Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Networks & Security
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 18-01-10, 08:05 AM
Toxcity Toxcity is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,969
Weirdly Slow Network Drive

Morning guys,

This is an interesting one for you.

Okay, the problem is with a Windows network drive. There are 6 shared drives on the network and inly the N:\ drive has this problem. Basically, it is slow to open but only if you click on the name of the drive in explorer, if you click the + to the left of the name it opens straight away.

As I said this only happens with the N:\ drive every other drive opens quickly which ever way you open it.

Bit of a head scratcher.

Thanks in advance.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18-01-10, 08:11 AM
Youngie1337 Youngie1337 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rugby
Posts: 2,625
Have you got hidden files on the drive?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18-01-10, 08:16 AM
Toxcity Toxcity is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,969
Nope, no hidden files other than the usual Windows things (Recycler, System Information Blah Blah).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18-01-10, 08:26 AM
Youngie1337 Youngie1337 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rugby
Posts: 2,625
Try enabling

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18-01-10, 08:28 AM
Toxcity Toxcity is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,969
Cheers Youngie, I'll see if it helps.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18-01-10, 08:30 AM
Youngie1337 Youngie1337 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rugby
Posts: 2,625
If that fails, perhaps you should download TuneUp Utilities from here: http://www.tune-up.com/download/

Once installed you get 30 days trial of unlocked software. Do the registry scans and fix any problems. This problem happened to me, took ages to load up the right click menu and index C:/. This helped.

Problem is missing file/extensions.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18-01-10, 08:43 AM
Toxcity Toxcity is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,969
Got to be a little careful as it's not my machine. Belongs to the office.. if it were mine we would be talking wipe, reinstall and reconfigure.

I'll have a good lookie at it sooner or later. Thanks for the suggestions so dar though man.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18-01-10, 08:45 AM
Youngie1337 Youngie1337 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rugby
Posts: 2,625
Ah yeah fair dooz, try the first thing first then .
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 05:40 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.