Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Cooling Forum > Air Cooling
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 25-08-09, 08:51 AM
hawkinsa21 hawkinsa21 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 230
CPU Fan speed not changing under load

Hi guys,

I had a quick search but didn't find what I was looking for so posted.

I have an IP35 Pro and an Infinity Scythe air cooler. I've just noticed that when OC'ing, the fan speed does not change one bit! The bios shows it idling around 450-550rpm, but taking a physical look at the fan turning, I cannot see or hear it speed up under load, it is quite obvious to the eye that it is not altering speeds.

The CPU fan IS plugged into the CPU Fan1 control on my mobo. I have checked that the CPU FanEQ is setup in the bios, but is there somewhere I can set it to auto? I put the CPU FanEQ high setting to 60 degrees, hoping that it might kick in more at that temp, but I'm not really sure if thats the right thing to do, I don't really understand it.

Can anyone advise where to check the settings or switch to auto? This thing is rated up to 1200rpm and I am not seeing it reach anything over 600rpm. Its throttling my air OC like anything!

Cheers all

Alex

__________________
Gigabyte Z77 D3H
i7 3770k
XFX 7950 Ghost edition
16Gb Crucial RAM
650W PSU
Silverstone TJ09B Black
G15 & G500
BenQ XL2420T
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25-08-09, 01:11 PM
hawkinsa21 hawkinsa21 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 230
I believe it requires reinstalling uGuru utility ftw. I'll let ya'll know
__________________
Gigabyte Z77 D3H
i7 3770k
XFX 7950 Ghost edition
16Gb Crucial RAM
650W PSU
Silverstone TJ09B Black
G15 & G500
BenQ XL2420T
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25-08-09, 01:15 PM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
Yep, in the BIOS chap, give it a go
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25-08-09, 03:50 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
Yeah the bios handles the values.

If u install uguru, u'll notice more scope for those values.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25-08-09, 04:29 PM
hawkinsa21 hawkinsa21 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 230
Thanks guys,

I've reinstalled uGuru, and still have the problem I've always had (even in Vista 64) whereby the utility freezes once I try to change the user mode (i.e. turbo, quiet etc).

The fan speed is still being reported back as only maxing at 600rpm! Even under full load in prime95 the dang thing is sat there at a miserable 600rpm saying 'cor blimey gov, its getting 'ot in here like'.... lol

I have the IP35 pro. Can anyone tell me exactly which part of the BIOS I'm meant to configure? I'm sure I've gone over everything...

You can see my fan idling around 540rpm here whilst the CPU is getting hotter and hotter (running prime95 in the background). Why isn't it speeding up? I cannot hear or see if physically getting any faster. I know it can get up to 1200 rpm and btw if I crash uGuru by putting it into turbo mode (hang the whole system and needs a physical reset), then I hear the fan speed up. . . . . I have tried to copy the 'turbo' mode settings to the default in the hope it would work but no such luck.



I'm stuck

Anyone know what to suggest or what I should check? What fundamental things do I need to ensure are configured?

Cheers

Alex
__________________
Gigabyte Z77 D3H
i7 3770k
XFX 7950 Ghost edition
16Gb Crucial RAM
650W PSU
Silverstone TJ09B Black
G15 & G500
BenQ XL2420T
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26-08-09, 10:37 AM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
I personally never used the Turbo/Normal/Quiet options, just kept changing the default.

However, we'll get this sorted out, it could be a few things that are mocking u.

U could try installing a different version of uguru. I believe the one on the mobo cd isn't vista friendly (not even sure vista was out at the time).

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=147163

Keep this link handy. It has some good reading in it regarding the mobo. I believe the uguru version they settled on there is 3.109. There are newer versions, but just like drivers for other things, the newer ones are aimed at newer mobos.

Another thing to check b4 we go any further, so none of us look like chumps, u have got the cpu fan plugged in the cpu socket and not the sys socket on the mobo ?
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26-08-09, 11:25 AM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
I wouldn't touch the useless uGuru software. Set the fan speed max and min temp in the uGuru menu in the BIOS which should ramp up/down the fans according to what you've put in.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26-08-09, 12:03 PM
hawkinsa21 hawkinsa21 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
I personally never used the Turbo/Normal/Quiet options, just kept changing the default.

However, we'll get this sorted out, it could be a few things that are mocking u.

