Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Memory
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 06-01-10, 01:02 PM
Rover3500 Rover3500 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 105
6 or 12 gb DDR3

Hi all,

I have just setup a new system using X58 ATM I have 6gb of trident 2000mhz ram running @ 1700mhz T1

My question is If I add another 6gb so using all 6 slots will this still run at this speed and T1 or will it be like the old AMD and slow down to T2 timings.

Has anyone already done this ?

Any help appreciated,

Thanks,

__________________
=_= Mountain Mods UFO =_=

! Because Bigger Is Better !


[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Dual Line Water Cooling


Intel I7 920 @ 4000mhz - 6gb Trident Pc3 16000 @ 1700mhz T1 - Asus ROG X58 Rampage2 - 2 of Ati 3870X2 Quad Xfire - 7.1 X-Fi Sound - Samsung 128gb SSD - 3 of WD Raptor-X in 1 X 3 Drive Raid 0 Array..... System 110% Stable
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-01-10, 04:21 PM
AMDFTW AMDFTW is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 4,608
more RAM sticks with AMD usualy means its harder to OC the CPU,i assume its the same for your RAM
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-01-10, 04:44 PM
Rover3500 Rover3500 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='AMDFTW'
more RAM sticks with AMD usualy means its harder to OC the CPU,i assume its the same for your RAM
Hi,

Yes I know about AMD limitations, I was wondering if the same applies to the Intel X58, being as the socket 1366 has onboard memory as did the AM2 etc'

or has intel made an improved type of onboard memory for their i7 cpu's which would allow 6 ram sticks to run @ T1
__________________
=_= Mountain Mods UFO =_=

! Because Bigger Is Better !


[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Dual Line Water Cooling


Intel I7 920 @ 4000mhz - 6gb Trident Pc3 16000 @ 1700mhz T1 - Asus ROG X58 Rampage2 - 2 of Ati 3870X2 Quad Xfire - 7.1 X-Fi Sound - Samsung 128gb SSD - 3 of WD Raptor-X in 1 X 3 Drive Raid 0 Array..... System 110% Stable
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-01-10, 08:39 PM
AMDFTW AMDFTW is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 4,608
oryt sorry dude,i think only AMD ha the limitaion problem i assume intel is fine
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-01-10, 08:54 PM
Rover3500 Rover3500 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='AMDFTW'
oryt sorry dude,i think only AMD ha the limitaion problem i assume intel is fine
Hi m8, thx for your replies,

There must be someone here that has an X58 i7 setup with 6 ram sticks ???

Will they run T1 or like the AMD have to be reduced to T2

!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
=_= Mountain Mods UFO =_=

! Because Bigger Is Better !


[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Dual Line Water Cooling


Intel I7 920 @ 4000mhz - 6gb Trident Pc3 16000 @ 1700mhz T1 - Asus ROG X58 Rampage2 - 2 of Ati 3870X2 Quad Xfire - 7.1 X-Fi Sound - Samsung 128gb SSD - 3 of WD Raptor-X in 1 X 3 Drive Raid 0 Array..... System 110% Stable
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-01-10, 01:09 AM
Rover3500 Rover3500 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 105
Bump !!!!!
__________________
=_= Mountain Mods UFO =_=

! Because Bigger Is Better !


[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Dual Line Water Cooling


Intel I7 920 @ 4000mhz - 6gb Trident Pc3 16000 @ 1700mhz T1 - Asus ROG X58 Rampage2 - 2 of Ati 3870X2 Quad Xfire - 7.1 X-Fi Sound - Samsung 128gb SSD - 3 of WD Raptor-X in 1 X 3 Drive Raid 0 Array..... System 110% Stable
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 03:26 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.