Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 06-06-09, 07:14 PM
dlads dlads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 189
Snapped PCE31 thingit

I was clipping back an IDE cable and i noticed that id pushed a piece of the motherboard down a little bit too far and it would seem that i have snapped it off, now the pc will not even show up the bios or anything else for that matter.

Power is still getting around the system as the fans all light up and the HDD kicks in but alas, no picture, it just will not get to POST.

Does anyone have any idea what i can do second to buying a new motherboard which i will be buying soon anyway??

Spec:

Winxp sp3

AMD athlon 64 3700+ 2.2ghz (san diego)

ASUS A8N5X

2.5 gig DDR RAM

gforce 8800GS

two 500 gig HDD's

Standard case with two one outtake fans.

400W PSU.

Just like to ask also, would soldering the piece back on make any difference.

Ah yea the piece looks like a small cylinder its black with silver writing on it and its about 1 inch long and about 2mm wide it has PCE31 written on the MOBO next to it ( i presume this is what its called), it has two small metal pieces which hold it down to the Mobo, and only one of these has popped out, i tried to put it back in but it still didnt work.

Any help on this would be a lifesaver.

Thanks in advance.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-06-09, 09:14 PM
BloomerzUK BloomerzUK is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via MSN to BloomerzUK
Seems like you ripped a capacitor off. I wouldn't solder it back on, will make a mess. Just wait and get a new motherboard.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-06-09, 09:39 PM
zak4994 zak4994 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, United Kingdom
Posts: 3,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='BloomerzUK'
Seems like you ripped a capacitor off. I wouldn't solder it back on, will make a mess. Just wait and get a new motherboard.
Agreed.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-06-09, 10:20 PM
dlads dlads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 189
Ok thanks for that, I cant believe i did this, i feel like such an idiot.

I've also got a couple of other threads on this site because i'm going to be making my own pc soon I am completely open to suggestions on this, i dont mind if its AMD or Intel, i just want it to be able to be overclocked to 4ghz.

My price bracket is just on £300, i already have a HDD and a GPU, any ideas??

Oh and do you think that capacitor not being on there might have shorted the cpu out or any of the ram modules?? i hope not, or even the HD omg nooooo.

Thanks again and i agree i'm not going to bother soldering anything either.

:-(
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-06-09, 11:43 PM
BloomerzUK BloomerzUK is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via MSN to BloomerzUK
Firstly, you want to go Intel.

Secondly, why do you want to go to 4GHz, you will need sufficent cooling, and it may be a ballsache to achieve, without the proper hardware

I highly doubt the broken mobo part would of caused additional damage to the rest of your hardware, especially the HDD.

As Spec goes, you want a Case, Mobo, CPU, PSU for £300 or just Mobo and CPU?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-06-09, 12:22 PM
dlads dlads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 189
Ok, sorry for the time its taken to get back to you, im just going to get a phenom 2 x4 black edition 3.0ghz with a 790gx board (i think thats what its called) and ill update my case and psu accordingly the month after. i know where im going now, i was going to get a e8500 but ive decided against it now.

whatim going to do is buy a new case and some ddr2 ram for the mobo ill be getting in july, then on payday in july ill get the phenom and 790gx, and maybe the psu if the one ive got won't handle it.

Also do you think the mobo is repairable, i mean i snapped off one of the two piece of metal on the underside of the capacitor, what damage do you think it would cause? Like i said before the pc will just not post, but power is getting around the mobo to all other devices, Lights on mobo, Fans (with lights) Hdd's, GPU.

I'll just put that down to a learning experience, an move on.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-06-09, 12:28 PM
Lynx's Avatar
Lynx Lynx is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Inverness, Scotland
Posts: 927
Why decide against a e8500, that would hit 4 with air.. good luck with the phenom..
__________________
Corsair Air 540 / i5 4670K @4200 / Gigabyte G1.Sniper Z87 / Corsair Vengeance LP Green 8GB @1600 / Asus HD7970-DC2T @1125|1575 / 2x OCZ Agility 3 120GB (Raid 0)/ Corsair CX500M / Windows 8.1 Pro
XSPC EX360 / DDC-1T Plus / XSPC Dual Bay / XSPC Raystorm / EK HD7970 FC / 16/13 Compressions & Hosing / Mayhems Pastel Mint Green
AOC G2460PQU 144hz 24" / Logitech G13 / Corsair M90 / Cheap ass keyboard
Asus N550LF : i5 4200U / Kingston 6GB / GT 745M / 500GB HDD / Windows 8.1 / 15.6" Touchscreen
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-06-09, 12:32 PM
k4p84 k4p84 is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 619
You can solder back on capacitors or replace them.

Only do it of you know hoe but there is no guarantee that the damage has not already been done to the board by powering it up etc.

I would be more than happy to solderer it back on for you if you cover the p+p, though as above i do not guarantee that the board will still function.

Can you post a pic so we can tell whether you have snapped the leg off from the board or pulled it out of the capacitors base

ED
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-06-09, 01:53 PM
dlads dlads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 189
I've pulled it out of the board itself and i have powered it up, only one of the links have snapped out, the other is still in, I am leaning towards the side of i HAVE done some damage to the board, but i will be buying another pc soon so its a case of waiting if i cant, and to Lynx?! ho easy was it to OC your cpu to 4ghz??

If i could do that then i would, your swaying me towards intel now. GRRRRRRRR lol i hate these uneducated decisions i have to make like this.

Please can you advise me what you would pick between the CPU you have and the one i want / ed.

Thanks for the help lads.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-06-09, 01:54 PM
dlads dlads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 189
Oh and i can solder just fine, i just thought it might have been a waste of time and i'm sure i could pick up a capacitor at maplin or somewhere, only if it was viable to do so and i wasn't wasting my time.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 08:33 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.