U could try installing a different version of uguru. I believe the one on the mobo cd isn't vista friendly (not even sure vista was out at the time).

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=147163

Keep this link handy. It has some good reading in it regarding the mobo. I believe the uguru version they settled on there is 3.109. There are newer versions, but just like drivers for other things, the newer ones are aimed at newer mobos.

Another thing to check b4 we go any further, so none of us look like chumps, u have got the cpu fan plugged in the cpu socket and not the sys socket on the mobo ?
Rastalovich, thanks for the confidence there matey

1. yes I have the CPU fan plugged into the CPU Fan1 pins on the mobo.

2. yes I have the latest version of the software on the system, the one you have mentioned.

I was reading on the hexus forums where they have a dedicated Abit support forum and someone suggested updating the system to the version 18 bios for the E0 stepping on the IP35 Pro... http://forums.hexus.net/abit-care-he...ml#post1721452

My proccy is the Q6600 G0 stepping

Does this make any sense? It fixed various issues for a couple of guys, albeit they have different processors but if its for the IP35 Pro it must be OK? Its not even listed on the Abit site... but the naming convention is the same as the other IP35 Pro bios updates... you can see it here:

http://forums.hexus.net/abit-care-he...-stepping.html

Is this worth giving a go? I can see its listed for the IP 35 Pro, but its under the E0 stepping and I'm concerned it won't work on my processor (but again the first thread I posted looks like the processors mentioned were similar).

Is this worth a go?? I realised that the only other common thing between my problems from Vista to Windows 7 is that this board has been at bios update 17 for a long time. Maybe its a BIOS incompatibility? Failing the above BIOS if you think its a bad idea, I could always back down to version 16?



Thanks man..

PS Cheers Matt, I'll make sure its all just tweaked in the BIOS. I keep hearing mixed things about the uGuru software... I'll leave it be for the time being, especially if part of it is freezing my system lolz

Alex

EDIT**********************

It looks as though these are new bios's to support the use of the E0 stepping, so should be OK on the G0 stepping. Reading the thread the problems encountered seem to be by people with E0 processors. People have said they work fine on other stepping so I'm thinking of giving this a go. I have the current v17 bios on a bootable flash drive should I need to step back.

Any suggestions? Cheers guys!
__________________
Gigabyte Z77 D3H
i7 3770k
XFX 7950 Ghost edition
16Gb Crucial RAM
650W PSU
Silverstone TJ09B Black
G15 & G500
BenQ XL2420T
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26-08-09, 12:25 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
Well it aint the latest, I think the ix48 came with 3.114 or similar, but as far as the P35 Pro is concerned, I believe the 3.109 is the better one for it.

Good, the cables are in ok hehe

One thing to add also is that there is a known issue with some IP35 Pros in that the fan speeds do screw up after being on for a while. Where u have to power down the mobo and even unplug from the mains, press the on button until all the leds go out - and then it works properly when u turn it back on.

The problem here I believe is that it runs the fans at full speed, even when the cpu goes cool, so I don't think u need to worry about this.

Think the P35 Pro I have at home has a Q6600 G0 in it atm and is running fine with the fans (although I know it's reporting the temps 10 degrees out from what they should be) - but massaging the uguru, I got it working how I wanted.

I'll need to check the menus of the uguru as I make another reply, just to be sure u got everything selected properly.

In the meantime, u can make a fool-proof check by clicking on the setup button, goto the fan control. Select the cpufan from the drop-down, and put both the min/max fan speeds at 100%. In theory this should make the fan run at 100% no matter what.

If it doesn't, then we should scratch our heads.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26-08-09, 01:01 PM
hawkinsa21 hawkinsa21 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 230
LOLZ thanks Rast... you won't believe this. I've just gone back to my PC to try that in uGuru, and the damn thing is running at full 1320rpm!

But, this is idling so won't drop back to what I had before! What on earth is going on?!?!?1ONE!!1

What are your opinions on the BIOS update to v18?

PS I read about the strange high fan speeds as well with the full power off fix... odd one!
__________________
Gigabyte Z77 D3H
i7 3770k
XFX 7950 Ghost edition
16Gb Crucial RAM
650W PSU
Silverstone TJ09B Black
G15 & G500
BenQ XL2420T
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 12:37 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.