Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Overclocking
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 18-12-09, 06:48 AM
sammytomjohn sammytomjohn is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,142
overclocking i5! I need assistance!

right guys i followed this link on overclockin my i5 750 (used the settings that they used but needless to say i need ur help!)

http://www.evga.com/forums/tm.aspx?m=20029

they used an i7 860 to get they're overclock! just wondering if theres anything i should change? to get a STABLE overclock tried prime again last nght seems as tho my overclock is unstable after 1 hr 3 mins worker 3 stopped workin with an error! all help wud be much appreciated also any 1 know what benchmark tools i should get to test stability? i only got prime95!

also this chips has booted at 215x20 giving me 4259 mhz and 2133mhz ram but i dont know how to get it stable temps didnt really change at full load!

__________________
i5 750@ 4ghz on evga p55-sli

asus top gtx260, 4gb geil ultra 2133mhz

1tb f1 spinpoint, toughpowers 1200w psu

falling apart antec 1200
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18-12-09, 08:08 AM
thestepster's Avatar
thestepster thestepster is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,964
orthos, occt, intel burn test (that finds errors in your overclock super fast with the blue screen ) 3d mark 06 and 05 and pc mark vantage is everything i use but im sure there is more out there as im sure the pro's on here will tell u
__________________


Intel Core i7 @ 4ghz and rising!

Noctua NH-D14 - Samsung F3 1TB - Asus P6X58D Premium - 12GB Corsair XMS3 1600

Zotac GTX580 at 895/1790/4200 @ 1030v (1000mv stock @ 772 core) - Corsair TX850 - Corsair 700D


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18-12-09, 10:04 AM
sammytomjohn sammytomjohn is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,142
anybody help with the overclockin??
__________________
i5 750@ 4ghz on evga p55-sli

asus top gtx260, 4gb geil ultra 2133mhz

1tb f1 spinpoint, toughpowers 1200w psu

falling apart antec 1200
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18-12-09, 07:17 PM
Diablo Diablo is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Manchester/ Oxford Uni
Posts: 1,524
Try bumping vcore up, to maybe 1.35 as a maximum. What cooling are you using? Bear in mind 4.2GHz stable is a pretty ambitious target.

Try loosening the RAM timings a little, bumping Vcore and VTT up a tad. What options are there for MCH strap?

Also there was something in my bios (may not be the same for yours) which had a little note in the bios saying above 1600 for overclocking, lower = better performance, so try setting that a bit higher if you see something like that
__________________

i7 3930K 4.5GHz -EK Supreme HF- Rampage IV Extreme EK Blocks - 32GB 1600MHz RAM - 680GTX SLI Koolance Blocks - Creative Titanium Pro - TJ07B-W - TCubed BigNG - 240GB SSD - 3TB HD - Dual Loop
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18-12-09, 09:01 PM
sammytomjohn sammytomjohn is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Diablo'
Try bumping vcore up, to maybe 1.35 as a maximum. What cooling are you using? Bear in mind 4.2GHz stable is a pretty ambitious target.

Try loosening the RAM timings a little, bumping Vcore and VTT up a tad. What options are there for MCH strap?

Also there was something in my bios (may not be the same for yours) which had a little note in the bios saying above 1600 for overclocking, lower = better performance, so try setting that a bit higher if you see something like that
ohh i am using thermalright true u-120 extreme with 2 12cm ac ryan fans can u go into a bit detail with ur comments on overclockin? i a noob
__________________
i5 750@ 4ghz on evga p55-sli

asus top gtx260, 4gb geil ultra 2133mhz

1tb f1 spinpoint, toughpowers 1200w psu

falling apart antec 1200
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18-12-09, 09:23 PM
Diablo Diablo is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Manchester/ Oxford Uni
Posts: 1,524
If its unstable, try bumpingup the Vcore to 1.31V or more up to a maximum of 1.35V (in voltage control menu go to CPU voltage).

The cooling should be adequate, although if you could tell us (coretemp or similar) what temps it is at under load it would be helpful.

I don't know where the last bit I said would be located sorry (the set to 1600 for overclock bit).

VTT should be set to 1.4 but try 1.45V if its still not stable.

Go into the RAM timings menu and set the first few values to perhaps 9-10-9 instead of 9-9-9.
__________________

i7 3930K 4.5GHz -EK Supreme HF- Rampage IV Extreme EK Blocks - 32GB 1600MHz RAM - 680GTX SLI Koolance Blocks - Creative Titanium Pro - TJ07B-W - TCubed BigNG - 240GB SSD - 3TB HD - Dual Loop
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18-12-09, 09:28 PM
sammytomjohn sammytomjohn is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Diablo'

VTT should be set to 1.4 but try 1.45V if its still not stable.
will that be fine on an i5 750?
__________________
i5 750@ 4ghz on evga p55-sli

asus top gtx260, 4gb geil ultra 2133mhz

1tb f1 spinpoint, toughpowers 1200w psu

falling apart antec 1200
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18-12-09, 09:33 PM
Diablo Diablo is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Manchester/ Oxford Uni
Posts: 1,524
Oh sorry, I was still in i7 mode. I'm afraid I don't know. Try googling max i5 vtt or ask someone with an i5 on here?
__________________

i7 3930K 4.5GHz -EK Supreme HF- Rampage IV Extreme EK Blocks - 32GB 1600MHz RAM - 680GTX SLI Koolance Blocks - Creative Titanium Pro - TJ07B-W - TCubed BigNG - 240GB SSD - 3TB HD - Dual Loop
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18-12-09, 09:35 PM
sammytomjohn sammytomjohn is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Diablo'
The cooling should be adequate, although if you could tell us (coretemp or similar) what temps it is at under load it would be helpful.
i am also @ 60* full load (core temp after 1hr prime so cooler is good also core temp reports 1.325v where as bios is set to 1.300v
__________________
i5 750@ 4ghz on evga p55-sli

asus top gtx260, 4gb geil ultra 2133mhz

1tb f1 spinpoint, toughpowers 1200w psu

falling apart antec 1200
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 19-12-09, 12:34 AM
sammytomjohn sammytomjohn is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Diablo'
Oh sorry, I was still in i7 mode. I'm afraid I don't know. Try googling max i5 vtt or ask someone with an i5 on here?
seems as tho intel spec say i5 750 vtt has a max limit of 1.21v

so i set mine to 1.225v and it seems to be runnin better prime95 didnt crash 1 3/4 hrs into test where as yesterday it bummed out an 1hr 3min in! will try doing a rock solid prime95 for 7-8hrs see if it works (sunday!)

also i noticed since i lowered the vtt my temps have gone up to 64-66* but that is still ok!! right?? memory at rated speed 2133mhz stock timings 9-9-9-28
__________________
i5 750@ 4ghz on evga p55-sli

asus top gtx260, 4gb geil ultra 2133mhz

1tb f1 spinpoint, toughpowers 1200w psu

falling apart antec 1200
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 02:21 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.