Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Overclocking
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 02-05-10, 05:56 AM
CRAZYCAP CRAZYCAP is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 315
E8400 E0 Stepping. Got it to 4.1Ghz

Hi Guys! Bit bored today so i tried overclocking my E8400 a bit further on my EP45-UD3P motherboard. Would appreciate some feedback on the results of the run. 456x9 (4.1Ghz) overclock setting and I have run prime 95 for 1 day with a Idle temp of 32deg and Max temp reading of 54deg. The FSB reading is 1824Mhz.

System :-

Antec 900 Case (xigmatek fans with side fan for graphics card)

Gigabyte EP45-UD3P Motherboard

E8400 E0 stepping

thermaltake SpinQ CPU cooler

Ballistix tracer 800Mhz memory

Sapphire 5850

Creative X-Fi PCI-E soundcard

Huntkey 900W P/S

Would you guys say that this a safe 24x7 overclock?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-05-10, 08:33 AM
siravarice siravarice is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,183
Really good temps dude! You could probably go even further! Set a limit of 65-70 degrees for the CPU at full load and see what you can get.
__________________
Rig = My Netbook :/


Formerly Known as siravarice
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-05-10, 04:16 PM
AMDFTW AMDFTW is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 4,613
yer fella try and get to 4.4-4.5Ghz,as it is achevble fella,if you hit a wall try lowering you RAM speed in the BIOS
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-05-10, 04:58 PM
Spence Spence is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 37
Well done mate.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-05-10, 01:17 PM
CRAZYCAP CRAZYCAP is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 315
Hi Guys - For some reason I today started getting a BSOD in Windows 7 64bit. The Blue screen was to do with fltmgr.sys (never seen this one before). Anyway I backed off the overclock a bit to 4050Mhz and seems fine now.

Question is - Does this mean I have reached my Max stable or is there something else I can tweak?

thanks in advance guys.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-05-10, 06:40 PM
AMDFTW AMDFTW is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 4,613
Lower you Ram speed in the BIOS fella you should be ok then
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-05-10, 11:47 PM
Steve-O- Steve-O- is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 323
Yea your RAM is your prob most likely. I ran into that with my Q6700 and had to unlink my ram from the fsb. I put the ram at stock speeds and all was good after that.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-05-10, 01:44 PM
CRAZYCAP CRAZYCAP is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 315
Hi Guys, Firstly thankyou to everyone that has given advise. I have done what everyone has suggested and I am now stable at 4.1GHZ with Prime 95 running for 24hrs. The maximum temp report (and I was very impressed) was 49deg on both cores.

I am 1 very happy overclocker atm. Thank again EVERYONE!.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-05-10, 03:26 PM
AMDFTW AMDFTW is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 4,613
was you not stable at 4.1 before?

your temps seem good,try and keep them around 60-65c FULL load,so you are ok ATM

you should be able to reach 4.4-4.5Ghz once you have lowerd ur RAM
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-05-10, 03:41 AM
CRAZYCAP CRAZYCAP is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 315
Hi Guys

For Crucial Ballistics DDR2 800, how do i change the timings and what setting would you suggest. The Mobo is a Gigabyte EP45-UD3P.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 06:42 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.