Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Overclocking
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 27-04-09, 06:56 PM
yiannis667 yiannis667 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 46
Need help with overclocking :o)

Need help from those OVERCLOCKERS that know what they are doing My system : Case Armor+ LCS Super Tower,Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 3.16Ghz Liquid Cooled,Kingston Value RaM 2 X 2 GB ddr2 800 mhz 5-5-5-18 with DOMINATOR AIR FLOW X 3 fans, Nvidia gt9600 1gb Overclocked,MOTHERBOARD GA-3G41MF-S2H F3 BIOS. I am trying to OVERCLOCK CPU but i cant go above 343 x 9.5 fsb (3.26 ghz) without having the system reboot and restore default settings.I am really new into this so my guess is that i have to manually change settings to achieve overclocking above these values...Which i dont know how to do,or where to start.My bios has 500 sub menus for memory timings,Cpu Voltages etc and messed around with them but no luck at all.With bios default values i can change cpu fsb from 333 x 9.5 3.16 ghz to 343 x 9.5 3.26 ghz and memory clock will automatically go to 823 mhz ? and everything will work fine.But thats as far that i can go.Can someone really give me detailed info on what to do , speaking numbers and really detailed info ? Why is my system restoring default values and wont boot if i raise cpu fsb above 343 x 9.5 ? I cant even go to 344 x 9.5 Plz help , will really appreciate any effort Thank you

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 27-04-09, 08:30 PM
Thanh55 Thanh55 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 369
I tried to google your board but didn't success so a few thing you shoud do is:

- Lower CPU multiplier to 6 and up FSB unstill your pc not stable (up NB voltage, FSB voltade will help your pc stable). E'rytime do that always check the RAM ratio, make sure it DOESN'T above 800Mhz (I think your RAM is not good for overclock)

- Record the highest FSB you can reach and change the CPU multipier to 9 and start again with CPU voltage up more like 1.3v should help CPU reach 3.6Ghz if your board can reach 400Mhz FSB.

Read more deatil here will help you more: http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=7110.

Another way if I were you, sell the mother board and memory, buy a good board and memory to over**** if you keen on. Good luck mate and welcome to OC3D anyway
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27-04-09, 09:00 PM
yiannis667 yiannis667 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 46
i hear you buddy ! my case itself costs 4 times the value of that $#@$ of %$$@# motherboard Gigabyte mobos are kinda weird , i cant even put 8 gb of double sided memory in it it wont post ! i can oc memory by itself up to 915 mhz so far but no luck with cpu oc . which option is the nb voltage ? my bios shows these options for motherboard voltage control : cpu vcore , cpu termination , cpu reference , mch/ich core , dram voltage Thank you for your help so far , i really appreciate it
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27-04-09, 09:47 PM
Diablo Diablo is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Manchester/ Oxford Uni
Posts: 1,524
If you could take a photo of the screen with the voltage options, that would be really helpful.
__________________

i7 3930K 4.5GHz -EK Supreme HF- Rampage IV Extreme EK Blocks - 32GB 1600MHz RAM - 680GTX SLI Koolance Blocks - Creative Titanium Pro - TJ07B-W - TCubed BigNG - 240GB SSD - 3TB HD - Dual Loop
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28-04-09, 02:42 PM
yiannis667 yiannis667 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='diablo'
if you could take a photo of the screen with the voltage options, that would be really helpful.
i include pics of bios settings , with these settings it wont boot ( and with lower voltage settings ) thxDSC_0047.jpg

DSC_0048.jpg

DSC_0049.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28-04-09, 03:13 PM
Mul. Mul. is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 492
400FSB could well be too much of a push for your G41 motherboard.

You've done the right thing by setting your system memory multiplier to 2.0x. Now it's a matter of working out the optimal CPU frequency.

Start from the base 333FSB and increase in 10MHz increments, 340, 350, 360 and so on. Carefully observe the behaviour of your system every time you increase the FSB and run a stability test for a few minutes (say Prime95) to rat out serious instability. In the event of a BSOD or restart, try raising the MCH volts of your motherboard slightly. Ensure that integrated graphics is disabled too. As I say, I suspect your G41 based motherboard is the limiting factor here but let's see how it goes.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28-04-09, 04:03 PM
Freak Freak is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 951
To see if its the mobo, use a low memory divider so that it underclocks. The same with your cpu. Then up the fsb till it will not post. I believe that being stressed wont do much for the fsb stabiliyt.
__________________
Asus Sabertooth x58 | Intel i7 950 1366 | EVGA GTX 570 | Corsair cmx12gx3m3a1600c9 9-9-9-24 1600mhz 1.65v | Noctua NH-U12P | Corsair TX850 | Antec 300
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28-04-09, 04:16 PM
Mul. Mul. is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 492
He's already using a system memory multi of 2.0x. That's 1:1 in generic terms and as I understand, these intel chipset boards don't allow for dividers that run memory at a slower frequency to the base fsb clock.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 28-04-09, 04:32 PM
Ham Ham is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,981
Using the 400 strap (called MCH Latch) there will eliminate another option.

Also with 1.4v going through the NB make sure its not overheating. Toutch the HS and if its warm/burns you get a fan on it. Dont trust software/bios readings.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 28-04-09, 09:18 PM
Thanh55 Thanh55 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 369
NB voltage in your case is "mch/ich core". You should start overclock again from scratch. Base on those pics you should lower CPU Clock Ratio to 6, Fine CPU Clock Ratio to Auto or 0, CPU vcore to Auto, keep everything else the same and check your pc boost or not. If its boost run prime95 or Orthos for 30' to check your pc stable or not. If its won't boost go back to BIOS and lower FSB to 395 and check again. Do it unstil your pc stable. We wil go to next step if you find out how far FSB you have got. Good luck mate
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 04:02 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.