Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 13-05-09, 11:51 PM
medic13 medic13 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: carthage
Posts: 28
UpGrading my sysytem

well finally got my state tax check putting it to use going to do upgrade>

hears the basic parts:

hard drive: WD VelociRaptor 300GB Hard Drive WD3000HLFS - 10K RPM, 16MB Cache, SATA 300MB

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...125&CatId=2458

mother board: ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 Motherboard - LGA1366, Intel X58, Triple Channel DDR3, 6.4GT/s QPI, SLI Ready, CrossFireX Ready, SATA, Hyperthreading

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...418&CatId=4070

Processor:Intel Core i7 940 Processor / Memory Bundle - 2.93GHz, 8MB L3 Cache, 4.8GT/s QPI, LGA 1366, Retail, Fan, 1333MHz, 6144MB (3 x 2048)

case:

Cooler Master HAF 932 Full Tower Black Case

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...085&CatId=1510

going to use my old power supply 1000 watt and old video card 260 nividea card .

so I have a good system also bought the 64bit vista ultamate

my question once I build this how hard is this going to be get my email , some of my programs and documents pictures ect carried over to my new system

. can anyone make any recomendation this going to be my first major build.

__________________
Case: NZXT Phantom ,Corsair HX 1000W PS
ASUS P8P67 PRO Intel I7 3.4
Kingston XMP 1600 16 GB EVGA G force 580
2 DVDRW Hard drives 2 WD raptor sata 150 GB
Windows vista ultimate
Samsung .226BW
.windows 7 ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14-05-09, 08:11 AM
°TheMadDutchDude° °TheMadDutchDude° is offline
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 840
Save your money and get a 920. Just buy a decent cooler and overclock the beast! Be sure to get the D0 stepping though.

Save your money on the WD Raptor, get an SSD instead. They're much faster but you get less space. I'd get a 32/64GB SSD for your OS and apps and another 500GB (or two for RAID1, for redundancy) for games and storage.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14-05-09, 11:19 AM
f0x. f0x. is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Norhern Ireland
Posts: 324
Send a message via MSN to f0x.
Your pc

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='°TheMadDutchDude°'
Save your money and get a 920. Just buy a decent cooler and overclock the beast! Be sure to get the D0 stepping though.

Save your money on the WD Raptor, get an SSD instead. They're much faster but you get less space. I'd get a 32/64GB SSD for your OS and apps and another 500GB (or two for RAID1, for redundancy) for games and storage.
Agreed. Should be a beast of a pc
__________________
Main rig: Nautilus

CPU: Q9550 @ 3.6ghz RAM: 4gb GSKILL DDR3 BFG GTX 295

PSU: Inwin Commando 1500w SND: Creative X-FI 2

HDD: 120gb OCZ Vertex SSD with 1TB WD (Storage)

Cooling: Custom CPU Loop with XSPC Edge V1 Block
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14-05-09, 12:21 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is online now
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 15,791
As far as the programs are concerned you will have to save/export the settings, reinstall the programs on the new 64bit(if they work) and then import the settings again.

Youll soon get used to reinstalling
__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14-05-09, 02:27 PM
limpkorn limpkorn is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 80
Very nice, I agree with the 920 D0 revision! You should really scratch off the 940 and put the extra money towards a second GTX260.

I wouldn't get the SSD unless you don't use a lot of space. I have a couple of WD Velociraptors in Raid 0 and I'll tell you it's fast. I install my OS main programs and games on my 500+GB of fast space and everything loads up quickly and runs smoothly. All my music, pictures, videos, downloaded demos, documents, etc., etc. go on to my 1TB drive.

If you're not much in to the SLI idea and again like the flexibility of the space with the Velociraptors then get a second raptor with the money you save from the 940 and get yourself going on a raid 0 setup.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17-05-09, 04:18 PM
medic13 medic13 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: carthage
Posts: 28
ok have never done the raid thing wear can I find more info on that
__________________
Case: NZXT Phantom ,Corsair HX 1000W PS
ASUS P8P67 PRO Intel I7 3.4
Kingston XMP 1600 16 GB EVGA G force 580
2 DVDRW Hard drives 2 WD raptor sata 150 GB
Windows vista ultimate
Samsung .226BW
.windows 7 ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18-05-09, 02:57 PM
limpkorn limpkorn is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='medic13'
ok have never done the raid thing wear can I find more info on that
This is a great article on RAID, not the roach killer, but the HDD array setup.

http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleID=830
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 07:53 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.