Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Cooling Forum > Air Cooling
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 15-01-10, 05:13 PM
|Classified |Classified is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 112
Need help with Tacens Fan!!

Prologue:

I bought a Tacens Ventus Pro Ice (12cm) fan recently.(http://tacens.com/ventusproice_2.htm)

After I had installed my fan controller, I wanted to detach the 'fan controller' delivered with it.

The fancontroller on the fan was attached to the fan with a double copper wire. I asked a friend how to detach it, and he told me to cut the cable going from the fan to that little fan controller.

After I cut it, I rebooted my computer, and the fan still got power, but it wont do any rpm, the highest I got it to was 300 rpm for about 2secs...


The question: Does anyone know how to make the Tacens Ventus Pro Ice work without the attached fan controller?

Greetings

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15-01-10, 05:36 PM
deathwish deathwish is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,145
the fan controller is a variable resister ie low resistance causes the fan to speed up high resistance causes it to slow down

replace the variable resister with a standard non variable resister to set it at a constant speed
__________________
There are 10 types of people in the world those who understand binary and those who dont

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Is it wrong that I'm enjoying this
-----------------------------------------------------------

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15-01-10, 05:38 PM
|Classified |Classified is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 112
Ok, thanks, but is there I way ill be able to control it again with a fan controller if I replace the resistor?
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15-01-10, 05:48 PM
deathwish deathwish is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,145
if you replace the resister you can control it using a standard controller, and if you are careful and save the old resister you can always re solder it back on at some point if you need to.

i suggest measuring the resistance of the resister with it set to full speed and replacing it with something of the same resistance
__________________
There are 10 types of people in the world those who understand binary and those who dont

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Is it wrong that I'm enjoying this
-----------------------------------------------------------

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15-01-10, 05:52 PM
|Classified |Classified is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='deathwish'
i suggest measuring the resistance of the resister with it set to full speed and replacing it with something of the same resistance
Sorry, but how can I measure resistance?

btw,Thanks for the great help so far!
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15-01-10, 06:01 PM
|Classified |Classified is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 112
I would need 30 Ohm resistance if 12V and 0.4 ampere wouldn't I?
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15-01-10, 06:03 PM
deathwish deathwish is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,145
best way is to get a cheap multimeter

http://www.machinemart.co.uk/shop/pr...rs-tachometers
__________________
There are 10 types of people in the world those who understand binary and those who dont

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Is it wrong that I'm enjoying this
-----------------------------------------------------------

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15-01-10, 06:10 PM
|Classified |Classified is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 112
Thanks, already calculated with box-indicated max voltages.

Any possibility that I could find a resistor with 30-34.5 Ohm? (variable)
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 15-01-10, 06:13 PM
deathwish deathwish is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,145
maplins and rapid should do them
__________________
There are 10 types of people in the world those who understand binary and those who dont

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Is it wrong that I'm enjoying this
-----------------------------------------------------------

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 15-01-10, 06:18 PM
|Classified |Classified is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 112
Thanks man!
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 12:59 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.