Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Storage Mediums
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 05-02-10, 08:59 PM
jakedizzle jakedizzle is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 46
need some help

ok so i wanted to start over with my harddrives and create 2 raids. so i wiped out my harddrives and went to make the raids and i am getting some problems. i wanted to make 1 raid for my games and os drives which is a 300gb raptor and a 74gb raptor. so i started to make it and for the capacity it automatically puts 138gb. when i try to increase it since i have lots more space on these drives it says it doesnt have that capacity. what do i do.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-02-10, 09:17 PM
thestepster's Avatar
thestepster thestepster is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,964
sounds like its just takin 74gb off ur 300gb raptor to match the 74gb raptor cause my raid0 has 2 x 74gb raptors and thats 138gb, not sure how u would go about it maybe it will only give u the full capacity if u have identical drives capacity wise
__________________


Intel Core i7 @ 4ghz and rising!

Noctua NH-D14 - Samsung F3 1TB - Asus P6X58D Premium - 12GB Corsair XMS3 1600

Zotac GTX580 at 895/1790/4200 @ 1030v (1000mv stock @ 772 core) - Corsair TX850 - Corsair 700D


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-02-10, 09:19 PM
jakedizzle jakedizzle is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 46
yea thats wack. haha i wonder if i went through with creating it at 138gb i can partition the rest of the 300gb drive or if it will show up as unallocated space.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-02-10, 09:27 PM
thestepster's Avatar
thestepster thestepster is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,964
right just talked to a mate and he said only use identical drives with one being sata1 and the other being sata 2 its just gonna have problems and break something
__________________


Intel Core i7 @ 4ghz and rising!

Noctua NH-D14 - Samsung F3 1TB - Asus P6X58D Premium - 12GB Corsair XMS3 1600

Zotac GTX580 at 895/1790/4200 @ 1030v (1000mv stock @ 772 core) - Corsair TX850 - Corsair 700D


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-02-10, 09:35 PM
jakedizzle jakedizzle is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 46
damn alright. haha wish i would have know this before deleting everything off my drives. haha so they will have problems if the drives are no identical?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-02-10, 09:43 PM
thestepster's Avatar
thestepster thestepster is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,964
yeah u might end up breaking them so thats not good! you could always just look for another 300gb or 74gb and u will be sorted
__________________


Intel Core i7 @ 4ghz and rising!

Noctua NH-D14 - Samsung F3 1TB - Asus P6X58D Premium - 12GB Corsair XMS3 1600

Zotac GTX580 at 895/1790/4200 @ 1030v (1000mv stock @ 772 core) - Corsair TX850 - Corsair 700D


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-02-10, 11:04 PM
jakedizzle jakedizzle is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 46
so i ended up just reinstalling everything without the raid so i didnt run into any problems. so i will wait til i either get another 300gb hd or 74gb hd. this time though i am using my 74gb raptor just for my o/s and my 300gb just for games.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-02-10, 11:05 PM
thestepster's Avatar
thestepster thestepster is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,964
yeah pick up another 74gb man ya can get them for about £30-40 these days and then u can sort yourself out with raid0 goodies
__________________


Intel Core i7 @ 4ghz and rising!

Noctua NH-D14 - Samsung F3 1TB - Asus P6X58D Premium - 12GB Corsair XMS3 1600

Zotac GTX580 at 895/1790/4200 @ 1030v (1000mv stock @ 772 core) - Corsair TX850 - Corsair 700D


Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-02-10, 11:51 PM
jakedizzle jakedizzle is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 46
haha yea. i found a guy selling one for $50 so i am waiting for him to email me back.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-02-10, 11:58 PM
thestepster's Avatar
thestepster thestepster is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,964
there ya go then mate good luck with it i hope ya get it

then when ya need help setting the raid up just post back on here
__________________


Intel Core i7 @ 4ghz and rising!

Noctua NH-D14 - Samsung F3 1TB - Asus P6X58D Premium - 12GB Corsair XMS3 1600

Zotac GTX580 at 895/1790/4200 @ 1030v (1000mv stock @ 772 core) - Corsair TX850 - Corsair 700D


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 05:55 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.