Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Software Section > OS & Apps
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 06-11-09, 01:20 PM
hawkinsa21 hawkinsa21 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 230
FIXED - Windows 7 Media Centre slowness

Hi all, I posted this on a Windows 7 forum but I've always had a great response from here . I have literally copy / pasted from that other thread, but maybe someone here can think of something I haven't??

Background: I used to have an O2 supplied router. It was horrible. I couldn't achieve file transfer speeds above 200kbp/s on the home network, and my Xbox simply did not see the PC. So, I shelled out for a Netgear DGN2000, and that solved all my problems. Transfer speeds were as expected, and I could connect to media on the PC through the dash board without problem - even able to play 1080p high definition media. Result.

But, after playing around with WMC7 which I love the look and feel of, I'm having slowness and connection failures left right and center with it.

- Browsing media folders is painfully slow, and gets worse as the folders contents increases in number

- Navigation effectively hangs and I cannot browse any further, nor 'back up' to the previous folder

- The system hangs for about a minute, before giving the message that there was a connection failure, and did I want to re-connect

- I can 'sometimes' access the folders if I put files I want to watch into their own small folders at the top of the folder structure, so it suggests that the deeper you drill into your media folders the worse the problem gets. Occasionally if I leave the room whilst inside a folder it will allow me to navigate it after 5 minutes or so, so it suggests its just really slow

I have the PC connecting wirelessly to the router, and the Xbox is wired into the router. I have tested with the PC wired into the router and it is the same, so the problem isn't wireless.

I have performed the 'network tuning' on the extender menu, and it has a full band of green bars showing great bandwidth available, so bandwidth isn't a problem.

I have heard that the Xbox takes a long time to enumerate the media?? If so is there a patch? I've already used the optimization option...

I have also used Salami's movie organizer to meta tag a whole folder of media, but this made no difference.

I have turned off the option to update the album covers etc from the Internet.

It isn't firewall related as I'm only using Windows firewall and have turned it off, and the fact that I can browse folders via the dashboard outside of WMC proves it isn't firewall related anyway.

It does sometimes work but I've checked the network performance during this time and it is no different from when it won't work. E.g if I get an error whilst browsing stating that there was a connection failure, I can use the dashboard to immediately play HDTV, so it isn't bandwidth problems.

I've checked the CPU on my PC, it is a Q6600 quad core, and although the CPU does spike, it isn't enough to make the system hang.

I built the PC myself, there are no finger print authentication services or devices on here, which I am aware do cause problems with WMC7, especially on HP machines

EDIT********************

I have also added ports 53, 80, 88 and 3074 to my routers firewall / services list. No difference.

I have downloaded and installed Process Lasso, which you can use to set the process priority on startup, and have setup all the Mcx1 user processes to high. Mcx1 is the user account that the extender uses. This hasn't made one bit of difference though.

What I can definitely confirm is that I can browse the media center settings fairly well (I get maybe 1 in 3 drop outs before I've started browsing). It is once I start accessing media, either music or video's that everything starts crawling at a snails pace. When accessing music, I was finding that it took about 30 seconds to respond, and after moving across two album folders the system hung then about 1 minute later dropped out citing 'connection failure'.

Its the darn media. I'm not sure what else to do but I will update here and will definitely post if I fix the problem or not. I will now try adding the port forwarding rules to outbound traffic. Although it states to add them to the inbound traffic there was a disclaimer stating that you may need to add to both.

I have also tried adding the Mcx1 user account to the admin group with no luck.

I have also added the ports to the outbound firewall traffic as well with no luck.

/EDIT*******************

The reason I want to use WMC over the normal dashboard is that I can take advantage of Divx7's new .mkv file support in WMP12, which works in WMC, when I can eventually get it working... and it is sweet. Fact is it should just work, and I'm determined to get to the bottom of this.

