Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Cooling Forum > Air Cooling
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 17-02-10, 04:38 AM
Hay11Mac Hay11Mac is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,323
Best cooler for i7 920 OC'ed to 4ghz

Hey Guys

Can anyone tell me what the best cpu cooler is for a i7 920 OC'ed to 4ghz, at present I have the H50 Corsair cooler, but under load its rubbish, under 100% load my cpu is going over 90 degree's

Any help would be ace......

Haven't got round to Watercooling yet, just haven't had the time

Cheers

Hay

__________________
MAIN RIG
Intel Core i7 3930K - Asus Rampage IV Extreme - G.Skill RipjawsZ 16GB (2133mhz) - Asus GTX 580 - Asus Xonar D2X - Corsair 600T - Corsair Pro Series AX1200 - 27" Samsung P2770 HD Monitor
MBP
Late 2012 - 13" Macbook Pro
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 17-02-10, 05:39 AM
vampgto vampgto is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Hi

How do you have the fan(s) installed on your H50, Corsiar recomends that you have them pulling in cool air into the case.

I thought H50 were meant to be quite good. Are you using 2 fans.

I cant reli suggest any air coolers as i have not used them myself but check reveiws.

Ive herd good things about Tuniq Tower 120, Coolermaster v8 and Thermalright Ultra 120 but i would suggest looking up reviews first.

You could lower your clocks till you get round to installing watercooling unit.

Tom said hes gana be doing a big reveiw on all the heatsinks sometime in the future so if u can hold out for that.

hope this helps
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17-02-10, 10:00 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 15,300
The Vcore is the information we need mainly hayles. Have you got the pump plugged into a 12v line just to make sure the mobo isnt slowing it down?
__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17-02-10, 01:38 PM
Hay11Mac Hay11Mac is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,323
I haver only 1 fan attached to the H50, as I couldn't fit another as the pump was in the way. the pump is plugged straight into the PSU and so is the fan.

According to CPU-Z the CPU Vcore is 1.34
__________________
MAIN RIG
Intel Core i7 3930K - Asus Rampage IV Extreme - G.Skill RipjawsZ 16GB (2133mhz) - Asus GTX 580 - Asus Xonar D2X - Corsair 600T - Corsair Pro Series AX1200 - 27" Samsung P2770 HD Monitor
MBP
Late 2012 - 13" Macbook Pro
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17-02-10, 01:54 PM
vampgto vampgto is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
You should plug the fan and pump into fan headers on your mobo. Then make sure in your bios that the pump is running at full speed for best performance.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17-02-10, 08:48 PM
Hay11Mac Hay11Mac is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,323
So many people have told me to plug them straight into the PSU, i'm confused now
__________________
MAIN RIG
Intel Core i7 3930K - Asus Rampage IV Extreme - G.Skill RipjawsZ 16GB (2133mhz) - Asus GTX 580 - Asus Xonar D2X - Corsair 600T - Corsair Pro Series AX1200 - 27" Samsung P2770 HD Monitor
MBP
Late 2012 - 13" Macbook Pro
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17-02-10, 09:22 PM
thestepster's Avatar
thestepster thestepster is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,964
i used to have mines plugged to the psu directly hayley
__________________


Intel Core i7 @ 4ghz and rising!

Noctua NH-D14 - Samsung F3 1TB - Asus P6X58D Premium - 12GB Corsair XMS3 1600

Zotac GTX580 at 895/1790/4200 @ 1030v (1000mv stock @ 772 core) - Corsair TX850 - Corsair 700D


Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 17-02-10, 09:45 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 15,300
Plug it into the cpu to test hayles, if the temps drop adjust the bios till that matches the direct method.

I prefer direct tbh you dont have to worry then.
__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 17-02-10, 09:47 PM
Hay11Mac Hay11Mac is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,323
So am thinking of changing the H50 but what to replace it with????
__________________
MAIN RIG
Intel Core i7 3930K - Asus Rampage IV Extreme - G.Skill RipjawsZ 16GB (2133mhz) - Asus GTX 580 - Asus Xonar D2X - Corsair 600T - Corsair Pro Series AX1200 - 27" Samsung P2770 HD Monitor
MBP
Late 2012 - 13" Macbook Pro
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 17-02-10, 10:52 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 15,300
wait till you have the money for water hayles. dont waste any more money. We all know you dont actualy NEED it at 4ghz either. Drop it back to 3.6 for now and save for a decent water loop.
__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 09:48 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.