Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > New Build Advice
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 15-06-10, 02:48 AM
RhettJ RhettJ is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 8
What do you guys think of this prebuilt system?

http://www.aria.co.uk/Systems/Gaming...roductId=40081

Would you change anything there? Is the PSU good enough for a future 2nd gfx in crossfire?

Personally I would upgrade the optical drive to blu ray/dvdr for now. For some reason I like blu ray on my pcs..my laptop has it. And with a decent screen I can have blu ray in my bedroom where I keep my pcs.

PS: It doesn't give details there but does that motherboard support USB 3?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15-06-10, 02:52 AM
AMDFTW AMDFTW is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 4,609
building your own is far cheaper and better IMO.do some research plan it out then build it urself,its not that hard honest

i dont like bluray in pcs unless HTTPC
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15-06-10, 02:59 AM
RhettJ RhettJ is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 8
I would love to build my own...a bit nervous though and my injuries keep me bedridden most of the time so haven't taken the plunge as it were.

I've been following this site for a long time..here and on youtube..would be cool if oc3d had a retail site..building pcs.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15-06-10, 03:02 AM
AMDFTW AMDFTW is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 4,609
ah ryt fair one,well whats your budget fella

TTL does nice builds if you have the cash,SCAN,OCUK and pcspecialists do good builds aswell
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15-06-10, 06:31 AM
RhettJ RhettJ is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='AMDFTW'
ah ryt fair one,well whats your budget fella

TTL does nice builds if you have the cash,SCAN,OCUK and pcspecialists do good builds aswell
Hoping to raise about £1500 hopefully. May just put it on a CC lol. I did check those sites out and a few others..I found www.computerplanet.co.uk, seems cheaper than pcspecialists.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15-06-10, 07:01 AM
AMDFTW AMDFTW is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 4,609
1500 is a decent amount to work with,is it for games only nothing like CAD or rendering
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15-06-10, 07:12 AM
AMDFTW AMDFTW is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 4,609
this is what you get from SCAN (3XS)

http://3xs.scan.co.uk/ConfigureSystem.asp?SystemID=984

or OCUK's varition 2nd link has SSD a slightly better CPU and was reviewd on this website i think

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...d=1270&subcat=

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...d=1444&subcat=

they seem your best bet fella,if you dont like my choices have a play
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15-06-10, 07:50 AM
RhettJ RhettJ is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 8
I like the ocuk systems..but would I have to phone them to make some changes? for instance the psu..in the future I'd like to get a second card, so what psu would I need? HX850? One of the systems has only 500gb and of course I'd like to upgrade the optical drive to bluray. You mentioned HTTPC..what's that?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 15-06-10, 09:01 AM
Diablo Diablo is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Manchester/ Oxford Uni
Posts: 1,524
Home theatre PC, normally a small, low power very quiet system for playing movies and listening to music. Personally I have a bluray player in my PC and couldn't really live without it. Granted most gaming rigs aren't the quietest of beasts, but with some decent fans (silent eagle 1000 for example) and good speakers, it doesn't really matter.

The HX850 is a very good PSU, couldn't praise it highly enough, the only one which can match it (not in power) is the HX750. The new Seasonic gold 80 plus PSUs are supposed to be very good, but I'd stick with the corsair.
__________________

i7 3930K 4.5GHz -EK Supreme HF- Rampage IV Extreme EK Blocks - 32GB 1600MHz RAM - 680GTX SLI Koolance Blocks - Creative Titanium Pro - TJ07B-W - TCubed BigNG - 240GB SSD - 3TB HD - Dual Loop
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 15-06-10, 09:24 AM
RhettJ RhettJ is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 8
so the HX850 would be sufficient if I were to get a second gfx card in either crossfire/sli?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 07:24 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.