Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 21-11-09, 10:20 PM
siravarice siravarice is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,183
64-bit

One of my friends said the other day that macs are crap and pc's are good. This may be, but his reasoning was that macs dont have 64bit processors. Is this true? Thought almost all processors nowadays were 64bit?

__________________
Rig = My Netbook :/


Formerly Known as siravarice
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21-11-09, 10:22 PM
Ghosthud1's Avatar
Ghosthud1 Ghosthud1 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Huddersfield
Posts: 2,068
hmmmmmmmm? im sure most macs use xeon cpu's? which are 32bit/64bit

edit: im correct and your friend needs a slap
__________________

3770k 4.6Ghz | Vapor-X 270X | 2133Mhz ripjawX | RM550 | 120GB SEVO
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22-11-09, 02:46 AM
f0x. f0x. is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Norhern Ireland
Posts: 324
Send a message via MSN to f0x.
Your friend needs an award. having used macs for then main purpose, well according to most people, for photoshop, i can tell you that they suck. All the key combinations are more awkward, the legendary "macs never crash" is also untrue, they hang, they sit there looking at you like the overpriced peices of good marketing they are.

I.E dont buy a mac if you intend to do anything serious at all on it, possible exception Final Cut pro, but i still prefer sony vegas >.>
__________________
Main rig: Nautilus

CPU: Q9550 @ 3.6ghz RAM: 4gb GSKILL DDR3 BFG GTX 295

PSU: Inwin Commando 1500w SND: Creative X-FI 2

HDD: 120gb OCZ Vertex SSD with 1TB WD (Storage)

Cooling: Custom CPU Loop with XSPC Edge V1 Block
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22-11-09, 08:49 AM
siravarice siravarice is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,183
Nice Fox, but 64bit processors? I know macs are generally crap, but having used one for a while i do know how they are appealing. I think its called a niche market ><
__________________
Rig = My Netbook :/


Formerly Known as siravarice
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22-11-09, 09:02 AM
Luigi Luigi is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,499
The new ones have intel processors so they should have 64bit, unless somehow they disable it in the bios or the os doesnt support it?
__________________
Luigi

-----------

Project: Flat Pack - Coming soon
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22-11-09, 10:28 AM
Brooksie's Avatar
Brooksie Brooksie is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Aldershot, England
Posts: 3,712
Only Apple product I own is the iPhone. Never bought a Mac, never will.

I've been on a Mac like twice, which was when I was testing a website using safari
__________________
3770k @ 4.5GHz | MSI Z77-GD65 |16GB Corsair Vengeance LP | MSI GTX670 Power Edition | Corsair AX850
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22-11-09, 11:37 AM
f0x. f0x. is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Norhern Ireland
Posts: 324
Send a message via MSN to f0x.
While they do have 64 bit procs, it doesnt make a difference as they runa 32bit linux based kernal. If your are going to run windows on it, 64 bit isnt that much of a niche market anymore, more and more apps are being written in 64bit, we will all eventually change over, just a matter of time imo
__________________
Main rig: Nautilus

CPU: Q9550 @ 3.6ghz RAM: 4gb GSKILL DDR3 BFG GTX 295

PSU: Inwin Commando 1500w SND: Creative X-FI 2

HDD: 120gb OCZ Vertex SSD with 1TB WD (Storage)

Cooling: Custom CPU Loop with XSPC Edge V1 Block
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 22-11-09, 12:21 PM
equk's Avatar
equk equk is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Southwest England
Posts: 2,578
The new macs run a 64bit based unix (bsd) kernel and are optimized for 64bit.

You can check if 64bit is enabled in the system profiler of mac osx

If you want to know more you can check the wikipedia page for snowleopard

Quote:
Mac OS X Tiger added limited support for 64-bit applications on machines with 64-bit processors; Leopard extended the support for 64-bit applications to include applications using most of Mac OS X's libraries and frameworks.

In Snow Leopard, most built-in applications have been rebuilt to leverage the 64-bit x86-64 architecture (excluding iTunes, Front Row, Grapher and DVD Player applications).[19] They will run in 32-bit mode on machines with 32-bit processors, and in 64-bit mode on machines with 64-bit processors.

In addition, the Mac OS X kernel has been rebuilt to run in 64-bit mode on some machines. On those machines, Snow Leopard supports up to 16 terabytes of RAM. Newer Xserve and Mac Pro machines will run a 64-bit kernel by default;
__________________

i5-2500K @ 4.8Ghz | 8G DDR3 | P8Z68-V GEN3 | Archlinux | Win7
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 22-11-09, 12:42 PM
equk's Avatar
equk equk is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Southwest England
Posts: 2,578
Would also add that after using various operating systems I would rather use OSX for graphical/design work than any other as it's far more responsive and the interface is so much better.

Windows 7 has copied/borrowed a lot from it but OSX is still more responsive (prob from the unix base).

I use linux/windows/osx and like them all for certain things.

(Am using windows 7 x64 at the moment)
__________________

i5-2500K @ 4.8Ghz | 8G DDR3 | P8Z68-V GEN3 | Archlinux | Win7
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 22-11-09, 07:24 PM
siravarice siravarice is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,183
I like how everyone says Windows 7 has stolen a lot of stuff from the Mac OS. I don't feel it has, most people usually go on about the taskbar buttons now, but they were always there, just not so developed.
__________________
Rig = My Netbook :/


Formerly Known as siravarice
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 01:52 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.