Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 12-05-10, 12:07 PM
psyched550 psyched550 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4
mobo upgrade options for my Core2Quad Q6600...?

Hello,

I know i should probably introduce myself in another part of this forum but this is my first post here on the forums and I really need some advice. I've been up all night with items in my shopping cart on newegg but I am too indecisive to go through with it.

I've been running my Core 2 Quad Q6600 on a A-bit IN9 32x Max board for a couple years now. I'm liquid cooled yet my system has never been stable enough to allow me to OC beyond 3GHz no matter how aggressive I am with voltage settings. I'm not sure if this is due to the board or to the ram, (4GB OCZ DDR2 800). Either way I wanted to upgrade but still keep my cpu for a while. Figured i might as well go with 8gb of ram so I was going to get some G.SKILL PI Black PC26400 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231209

but then I was wondering if it was worth spending over $200 for 8gb of some dated DDR2 ram or to just get a better motherboard, and maybe even one that supports DDR3 if it would benefit me. I found a few boards that do support DDR3, but I'm not sure if its worth it. I have an Nvidia GeForce 8800GTS so i'm not sure if its beneficial or not to have a mainboard with an nvdia chipset, as much as I'd like to say I'd go SLI I probably never will unless its actually worth buying another dated 8800GTS.

Really, what it comes down to, is should I just keep the mobo and setup I have now and get more and better DDR2 RAM or get a whole new mainboard all together whether its DDR2 or DDR3 as long as it can get more out of my Q6600? I've got a thermaltake liquid cooling system with an upgraded pump so I think I can confidently OC my chip more than 3GHZ, i just need a system that is stable. I would like at least 8GB of Ram, preferably that can also be OC if not at least have tighter timings...i'm not sure if my old ram is any good or if i should get all new ram but nonetheless i want more out of my Q6600...what's still out there that can really kick ass?

Thank you all for your support and patience! I look foward to your replies! I plan to spend much more time on this site now that i've discovered these forums

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-05-10, 12:55 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 14,759
Im not even sure 8gb of ram would be worth it tbh, even windows 7 wont use that much without a taskbar full of seperate applications open tbh. If i was you dude id actualy start thinking about getting an i5 750 if you want to go DDR3. 775 is still doing well but theres no point spending out money on new parts on old tech.

Take the leap and get an 'i' cpu and system.
__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-05-10, 01:10 PM
psyched550 psyched550 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4
well as much as i'm tempted, i'd just end up spending more money with a whole new system if i was to change the cpu. As far as 8gb being too much for RAM, I am now leaning toward 6gb instead with faster ram. I do a lot of 3d animation, video production, motion graphics, and photoshop work so I am pretty heavy on the RAM usage from time to time.

I figure I'll change the cpu in another couple years or when i blow this one up...i mean its not like i can sell it and it was so expensive a few years ago. I have this liquid cooling system that i might as well take advantage of and OC the hell out of it right? Is there at least a mainboard that you'd recommend thats better than my current one? I was looking at this just now on new egg: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130252 along with this RAM package: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231335

There's got to be better than that though... am i just crazy?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-05-10, 01:19 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 14,759
6gb kits are for tripple channel and thats pointless with your rig. By upgrading just the cpu and ram the performance will be minimal. Thats why I said go for newer tech as you will see the benefits of the cash you spend then.
__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-05-10, 01:32 PM
Steve-O- Steve-O- is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 323
I can understand your frustration if you can't afford an i series intel cpu. I'm in the same boat as you my friend. But there really isn't much out there for us 775'ers as far as mobos go. I too was looking around for a more high end mobo for my Q6700 but they just don't make them anymore. Asus still has some mobos but no high-end ones. Depending on how much money you can spend maybe you can step up to the new x6 AMD cpu. The 1055T is only about $200 and mobos for AMDs are cheap.

Just an idea. But really there is no use in doing anything with the system you have now. That kinda sucks, but I'm in the same boat and it's just not worth buying new parts for this "old" tech.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-05-10, 03:36 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,416
NewEgg are still stocking a wealth of top performing 775 mobos. With a quick search of their site, I came up with 42 seperate models, all of which would tear the arse off a Q6600. A number with DDR3 too. Amazed at how cheap some of them are too.

If ur looking to dump $200 to improve ur system, and I'm imagining it's on the game front, I'd suggest just getting a single gpu to replace ur 8800gts.

Not all Q6600 like going over 3ghz for the long haul, but even so, that is more than any game would ever want (maybe unless ur a msfsx freak).

Ur mobo is a 680i and tbh, although I'd prefer to have a P45/P35/X48/X38, I wouldn't hold my breathe on getting the Q6600 any higher if the AN9 isn't doing it.

Ur memory could be upgraded, but in all honesty the price of ddr2 doesn't make it worthwhile moving forward.

U could ofc seek advice on ur oc in the cpu oc section, just incase ur missing something.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-05-10, 04:07 PM
Diablo Diablo is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Manchester/ Oxford Uni
Posts: 1,524
If I were you, I would go for a cheap X48 board (blackops was very cheap over here in the UK), go for DDR3. You probably won't see huge performance gains, although it may allow a better OC.

Changing that 8800 for a nice 5770 or similar would help.
__________________

i7 3930K 4.5GHz -EK Supreme HF- Rampage IV Extreme EK Blocks - 32GB 1600MHz RAM - 680GTX SLI Koolance Blocks - Creative Titanium Pro - TJ07B-W - TCubed BigNG - 240GB SSD - 3TB HD - Dual Loop
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-05-10, 04:36 PM
I Hunta x's Avatar
I Hunta x I Hunta x is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 1,784
If you dont mind going 2nd hand i can recomend the asus p5b deluxe and p5k premium with your Q6600, me and my freind managed to take our old q6600's to 400x9 for 3.6ghz with very little trouble, and 3.8ghz with a little work was atained on his p5b.

Both can be picked up on ebay for around £40-60 now, unsure about on the US ebay, but either of these motherboards should alow you to get a better overclock without upgrading anthing else. if your thinking about going for ddr3 i woulnt bother i would just upgrade your whole system to something like the i5 750
__________________
i7 970 - NH-D14 | Gigabyte x58a-oc | Corsair AX850 | CM Cosmos S
4x4Gb Samsung Green 1.3v in 3+1 Tri Channel - 1900Mhz c10 | SLI GTX 580 | Samsung Evo 250GB - 1GB/s
-Need to fit-
Xspc Rasa | Phobya G-Changer 240 + 360 | Phobya dc12-400 | 7x Orange Xigmatek XLF 120mm
| 2x EK 580 blocks | Alphacool Copper fittings

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-05-10, 09:15 PM
psyched550 psyched550 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4
damn it haha , ok ok, you guys are convincing me now to just go with a new cpu, mobo, and ram combo....the gpu i'll do very soon.

I'm sure this is a huge debate on here already. But I see that AMDs are quite cheaper, i mean its pretty tempting getting the AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition Thuban 3.2GHz 6 core for $300 vs. some of the quad core I7s that are way more. The I5 quad is cheaper.....which direction should i go? I mean i still have this cooling system, which OCs the best and which will give more bang for the buck with the kind of work I do? and what motherboards best compliment these chips?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-05-10, 09:16 PM
psyched550 psyched550 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4
and thanks by the way, you're all very helpful
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 01:42 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.