Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Software Section > OS & Apps
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 21-07-09, 09:31 PM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
Partition query

My Windows partition is massively full but I have shrunk the other partition (using windows disc management) to free up 10gb extra space on the physical disc

Can I now allocate that space to windows? And if so, what program will do that? Partition magic does it I believe but it's like $70.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance folks

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21-07-09, 09:34 PM
Bungral Bungral is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4,385
Is there not a trial of Partition Magic? I use that at work and it's pretty good.

Scrub that, this looks pretty good: Linky

Looks exactly like Partition Magic.
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4700mhz - 47 x 100MHz Mobo: MSI P67A GD65 GPU: EVGA GTX 570 RAM: 2 x 4GB Mushkin LV 1.35v 1600MHz DDR3 HDD: 3 x 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3's Case: CoolerMaster ATCS 840 - Custom House of Kolor paint job. PSU: Corsair HX750 Cooling: Custom WC - XSPC Delta V3, PA120.3, DDC Ultra with XSPC Res Top, 3/8" XSPC UV Green Tubing over 1/2" Barbs OS: Windows 7 Enterprise Edition 64-Bit
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22-07-09, 09:23 AM
nunzio nunzio is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 774
Just get a ubuntu live cd and use gpartd its free and does the job
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22-07-09, 09:42 AM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Bungral'
Is there not a trial of Partition Magic? I use that at work and it's pretty good.

Scrub that, this looks pretty good: Linky

Looks exactly like Partition Magic.
Go no cigar, d't work on Vista 64. I tried Acronic Disc Tools but they just seemed to try and bugger it up

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='nunzio'
Just get a ubuntu live cd and use gpartd its free and does the job
Hmm may have a look at that.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22-07-09, 10:11 AM
nepas's Avatar
nepas nepas is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,657
Can you not just extend your windows partition using the disc management ?just right click your Windows partition and select extend.
__________________
reserved,this space will host my BC2 sig,once I learn to shoot,err scratch that,when I learn to stop getting shot
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22-07-09, 10:28 AM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
No I can't due to the fact it's the OS partition
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22-07-09, 11:21 AM
nepas's Avatar
nepas nepas is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,657
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
No I can't due to the fact it's the OS partition
Strange,I just tried it with mine and it worked.
__________________
reserved,this space will host my BC2 sig,once I learn to shoot,err scratch that,when I learn to stop getting shot
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 22-07-09, 11:28 AM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
Doesn't work here. Hmm Maybe I'll switch to Admin account (even though my account is set to admin)

Attached Images
File Type: jpg Untitled-1.jpg (77.5 KB, 14 views)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 22-07-09, 11:46 AM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,418
It may be cos of the way the partition is created originally.

I'd take a look at DISKPART from booting from the install dvd and going through the repair options.

Getting to use this DISKPART for a few management based things, it would be a good idea to google it and read up on all the commands cos it's pretty feature rich.

Ofc.. u need to type everything..

But going back to the start, if ur partitions are created as all primary (I think it is) then u may be out of luck. If they're primary with the rest of them extended, u can move stuff about.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 22-07-09, 12:16 PM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
Just tidying up the other half of the partition and moving it over to my storage drive. I'll then copy the entire image and re-image the disc with it in a bigger partition.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 01:41 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.