Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Screens and Displays
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 26-05-09, 12:33 PM
asustek asustek is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
HD Monitor question

Hi guys... As you can see i'm a new face here and i apologise if my question has already been discussed in this forum...

Well, i'm a enthusiast gamer but i also like watching movies in blu-ray and hd formats. So, if i buy 'HD Ready' monitor for my pc, can it reduce the graphics level or FPS level in games, or not ?

Thanks in advance

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 26-05-09, 01:51 PM
deathwish deathwish is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,145
The monitor its self won't drop your fps though if you raise the resolution that you play games on this will

if you are currently using 1440x900 and you get a new monitor that suports a higher resolution you will notice a drop in fps the higher the resolution you use

if you use a high end card you proberly won't notice such a performance drop at higher resolutions

Quote:
CPU Make

Intel

GPU Make

Nvidia

CPU

Core i7 920

Motherboard

DFI LP DK X58

Graphics Card

Zotac GTX 285 x2 in SLI

Memory

Corsair Dominator GT 6GB
i dont think you got mutch to worry about
__________________
There are 10 types of people in the world those who understand binary and those who dont

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Is it wrong that I'm enjoying this
-----------------------------------------------------------

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26-05-09, 01:56 PM
I Hunta x's Avatar
I Hunta x I Hunta x is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 1,784
If your using a bigger monitor more graphics ram wouldnt hurt either to keep your fps up, 1gb > 512mb but on smaller monitors no real difference
__________________
i7 970 - NH-D14 | Gigabyte x58a-oc | Corsair AX850 | CM Cosmos S
4x4Gb Samsung Green 1.3v in 3+1 Tri Channel - 1900Mhz c10 | SLI GTX 580 | Samsung Evo 250GB - 1GB/s
-Need to fit-
Xspc Rasa | Phobya G-Changer 240 + 360 | Phobya dc12-400 | 7x Orange Xigmatek XLF 120mm
| 2x EK 580 blocks | Alphacool Copper fittings

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26-05-09, 01:59 PM
deathwish deathwish is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,145
Yes that true

285's have 1gb per card so plenty of memory
__________________
There are 10 types of people in the world those who understand binary and those who dont

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Is it wrong that I'm enjoying this
-----------------------------------------------------------

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26-05-09, 08:33 PM
zak4994 zak4994 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, United Kingdom
Posts: 3,053
Mate your PC will be fine...

'nuff said.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 04:50 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.