Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Software Section > OS & Apps
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 18-01-10, 10:06 AM
Toxcity Toxcity is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,969
Random Popup

On with life and on to yet another problem in the office.

I have a laptop here which we think has been infected with some kind of Spyware. The usual thing where it changes the browsers homepage and a lovely toolbar appears. The toolbar has been sorted now but we are still getting random popups in it's own window looking like this:



Notice the weird icon for the program. Anyway, I have done a hijackthis and cannot see anything overly weird. I'll upload a log for you guys to have a nose about.

Oh, no program so far has been able to detect the remaining popupper. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Attached Files
File Type: txt hijackthis.txt (18.0 KB, 6 views)

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18-01-10, 01:12 PM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
What does the box in firefox say when the ads are open?

Not something like 'Contextual Ads' or something is it?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18-01-10, 01:55 PM
Toxcity Toxcity is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,969
Running Internet Explorer 8. No Firefox, although my suggestion so far is to move the laptop to FF.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18-01-10, 02:14 PM
Youngie1337 Youngie1337 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rugby
Posts: 2,620
Do you recognise these?

C:\documents and settings\andy\local settings\application data\pbbktcg.exe

C:\Program Files\Art Plus\WallpaperSL\wallpaper.exe
__________________
My name is Dan.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18-01-10, 02:16 PM
Toxcity Toxcity is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,969
Mmmm, the pbbktcg not so much. The wallpaper one is probably for the dynamic wallpapers. Google brings up nothing on pbbktcg.exe. Very weird.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18-01-10, 08:11 PM
zak4994 zak4994 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, United Kingdom
Posts: 3,053
An executable in your local settings. I can only assume that the file is a virus or some sort of spyware. Bet that is the culprit.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18-01-10, 09:08 PM
mrapoc mrapoc is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 5,669
just run malwarebytes, superantispyware and iv not seen much get past those two
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 19-01-10, 03:29 AM
AMDFTW AMDFTW is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 4,608
try stinger aswell
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 19-01-10, 09:56 AM
Brooksie's Avatar
Brooksie Brooksie is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Aldershot, England
Posts: 3,712
Maybe Spybot Search and destroy aswell.
__________________
3770k @ 4.5GHz | MSI Z77-GD65 |16GB Corsair Vengeance LP | MSI GTX670 Power Edition | Corsair AX850
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 03:57 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.