Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Cases & Power
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 28-04-10, 05:55 PM
AMDFTW AMDFTW is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 4,595
weard PSU

hey people,ive had my xigmatek PSU for over a year now and i must admit for £60 its been flawless ive OC'd my componants and its been fine on the voltage side.but recently when i turn my computer off my PSU stays on probly for about 10-15min it has never done this before and is odd,it can even do it when u unplug the power plug then later on plug it back it,the fan wirls back up again.

anyone got any info on this?

is my PSU on its way out?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28-04-10, 05:57 PM
BloomerzUK BloomerzUK is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via MSN to BloomerzUK
It may be doing this to cool itself down after operation. It may be a feature of the PSU itself, so not nessacarily a bad thing.

You could try blasting it out with a can of compressed air to clean it out to see if it makes a difference?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28-04-10, 05:57 PM
Diablo Diablo is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Manchester/ Oxford Uni
Posts: 1,524
Does it have an after shutdown cooling mode? If this is new, perhaps check that there is not too much dust building up in places, like heatsinks on the insides. Perhaps use an air duster (carefully) or something and see if that helps.
__________________

i7 3930K 4.5GHz -EK Supreme HF- Rampage IV Extreme EK Blocks - 32GB 1600MHz RAM - 680GTX SLI Koolance Blocks - Creative Titanium Pro - TJ07B-W - TCubed BigNG - 240GB SSD - 3TB HD - Dual Loop
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28-04-10, 06:00 PM
AMDFTW AMDFTW is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 4,595
well it may have this feature but like i said its never done this before its just started doing it within the last 2 week,but yer i will get a aircan from tesco,do i need to take the fan off?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28-04-10, 06:08 PM
Diablo Diablo is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Manchester/ Oxford Uni
Posts: 1,524
No, shouldn't need to, just take the PSU out of the case (if you can), aim the jet of air in between the fan blades (make sure the PSU is off as canned air is flammable). Hopefully a great plume of dust should come out of it and you'll know that it was the problem. They get surprisingly duty over the course of a few months.
__________________

i7 3930K 4.5GHz -EK Supreme HF- Rampage IV Extreme EK Blocks - 32GB 1600MHz RAM - 680GTX SLI Koolance Blocks - Creative Titanium Pro - TJ07B-W - TCubed BigNG - 240GB SSD - 3TB HD - Dual Loop
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28-04-10, 06:11 PM
AMDFTW AMDFTW is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 4,595
ok i will give that a try cheers
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28-04-10, 06:12 PM
Diablo Diablo is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Manchester/ Oxford Uni
Posts: 1,524
Oh, one more thing, make sure you do not spray the can upside down or liuquid will come out, and can do nasty stuff like freeze skin or worse cause condensation on the PCB of a powersupply...bad news
__________________

i7 3930K 4.5GHz -EK Supreme HF- Rampage IV Extreme EK Blocks - 32GB 1600MHz RAM - 680GTX SLI Koolance Blocks - Creative Titanium Pro - TJ07B-W - TCubed BigNG - 240GB SSD - 3TB HD - Dual Loop
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28-04-10, 06:14 PM
AMDFTW AMDFTW is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 4,595
nope wouldent want that to happen,cheers fella
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 10:41 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.