Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 07-01-10, 09:01 PM
BbBoS BbBoS is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 77
Slow CPU

Hello, I am new to these forums.

Just recently, when playing on games my CPU has been completly maxing out (100% both cores) and also my games have been lagging a lot, before (yesterday) I didn't have this problem and nor have I for the past year, it just seems to have randomly done it, I have tried restarting and it doesn't work and I have closed down all background programs and it is still slow. I left it on all night like I usually do and just started playing and noticed a lot of lag and checked cpu speed and its maxing out when it usaully don't, thanks for you help

If this helps, here are my pc specs

Core 2 Duo E8400 (Stock speeds + Cooling)

4GB Ram

Sapphire HD4870 1GB (Overclocked to 775Mhz Core and 925Mhz Memory)

MSI P45 Platinum

620W Coolmaster Realpower PSU

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-01-10, 09:14 PM
Toxcity Toxcity is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,969
What program is using all the processing time? The game?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-01-10, 09:28 PM
thestepster's Avatar
thestepster thestepster is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,964
i would start with a cmos clear to make sure it wasnt the bios playin up
__________________


Intel Core i7 @ 4ghz and rising!

Noctua NH-D14 - Samsung F3 1TB - Asus P6X58D Premium - 12GB Corsair XMS3 1600

Zotac GTX580 at 895/1790/4200 @ 1030v (1000mv stock @ 772 core) - Corsair TX850 - Corsair 700D


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-01-10, 09:30 PM
killablade killablade is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Leeuwarden, FR. The Netherlands
Posts: 1,987
either that or just try a reboot if you havent already
__________________
My *finished* build - KingPenguin
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-01-10, 09:33 PM
thestepster's Avatar
thestepster thestepster is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,964
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='BbBoS'
I have tried restarting and it doesn't work and I have closed down all background programs and it is still slow.
already tried to restart, and since he's still at stock settings a cmos reset should be strait forward for him, he might have a clear cmos button or a jumper (if you cant find the jumper just remove the battery for 30 secs) then put it back in that should be cool what i used to do when i had to reset the bios after a failed OC
__________________


Intel Core i7 @ 4ghz and rising!

Noctua NH-D14 - Samsung F3 1TB - Asus P6X58D Premium - 12GB Corsair XMS3 1600

Zotac GTX580 at 895/1790/4200 @ 1030v (1000mv stock @ 772 core) - Corsair TX850 - Corsair 700D


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-01-10, 11:06 PM
BbBoS BbBoS is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 77
Ok its seems to have fixed it self lol,

Thankyou for the help / fast replys
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-01-10, 11:08 PM
thestepster's Avatar
thestepster thestepster is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,964
did you do anything to fix it?
__________________


Intel Core i7 @ 4ghz and rising!

Noctua NH-D14 - Samsung F3 1TB - Asus P6X58D Premium - 12GB Corsair XMS3 1600

Zotac GTX580 at 895/1790/4200 @ 1030v (1000mv stock @ 772 core) - Corsair TX850 - Corsair 700D


Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-01-10, 11:20 PM
BbBoS BbBoS is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 77
No, I just went back on Call of Duty and clocks were running at 40% each so I put the graphics back up to max and was about 60 - 70 just like it was before lol
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-01-10, 11:31 PM
thestepster's Avatar
thestepster thestepster is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,964
that 60-70 on your cpu
__________________


Intel Core i7 @ 4ghz and rising!

Noctua NH-D14 - Samsung F3 1TB - Asus P6X58D Premium - 12GB Corsair XMS3 1600

Zotac GTX580 at 895/1790/4200 @ 1030v (1000mv stock @ 772 core) - Corsair TX850 - Corsair 700D


Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-01-10, 08:38 AM
I Hunta x's Avatar
I Hunta x I Hunta x is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 1,784
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='thestepster'
that 60-70 on your cpu
looks like he's using a 4870 from his profile
__________________
i7 970 - NH-D14 | Gigabyte x58a-oc | Corsair AX850 | CM Cosmos S
4x4Gb Samsung Green 1.3v in 3+1 Tri Channel - 1900Mhz c10 | SLI GTX 580 | Samsung Evo 250GB - 1GB/s
-Need to fit-
Xspc Rasa | Phobya G-Changer 240 + 360 | Phobya dc12-400 | 7x Orange Xigmatek XLF 120mm
| 2x EK 580 blocks | Alphacool Copper fittings

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 03:46 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.