as always Bryan and top marks for actually bothering to show the viewing angles. I've read so many reviews now where they say "viewing angles are not very good" but don't bother to show you how good.

Very impressive.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-07-10, 10:22 AM
silenthill silenthill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 224
Nice review, if only ASUS put a TV tuner in this monitor it would have been a great monitor which you can sit back and watch TV, I think because of the size and the ability to connect to Component (YPbPr) or HDMI for the XBOX or PS3 and even a DVD player this monitor should have been a all in one. As for games if you’re sitting near it you need to set the Antialiasing on your graphic card to at least 8X because for that size monitor it would defiantly show those rough edges no matter how good the panel is, but there is a solution to this just go back to about 1m from the monitor when you’re playing a game of course you will have to use a game pad but I guarantee you will have a better gaming experience.
__________________
CORE I7 920 @ 4.3 GHz - GTX 480 SLI OC TO 800,1600,4000 ----- CPU-Z
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-07-10, 12:21 PM
Goran Goran is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 136
really thinking of buying this monitor for uni, can use it for a pc monitor, can plug my mac mini in for htpc, an xbox in to hdmi and a digital tuner in the component

saweeeeeeeet

where do you suggest buying from?
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-07-10, 12:34 PM
silenthill silenthill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 224
www.bargain-mad.co.uk are selling it for £262.99 check it out
__________________
CORE I7 920 @ 4.3 GHz - GTX 480 SLI OC TO 800,1600,4000 ----- CPU-Z
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-07-10, 01:30 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 15,310
Price and a link to the product is at the top of each page - CCL have it in stock fella.
__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-07-10, 02:58 PM
Goran Goran is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 136
oh THATS where the price is! looked through each page to find it

i'm not sure about ccl, had a bad experience with them the first time round
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-07-10, 03:35 PM
silenthill silenthill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 224
Just wondering how much power this monitor consumes, couldn’t find it in the review.
__________________
CORE I7 920 @ 4.3 GHz - GTX 480 SLI OC TO 800,1600,4000 ----- CPU-Z
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-07-10, 06:14 PM
F-alienware F-alienware is offline
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist
Posts: 0
Send a message via MSN to F-alienware
I really like Scan. As much as I wanted to hate them for the mess up they made with my Lanparty* I can't. Through and through their customer service is excellent.

*Had a DOA brand new Lanparty Dark, sent it back and they didn't realise mine was new and sent me some old crusty refurbished one. Mind you, they did fix that (RMA again) but I had to end up ordering the Crosshair 2 and getting a cash refund cos their RMA can be slow.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-07-10, 08:17 PM
silenthill silenthill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 224
you will always have problems with most retailers these days the problem is not with the company it is with the staff nobody cares anymore it's just a job with minimal wage if they loss it they will find something ells for the same low wage.
__________________
CORE I7 920 @ 4.3 GHz - GTX 480 SLI OC TO 800,1600,4000 ----- CPU-Z
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 03:44 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.