Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Graphics Cards
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 30-09-09, 10:23 PM
lasher lasher is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,898
GTX280OCX problems

Ok,

i have a GTX280OCX and having issues with it just the last couple of days.

Basically its locking and showing artifacts but full screen, temps are fine under load testing but eventually it will crash during gameplay.

One thing i have noticed when i monitor with Rivatuner is the Memory clock and setting seem to fluctuate, currently when im writing this im showing

core clock = 300.86

core clock shader domain = 601.71

memory clock = 100

run something like Furmark and sometimes it crashes, i notice the MHz shoot up.

Wondering if the memory is giving out on me perhaps.

Mainly noticed the crashing when playing ARMA2 oddly can happen after 5mins or after 3 hours continous play.

Done all the usual

Reinstall / update game

Driver sweeper in safe mode and reinstall driver

remove reinsert card

roll back drivers

checked all connections

kicked the cat

complained to our lass ( fell on deaf ears )

Arrgh ... assistance please gents!!

Spec in Sig

some piccies








__________________
Biostar Tpower I55, I5 750 @ 4.2Ghz, 4GB Kingston DDR3, Custom water loop - Thermochill PA120.3, Heatkiller 3.0 LC, Laing DDC Ultra, XSPC res top, XSPC white hose, Asus 5870, Antec Quattro 1000, Lian Li PC-X2000, Win7 ultimate.



Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30-09-09, 10:29 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 16,153
Ram is fooked - RMA time
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-10-09, 11:07 AM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
Lasher what ur showing in the OP are the 2d settings.

Whilst in 2d it probably behaves itself.

Then u ask it to work and all hell breaks loose.

It'd be handy to know what the 3d settings for it are. In relation to that, although they aren't shipped like it, keeping the shader at 2x the core is generally considered a good idea.

The other thing can be rivatuner. I've had it present me with issues with a 8800gt. Not the same as u have, but it would load in some strange oc settings that I couldn't do anything about. Getting rivatuner to apply the stock reg settings (I think it calls it that) gave me some normalcy.

The screen output looks like power/memory issue. This could either be that the heatsink isn't doing it's job or something like some of the caps on the pcb are failing.

In reference to the heatsink, it's often I've found rivatuner screw up the fan settings and stick at one speed despite what u might want it to do.

Try reverting the settings, perhaps uninstalling rivatuner in the meantime - then uninstall the nvidia drivers - then re-apply them. If it still screws up at this point that we'd assume is stock settings, it would appear nothing short of underclocking the 3d settings may get u out of it.

If after that there's no joy, as tom mentions, rma it.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-10-09, 05:48 PM
clone38's Avatar
clone38 clone38 is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 621
Agreed with Tom my 285 FTW has just done the same thing so i had to rma it back to the shop.
__________________
Asus Rampage Black-4820k@4.5ghz- Corsair Dominator-Platinum16GB(2133)
Corsair AX860i -EVGA 780 Ti Kingpin-Phanteks
Enthoo Primo White Edition-Asus ROG Xonar Phoebus
Corsair Hydro H105-Push pull Corsair SP120 Quiet Edition- SanDisk Extreme 120GB SSD
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-10-09, 07:42 PM
lasher lasher is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,898
Just recieved my RMA number today so should be able to manage some 3D graphics soon
__________________
Biostar Tpower I55, I5 750 @ 4.2Ghz, 4GB Kingston DDR3, Custom water loop - Thermochill PA120.3, Heatkiller 3.0 LC, Laing DDC Ultra, XSPC res top, XSPC white hose, Asus 5870, Antec Quattro 1000, Lian Li PC-X2000, Win7 ultimate.



Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 04:00 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.