Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D Reviews & Videos
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 17-08-09, 09:54 AM
JN JN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,678
OC3D Review: AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE

"With a 200MHz speed increase, can AMD's latest Phenom II CPU offer anything more than its predecessors?"



AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 17-08-09, 11:07 AM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
A predictable outcome, but a step in the right direction none-the-less. I keep getting tempted to pick up an AMD CPU just for the sheer hell of it, but other stuff tends to get priorities

Good review
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17-08-09, 11:09 AM
mayhem mayhem is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,285
Well thought out set of phrases.

Nice review all though the cpu is not just yet my cup of tee, how ever i will sing a song of Boom Boom Boom Let me way Eh Oh !!!!!! Or was it just a fizz and pop when it blew

nice to see you pushing it to its own demise .. are you going to get a new sample to play with.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17-08-09, 12:00 PM
JN JN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,678
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='mayhem'

nice to see you pushing it to its own demise .. are you going to get a new sample to play with.
Really hoping so as 4.1GHz felt achievable even on the basic Gigabyte board that was used. Even more interesting than the max oc will be what results it gets at 4-4.1ghz
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17-08-09, 12:04 PM
Mul. Mul. is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 492
It was very unfortunate that it bit the dust so prematurely. I was surprised because I and many others have pushed AMD Phenom II CPU's past 1.50V on air without any sign of it causing any damage. Overclocked performance would have been something particularly interesting to see as I've found that these processors scale rather well with clock speed increases especially with ramped up northbridge frequencies and DDR3. As I mentioned before, it's also quite well known for the Phenom II to overclock as much as 200MHz less on a 64bit operating system than on a 32bit OS.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17-08-09, 02:45 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
It's a little more unfortunate that the E8400/ROG-P45/DDR2 was used as the C2D comparison.

Not that it'd obviously stake any claims to outperform anything, but mentioning a Q9550 - that would have been nice. And a X48 DDR3 sporting mobo too, atleast a P45 DDR3 - particularly when emphasis is made on artificial benchmarks.

I personally see 775 as still a viable option.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18-08-09, 02:51 PM
Bungral Bungral is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4,385
Good review and nice to see the AMD benches.

Quick question though.. How can this be mentioned in the conclusion good and bad bit without actually testing said CPU against it?:

Quote:
"Comfortably outperforms it's comparatively priced rival, the Core 2 Quad Q9550."
Would have been good to see it pitched against a proccy like that though as Rast said.
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4700mhz - 47 x 100MHz Mobo: MSI P67A GD65 GPU: EVGA GTX 570 RAM: 2 x 4GB Mushkin LV 1.35v 1600MHz DDR3 HDD: 3 x 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3's Case: CoolerMaster ATCS 840 - Custom House of Kolor paint job. PSU: Corsair HX750 Cooling: Custom WC - XSPC Delta V3, PA120.3, DDC Ultra with XSPC Res Top, 3/8" XSPC UV Green Tubing over 1/2" Barbs OS: Windows 7 Enterprise Edition 64-Bit
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18-08-09, 10:48 PM
Mul. Mul. is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 492
Based upon experience when handling Phenom II's at 3.2GHz and upwards. It's well known that at these speeds they do indeed outpace the Q9550 but I certainly see where you're coming from as what's been said has little to do with the findings based on the Core 2 Duo and Core i7 used. Perhaps that point is worth ammending
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 19-08-09, 09:00 PM
Hassan Hassan is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 783
I'm considering buying an AMD machine at the moment, I might go for this chip. I'll just wait a bit longer and see if anything comes along
__________________
A mod changed my signature because it was too big. Tutt-tutt
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 24-08-09, 02:31 AM
kd4kzz kd4kzz is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
Amd

Planning on building my third PC. I really would like to try an AMD Phenom II instead of the Intel i7. I have only built intel systems. And hope to try my hand at water cooling as well.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 09:13 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.