Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Cooling Forum > Air Cooling
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 28-06-09, 12:37 PM
MarkW7 MarkW7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 177
Need a cool for Quad.

Hi all

I'm making a new PC and have decided to go with a Quad; (Probably Q6700) Unless it's terrible and there's something better?

I have a feeling it's going to get hot understock so i'm looking for an aftermarket cooler.

Any ideas?

Budget £20ish. ;Any good?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28-06-09, 12:46 PM
Ghosthud1's Avatar
Ghosthud1 Ghosthud1 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Huddersfield
Posts: 2,012
eerghhh £20 is not really a great budget for a quad if you could stretch a couple of quid you can pick up this http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Coole...D-AM2754939940
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28-06-09, 12:47 PM
MarkW7 MarkW7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 177
I could stretch to £30
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28-06-09, 12:52 PM
Diablo Diablo is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Manchester/ Oxford Uni
Posts: 1,524
I might suggest the OCZ Vendetta II, but you may wish to stretch to a TRUE or similar
__________________

i7 3930K 4.5GHz -EK Supreme HF- Rampage IV Extreme EK Blocks - 32GB 1600MHz RAM - 680GTX SLI Koolance Blocks - Creative Titanium Pro - TJ07B-W - TCubed BigNG - 240GB SSD - 3TB HD - Dual Loop
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28-06-09, 01:38 PM
MarkW7 MarkW7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 177
Theres so many and they all look the same.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28-06-09, 02:41 PM
nepas nepas is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,573
http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Xigma...0mm-LED-cooler 31quid
__________________
reserved,this space will host my BC2 sig,once I learn to shoot,err scratch that,when I learn to stop getting shot
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28-06-09, 03:42 PM
rapidman17 rapidman17 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 280
also see if you can get something rather than the q6700.... ideally from the Q9xx series as they are def better....
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28-06-09, 04:59 PM
MarkW7 MarkW7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 177
The Q9's are a little expensive would a Q8400 be better than a Q6700.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 28-06-09, 05:01 PM
rapidman17 rapidman17 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='MarkW7'
The Q9's are a little expensive would a Q8400 be better than a Q6700.
They ar not bad, but the q9xx chips go for around 130-150 on ebay sometimes..if you are patient you can def pick one up for cheap
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 28-06-09, 05:02 PM
MarkW7 MarkW7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 177
Which is better out of a Q6700 and Q8400
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 07:06 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.