Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Software Section
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 27-06-10, 01:03 AM
I Hunta x's Avatar
I Hunta x I Hunta x is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 1,784
COD4, Punkbuster problems.

Soooo i brought the Call of duty pack on steam as it was on sale for the price of COD4, (love the single player of the older COD games aswell) and ive been trying to play online but punkbuster has been being an utter , i keep getting a message come up saying something along the lines of "kicked for disallowed program/driver [125120]" sometimes it takes a few mins others its within 5 secs of connecting, ive done a quick google and its thrown up a huge mass of reasons, some have said its things like fraps/xfire because of the overlay others have fixed it by driver updates, im just wondering if anyone has any real idea and can point me in the right direction, ive closed EVERYTHING except steam, my antivirus/firewall and shut down VMWare like i usualy do when playing games and thats still not helping.

Cheers in advance for anyone pointers.

If i cant fix it im going to kick myself for being stupid and buying something that uses punkbuster as i royaly hate it.

__________________
i7 970 @ 4.2Ghz - NH-D14 | Gigabyte x58a-oc | Corsair AX850 | CM Cosmos S
4x4Gb Samsung Green in 3+1 Tri Channel - 1900Mhz c10 1.3v | R9 290 | Samsung 840 Evo
Beyerdynamic Custom One Pro + V-Moda Boompro
-Need to fit-
Xspc Rasa | Phobya G-Changer 240 + 360 | Phobya dc12-400 | 7x Orange Xigmatek XLF 120mm
| Alphacool Copper fittings

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 27-06-10, 08:18 AM
Youngie1337 Youngie1337 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rugby
Posts: 2,625
It's an application which is running in the back. Things like Norton, Skype, Spotify, AVG, spyware apps, rivatuner and try updating to latest drivers.

If all fails, create a new user account.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27-06-10, 12:07 PM
ToeJam ToeJam is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 568
indd punkbuster is shocking and tbh all half decent cheats such as x22 bypass it make it pointless, i use to get that everynow and then when i connected but then if i reconnected it would be fine, you tried manually updating pb?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27-06-10, 03:57 PM
I Hunta x's Avatar
I Hunta x I Hunta x is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 1,784
Manual update was the first thing i did, my mate told me it was the steam overlay that was causing it for him when he nipped round to pick up his monitor up 15 mins ago, he uses the same antivirus/firewall, fraps ext and turning off the steam overlay fixed it so ill probably give it a quick try while im trying to decide to nip to the pub and catch the second half of the footy, ill post back with if that works or not.
__________________
i7 970 @ 4.2Ghz - NH-D14 | Gigabyte x58a-oc | Corsair AX850 | CM Cosmos S
4x4Gb Samsung Green in 3+1 Tri Channel - 1900Mhz c10 1.3v | R9 290 | Samsung 840 Evo
Beyerdynamic Custom One Pro + V-Moda Boompro
-Need to fit-
Xspc Rasa | Phobya G-Changer 240 + 360 | Phobya dc12-400 | 7x Orange Xigmatek XLF 120mm
| Alphacool Copper fittings

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27-06-10, 04:18 PM
I Hunta x's Avatar
I Hunta x I Hunta x is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 1,784
Yep it turned out is was the steam overlay, i rebooted left everything i could think of open and just disabled the overlay and it worked for a full game, 20-5 on my first game on pc, not bad tbh considering the only shooter ive played in ages on the pc is tf2.
__________________
i7 970 @ 4.2Ghz - NH-D14 | Gigabyte x58a-oc | Corsair AX850 | CM Cosmos S
4x4Gb Samsung Green in 3+1 Tri Channel - 1900Mhz c10 1.3v | R9 290 | Samsung 840 Evo
Beyerdynamic Custom One Pro + V-Moda Boompro
-Need to fit-
Xspc Rasa | Phobya G-Changer 240 + 360 | Phobya dc12-400 | 7x Orange Xigmatek XLF 120mm
| Alphacool Copper fittings

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30-06-10, 05:06 PM
chudley chudley is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,316
think your ping should have played a big paryt in that as well,
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 30-06-10, 06:10 PM
I Hunta x's Avatar
I Hunta x I Hunta x is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 1,784
I NEVER have anywere near 10 ping in games sadly , on uk servers i average around 75-100 and on rest of world 125-175. Even playing Operation Flashpoint earlyer with my mate we were on 50-75 ping and we were sat 5 feet apart (me host he joins for ranked co-op story), i used to get 40ish ping on eu servers on most games back when i was on 2 meg, god knows why its gone so down hill, only thing i can guess is i was using a network card on that old machine.. but i doubt it would affect it that much.
__________________
i7 970 @ 4.2Ghz - NH-D14 | Gigabyte x58a-oc | Corsair AX850 | CM Cosmos S
4x4Gb Samsung Green in 3+1 Tri Channel - 1900Mhz c10 1.3v | R9 290 | Samsung 840 Evo
Beyerdynamic Custom One Pro + V-Moda Boompro
-Need to fit-
Xspc Rasa | Phobya G-Changer 240 + 360 | Phobya dc12-400 | 7x Orange Xigmatek XLF 120mm
| Alphacool Copper fittings

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 01:34 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.