Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Cases & Power
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 22-04-09, 07:03 PM
kevindd992002 kevindd992002 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 26
Best Modular PSU for my build

Approximately, how many watts is needed for this setup and what is the best brand to get (preferabbly modular):

gigabyte ga-ep45-ud3p

q6600 (plan to max overclock)

ocz vendetta 2 cpu cooler

gtx 295 pcie card

1 m-audio revolution 7.1 pci sound card

1 IDE lg blu-ray internal drive

2 x 7200 rpm 320gb hdd sataII

1 usb printer

1 usb external dvd-ram

1 usb mouse

1 usb external 320gb hdd

1 ps/2 keyboard

1 firewire 4-pin 1394 device

There are 3 fans in my Lian Li case. I don't exactly know their dimensions but 1 is in the back, 1 is in front, 1 is in the top of the case. I think the ones in the front and in the back are of the same size and the one in the top side has the size of a cpu cooler fan.

I'm aiming for an 850Watts Modular, if that's correct, but I don't know which brand is good. The Corsair TX850W is good but is non-modular.

I hope you can help me on this. Thanks.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 22-04-09, 07:26 PM
ali_james ali_james is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 516
You're looking at something around 600 watts which will handle that rig nicely.

In terms of brands Coolermaster, Corsair, OCZ and Seasonic make some very nice units.
__________________
Q6600 G0. IP35-Pro. 8800 GT. Zippy 600W.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22-04-09, 07:29 PM
kevindd992002 kevindd992002 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 26
Yup but I think I can handle 850W for futureproofing

Is Enermax in the game? I'm liking their modular PSUs which can reach up to 90% efficiency based on the Anandtech reviews.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22-04-09, 07:35 PM
Ham Ham is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,981
Coolermaster Real Power 850w is a fantastic unit.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22-04-09, 07:39 PM
f0x. f0x. is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Norhern Ireland
Posts: 324
Send a message via MSN to f0x.
pc

Nice build mate, but willa q6600 really push a gtx 295?
__________________
Main rig: Nautilus

CPU: Q9550 @ 3.6ghz RAM: 4gb GSKILL DDR3 BFG GTX 295

PSU: Inwin Commando 1500w SND: Creative X-FI 2

HDD: 120gb OCZ Vertex SSD with 1TB WD (Storage)

Cooling: Custom CPU Loop with XSPC Edge V1 Block
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22-04-09, 07:43 PM
kevindd992002 kevindd992002 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 26
What do you mean? You mean the power of the Q6600 can't push the GTX 295 to its limits?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22-04-09, 07:45 PM
f0x. f0x. is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Norhern Ireland
Posts: 324
Send a message via MSN to f0x.
Pretty much, from any benchs i have have seen, the q6600 couldnt even push a 4870x2 to its limits, i just think his budget would be better spent on another aspect of his machine is all im saying
__________________
Main rig: Nautilus

CPU: Q9550 @ 3.6ghz RAM: 4gb GSKILL DDR3 BFG GTX 295

PSU: Inwin Commando 1500w SND: Creative X-FI 2

HDD: 120gb OCZ Vertex SSD with 1TB WD (Storage)

Cooling: Custom CPU Loop with XSPC Edge V1 Block
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 22-04-09, 07:51 PM
kevindd992002 kevindd992002 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 26
Even with an overclocked Q6600? I'm planning to overclock to about 3.5GHz, will that not do it?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 22-04-09, 07:55 PM
f0x. f0x. is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Norhern Ireland
Posts: 324
Send a message via MSN to f0x.
I dont think so mate, something more aloong the lines of a q9550 with a gtx260 55nm would give you all the power you need, what screen are you running?
__________________
Main rig: Nautilus

CPU: Q9550 @ 3.6ghz RAM: 4gb GSKILL DDR3 BFG GTX 295

PSU: Inwin Commando 1500w SND: Creative X-FI 2

HDD: 120gb OCZ Vertex SSD with 1TB WD (Storage)

Cooling: Custom CPU Loop with XSPC Edge V1 Block
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 22-04-09, 07:58 PM
Ham Ham is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,981
OT much?

Back on topic people!
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 10:02 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.