Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D Reviews & Videos
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 02-07-10, 09:45 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 16,230
OC3D Review: Corsair Dominator GT 1600MHz AM3

Are you Phenom II users looking for some extra special RAM? Perhaps these might do it for you...

Continue Reading

__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-07-10, 11:59 AM
F-alienware F-alienware is offline
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist
Posts: 0
Send a message via MSN to F-alienware
You can just tell that has been designed for recent ROG boards

WTG Corsair !
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-07-10, 12:11 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 16,230
Aye if the AMD's dont like high speed ram or at least overclocking the ram for high speeds then low latency just makes alot of sense.
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-07-10, 12:36 PM
silenthill silenthill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 224
this ram is could boost your systems gaming performance specially for AMD platforms which suffer when compared to Intel's platforms.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-07-10, 02:37 PM
Daylightdon Daylightdon is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 19
Should the latency numbers be higher or lower? What do they mean?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-07-10, 03:11 PM
silenthill silenthill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 224
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Daylightdon'
Should the latency numbers be higher or lower? What do they mean?
The latency numbers should be lower because the AMD processor memory controller can’t deal with high speed memory so the only thing that will improve performance is to lower the memory latency which means it will respond in less time to orders that come from the CPU so the lower the better. I have tried low latency memory on a 965 AMD CPU and it did improve the performance.

regards
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-07-10, 03:23 PM
Daylightdon Daylightdon is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 19
Thank you for responding. After having a computer built by Xtremegear here in California, I'm considering building one myself.

I will be using the Intel i7 860 CPU. I've not desided on a Motherboard yet but am researching it. The case will be a Coolermaster HAF 922 in RED!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-07-10, 04:59 PM
silenthill silenthill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 224
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Daylightdon'
Thank you for responding. After having a computer built by Xtremegear here in California, I'm considering building one myself.

I will be using the Intel i7 860 CPU. I've not desided on a Motherboard yet but am researching it. The case will be a Coolermaster HAF 922 in RED!
Building your own system is a great experience and once you have done it you will never stop I’ve been building computers for over ten years now as a hobby and it gives you a great sense of achievement and I will be glad to assist you in any way the best i7 CPU right now is the 930 it over clocks really well with very little voltage increase and has 21 multiplier which is very handy for over clocking as for the motherboard the GIGABYTE X58A-UD3R and the Asus P6X58D-E are great choices they both have reasonable prices and are great over lockers and support the new USB3 and SATA 3 standards the Coolermaster HAF 922 is a great choice but be aware it doesn’t come with a side fan you will have to buy your own or just put two 120mm fans to cool your graphic card these are just some suggestions to help you, I know from experience buying components can be a really hard task and very confusing because there is a huge variety to buy from.

Regards
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-07-10, 09:18 AM
silvermane silvermane is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 20
this makes me want to do a AMD build
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-07-10, 02:23 PM
Precht Precht is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 12
I've purchased this ram along with a Crosshair IV and a Phenom II X4 965 BE (C3). But when i open up AOD there's no BEMP profile for this memkit. Does anyone else have problems with this?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 08:16 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.