Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 18-10-09, 09:59 PM
PeterStoba PeterStoba is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,190
Intel Gulftown To Launch In Mac Pro

A deal will see Apple exclusively selling hexa-core CPUs for a few months?

Continue Reading

__________________
Silverstone SG05B | i3 530 | Scythe Shuriken | DFI LanParty MI P55-T36 | 4GB Kingston HyperX 1333Mhz | XFX 5450 512MB | Samsung SN-T083C | Intel X25-V 40GB | Samsung F1 1TB

LGW2452TX-PF | Logitech G9 | Logitech G15 | Logitech Z5500

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18-10-09, 10:27 PM
nepas's Avatar
nepas nepas is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,719
Woah! if this is true then Apple will have payed a fortune for this exclusivity.
__________________
reserved,this space will host my BC2 sig,once I learn to shoot,err scratch that,when I learn to stop getting shot
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19-10-09, 12:18 AM
Munkypoo7 Munkypoo7 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='nepas'
Woah! if this is true then Apple will have payed a fortune for this exclusivity.
Which im sure they will pass the expenditure to the customer
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19-10-09, 05:23 AM
FragTek's Avatar
FragTek FragTek is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stafford, VA USA
Posts: 15,931
Send a message via AIM to FragTek Send a message via MSN to FragTek Send a message via Yahoo to FragTek
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Munkypoo7'
Which im sure they will pass the expenditure to the customer
As they should. You gotta pay to play.

GO APPLE!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19-10-09, 11:50 AM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
Quote:
... or will it take Apple that long to work out how to implement that many cores?
There's no working out to do. Existing software will just use the cores as available.

We'll be getting some of these in I have no doubt. More cos they'll be shiney than anything else.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19-10-09, 04:02 PM
PeterStoba PeterStoba is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
There's no working out to do. Existing software will just use the cores as available.

We'll be getting some of these in I have no doubt. More cos they'll be shiney than anything else.
Current software makes use of of 24 cores? Didn't know there was much consumer-ish stuff that did
__________________
Silverstone SG05B | i3 530 | Scythe Shuriken | DFI LanParty MI P55-T36 | 4GB Kingston HyperX 1333Mhz | XFX 5450 512MB | Samsung SN-T083C | Intel X25-V 40GB | Samsung F1 1TB

LGW2452TX-PF | Logitech G9 | Logitech G15 | Logitech Z5500

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 19-10-09, 04:20 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
Well if u installed Windows on it, ofc u'll hit some walls, but linux and leopard will love it.

All OSes will ofc work.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 21-10-09, 02:16 AM
ayala421 ayala421 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 22
Wtf
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 05:13 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.