Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Networks & Security
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 07-01-10, 11:45 AM
kyle9600 kyle9600 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 103
Powerline Networking

Heyy

At the momemt i currently have wireless internet and it just doesnt cut it when it comes to sharing files and playing games online

I dont have the time to physically run a cable all the way from my router downstairs to my pc upstairs.

What powerline product would you reccomemned and is it as good as what people say it is.

Can powerline be used with double adapters and powerboards or does it have to be directly connected to the powerpoint.

Also one last question can you connect powerline to 4 port switch and connect more then 1 or will i need to buy more powerlines to get it connected to the other pc upstairs

Thanks

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-01-10, 02:44 PM
mrapoc mrapoc is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 5,669
It has to be directly connected to powerpoint

I use linksys 200mb ones so i can stream hd with no problems.

Mine goes from router downstairs to powerline, to my room, to a switch to which everything else is connected.

I recommend them, no difference to getting a long cat5 cable really, unless ur needing gigabit speeds
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-01-10, 04:35 AM
kyle9600 kyle9600 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='mrapoc'
It has to be directly connected to powerpoint

I use linksys 200mb ones so i can stream hd with no problems.

Mine goes from router downstairs to powerline, to my room, to a switch to which everything else is connected.

I recommend them, no difference to getting a long cat5 cable really, unless ur needing gigabit speeds
Thanks so i should look for anything that is 200mb, i see a lot of the 85mb ones are they any good? or should i spend the extra $$$ and get the 200mb
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-01-10, 07:17 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 14,789
200mb = extra bandwidth. There are Gigabit version due out pretty soon. The 200mb are fine for internet use but regular file transfers via the adapters would be a royal pita due to the slow speeds.
__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-01-10, 02:11 PM
mrapoc mrapoc is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 5,669
if ur doing file transfers between locations 200mb deffo but all my transfers are upstairs via the switch anyway so it doesnt affect me, but transfers going via powerline will be a bit slower - if u just purely want internet access and not transfering/transfering fast between the adapters get the 85mbps.

But i got 200mbs in case i wanted to stream from a server downstairs
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-01-10, 03:16 AM
WelshD1K WelshD1K is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,047
amazing bits of kit im rollign with 2x 14mb ones personaly and never had any issue . playe donline games etc no problemo . but hey my net is only 2mb so why do i need 200's :P
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-01-10, 02:23 PM
mrapoc mrapoc is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 5,669
for local connection/transfers :P
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-01-10, 02:27 PM
killablade killablade is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Leeuwarden, FR. The Netherlands
Posts: 1,987
I might get a couple of these since I'm on wireless now
__________________
My *finished* build - KingPenguin
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 14-01-10, 01:08 AM
kyle9600 kyle9600 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 103
Thanks for your help, i think ill get the 200mbps powerline adapters since im always sharing HD movies and lots of ISO images
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 18-01-10, 04:57 PM
nathan nathan is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,798
I'm running the ZyXel 200MB ones (even though they have a 100mb port). I have one plugged in the a power brick and its working fine. They've been more reliable than my wireless.
__________________


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 05:12 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.