Thanks for reading this far if you have gotten here! I appreciate anyone's input, no matter how small

Alex

__________________
Gigabyte Z77 D3H
i7 3770k
XFX 7950 Ghost edition
16Gb Crucial RAM
650W PSU
Silverstone TJ09B Black
G15 & G500
BenQ XL2420T
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-11-09, 03:03 PM
BloomerzUK BloomerzUK is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via MSN to BloomerzUK
I haven't read the whole post, but have you enabled uPnP, it can sometimes speed things up.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-11-09, 03:12 PM
hawkinsa21 hawkinsa21 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='BloomerzUK'
I haven't read the whole post, but have you enabled uPnP, it can sometimes speed things up.
Cheers BloomerzUK, I should have mentioned that one. Yes, uPnP is enabled on my router
__________________
Gigabyte Z77 D3H
i7 3770k
XFX 7950 Ghost edition
16Gb Crucial RAM
650W PSU
Silverstone TJ09B Black
G15 & G500
BenQ XL2420T
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-11-09, 05:48 PM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
Soz again being lazy (and on phone) but have you tried totally disabling the software firewall to connect, then enabling it once you done some fiddling in MC?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-11-09, 06:53 PM
hawkinsa21 hawkinsa21 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 230
Hmm, cheers Matt, I have tried that and it seemed to be a bit better at first but maybe it is a red herring because as per usual I started getting connection failures and hangs.

Because I can play media in small folders in higher level directories, for the time being I have moved my .mkv files into a top level folder, which seems to be OK. Still 'slightly' sticky movement, but it catches up fairly quickly and I can watch stuff...

So, the problem seems to be when you drill down or just open larger folders as I originally thought. For some reason Windows cannot handle this to the point that it drops the connection to the media center. Ho hum.

I will endeavor to find out what is causing this and post back

Thanks for your suggestions

Alex
__________________
Gigabyte Z77 D3H
i7 3770k
XFX 7950 Ghost edition
16Gb Crucial RAM
650W PSU
Silverstone TJ09B Black
G15 & G500
BenQ XL2420T
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-11-09, 07:52 PM
lasher lasher is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,898
Might be a long shot here but do you have any media senders in the home?

I had a problem where by a monster sender was interfering with the router. The sender was next door! So had to persuade the neighbour to change the unit.

Just another quick question - are you using ICS or pure media extender connection?
__________________
Biostar Tpower I55, I5 750 @ 4.2Ghz, 4GB Kingston DDR3, Custom water loop - Thermochill PA120.3, Heatkiller 3.0 LC, Laing DDC Ultra, XSPC res top, XSPC white hose, Asus 5870, Antec Quattro 1000, Lian Li PC-X2000, Win7 ultimate.



Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-11-09, 07:46 AM
hawkinsa21 hawkinsa21 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='lasher'
Might be a long shot here but do you have any media senders in the home?

I had a problem where by a monster sender was interfering with the router. The sender was next door! So had to persuade the neighbour to change the unit.

Just another quick question - are you using ICS or pure media extender connection?
Thanks lasher,

no senders that I'm aware of. Both my next door neighbours are illiterate with teh PCs

I am using the plain old media extender, no ICS on this setup. I know ICS has caused problems in the past.

BTW, I have also stripped my media folders of ALL additional files. I had some text, document and pdf files in a few of them that have gathered up over time. I am removing them now, and I am going to perform a full defrag of my system as well. I shall report back!

Cheers
__________________
Gigabyte Z77 D3H
i7 3770k
XFX 7950 Ghost edition
16Gb Crucial RAM
650W PSU
Silverstone TJ09B Black
G15 & G500
BenQ XL2420T
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-11-09, 08:33 AM
hawkinsa21 hawkinsa21 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 230
OK, removing text, docs and pdfs didn't work, neither did defragging it... but,

I knew I'd get to the bottom of it! I needed to tweak it at the extenders end. I disabled sounds and animations as well as preventing the extras items from interacting with media centre. I also disabled the option to allow all computers to push media to the extender. Some of these options were not available on the PC but had to be set on the Xbox 360 itself

Now I have near perfect performance. The longest I've had to wait for a menu to catch up is about 4 seconds, and that was a one off. It is super quick and a pleasure to use! Hopefully someone else can use this to troubleshoot their own problems. I've included all the steps I've taken so hopefully someone else can make use of my efforts

Cheers
__________________
Gigabyte Z77 D3H
i7 3770k
XFX 7950 Ghost edition
16Gb Crucial RAM
650W PSU
Silverstone TJ09B Black
G15 & G500
BenQ XL2420T
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 02:29 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.