Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Graphics Cards
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 14-07-09, 07:14 PM
namya namya is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 30
gtx 275 pcie problem!!!

hello all, finally i got my new system and working now, asus p6t deluxe oc palm board and evga gtx 275 ftw vga. i ordered this board for the existence of 2 pci slots (creative audigy 2 zs and kworld tv tuner already have them). unfortunatly when i put the gtx in the board, one of the pci slots get covered and unusable, now i have one of 2 solutions:

1- remove the creative sound card and install just the tv tuner with the sound max onboard sound.

2- remove the gtx vga from the first pcie slot, and put it in the second pcie slot, this way i can have 2 pci slots free for both, tv and sound.

the first choice is good for the vga but not good for the sound, since soundmax cant beat the audigy 2, and i got a very different experince in the sound.

the second choice is good for everything, but from what asus said about the board, is that in the single vga mode, the first pcie run as 16x, but the second run as 8x, so in the second choice i have to reduce the vga from 16x to 8x.

now the question is, what if i got 8x instead of 16x, is it a big difference? should i notice it? my work and use for the pc is 3d modeling, photoshop and cad use, should the 8x affect my work or slow it down, or should i notice it?

thanks for anyhelp and suggestions.

N.B.: this problem turn around the existing hardwares, i dont want to change or buy new hardware, just need to solve it by the existing items.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14-07-09, 10:47 PM
namya namya is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 30
bump
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15-07-09, 12:06 AM
Freak Freak is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 951
With that card i would think that you would suffer a hit.

Though I think what asus are on about is using two cards.

Wen using one it doesnt matter what slot your using.
__________________
Asus Sabertooth x58 | Intel i7 950 1366 | EVGA GTX 570 | Corsair cmx12gx3m3a1600c9 9-9-9-24 1600mhz 1.65v | Noctua NH-U12P | Corsair TX850 | Antec 300
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15-07-09, 12:21 AM
Ham Ham is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,981
As long as the bottom slot is full X16, and there is nothing in the top slot then you shouldn't bottleneck your card.

I've run a few systems like this with no trouble.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15-07-09, 12:35 AM
namya namya is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 30
so are you with putting the card in the second slot??? any help? i didnt got it
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15-07-09, 01:36 AM
Ham Ham is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,981
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='namya'
so are you with putting the card in the second slot??? any help? i didnt got it
Yes, do that.

Then run a program called GPU-Z and it will tell you if its operating correctly.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15-07-09, 07:42 AM
bbcake009 bbcake009 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 115
3. remove the heatsink cooler of the two graphic cards...
__________________


current spec:

E8400 @ 3.6 1:1 ratio

dual boot 32 bit & 64 bit vista sp1

G-skill 2X2 4-4-4-9 @ 2.0 volt

DFI Lanparty X38 T2r

5 HDD no raid

300,320,500,750,1000gig

7900gs

24 inch 1900X1200 HP monitor

x-finity 500watts sli psu
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15-07-09, 10:49 AM
theelusiveyoda theelusiveyoda is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 125
i have to agree with others try it in the second slot and use gpu z
__________________
Intel Q9450 @ 3.6ghz

Asus Rampage Formula X48

OCZ Reaper X HPC 1066MHZ

ATI 3870X2

1TB SAMSUNG F1

500GB SEAGATE BARACUDA

SILVERSTONE OLYMPIA 1000WATT PSU

Samsung SyncMaster 2233

Gigabyte 3D Aurora soon to be Lian Li V2100 with full wc setup
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 15-07-09, 08:09 PM
Freak Freak is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='bbcake009'
3. remove the heatsink cooler of the two graphic cards...
Hmm smoked card ne one?
__________________
Asus Sabertooth x58 | Intel i7 950 1366 | EVGA GTX 570 | Corsair cmx12gx3m3a1600c9 9-9-9-24 1600mhz 1.65v | Noctua NH-U12P | Corsair TX850 | Antec 300
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 15-07-09, 08:27 PM
namya namya is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 30
i did changed the slot to the second, using gpuz in both slots, nothing changes as readings, even temps are similar.

using fraps i didnt know really how to compare benchmarks numbers since it's a long list, but the frame rate is always hitting 60 and maybe surpass it coz numbers (in the 2 digits) are changing very fast so i cant recognize the frame rate.

finally playing with call of duty waw, i didnt noticed any differenec, from a playing point of view, and i used a heavy model in lightwave and modo, in both situation also, and no diference, so i will put it in the second slot, and get back to my lovely audigy sound, believe me if you see the application for sound max and if you hear it, and comparing to audigy then you will know how much m suffering.

thanks for all your helps and comments. now a new mission to find a vista 64 audigy 2 zs drivers.......
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 02:37 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.