Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Memory
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 31-03-09, 11:55 AM
dcmille290a dcmille290a is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Totally confused, need help with DDR2

Hi everyone,

I have searched the forums, and the net until I feel my brain is going to melt. I have gotten a little help from Gigabyte, none from G Skill yet.

OK, built my 4th PC for my office as follows:

Gigabyte MA78GM-USH2

Ultra Durable3 Mobo, 1200 mhz, Dual Bios

AMD 9950 Quad Black Edition Quad

I bought 2 sticks of G. Skill 2 x 2G, 1066 Dual Chan., PC8500 DDR2

The following info comes off the label on the RAM:

F2-8500CL6D-4GBNQ 2GB x 2

CL6-6-6-18, 2.0v - 2.1v


Every test I have run shows my DDR2 as PC6400 Max 400Mhz. I don't know how or where to change settings.

CPU-Z shows the following:

DRAM Freq. 533Mhz

FSBRAM 3:8

CL 5.0 clocks

tRCD 7

tRP 7

tRAS 20

tRC 32

Command Rate 2T

Channels # Dual

DC Mode Unganged

NB Freq. 2009.2 Mhz


I just really want to see my Dual Channel running at the rated 1066Mhz or better, just cannot figure out how and can't seem to figure it out for myself.

Thanks everyone,

DC Miller

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 31-03-09, 01:24 PM
sprento sprento is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 384
Keep in mind that its DDR2 (i.e double data rate) so 2 X 533 = 1066.

As for the timings, have you tried going into your bios settings and manualy entering the timings, it's usually under 'advanced settings' ?
__________________
In total, more than 20 Buffalo Soldiers received the Medal of Honor, the highest of any United States military unit.

Here
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31-03-09, 07:11 PM
dcmille290a dcmille290a is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Sprento,

That's where the issue lies. I just don't understand what it is that needs to be changed. Should my readings (6-6-6-18) be entered in place of what CPU-Z shows me they are? (5-7-7-20)?

When I run AMD overdrive it will allow me change the settings manually, but the Latency number is greyed out at 5. Looks like I can change the others, just not sure it won't mess something up. Or should I do the changes in BIOS instead of AMD OD?

Let me ask this, should the numbers the PC sees, what's on my DDR2 RAM, match what CPU-Z says?

Thanks,

DC Miller
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31-03-09, 08:24 PM
sprento sprento is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 384
Do ALL changes in bios, it's the best way.

In the SPD page in CPU-Z, all your memory specs are on show, you may have to up the voltages in order to achieve the selected timings. Otherwise, just manually set the timings in bios.

In your bios, the reading for your RAM will be 1066, CPU-Z assumes we all know about the DDR calculation and displays it at 533 - nothing to worry about there. But yeah, enter the timings in bios and see what CPU-z displays after reboot.
__________________
In total, more than 20 Buffalo Soldiers received the Medal of Honor, the highest of any United States military unit.

Here
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 31-03-09, 08:31 PM
dcmille290a dcmille290a is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Thanks Sprento, I am off to twiddle with BIOS. If I disappear, you'll know I'm clearing CMOS.

Thanks again for your help,

DC Miller
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-04-09, 12:29 AM
dcmille290a dcmille290a is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
OK,,,,now I must have done something right, my numbers are better. Here are some screen shots for feedback from you experts.

I wasn't able to raise the tRC number higher than 42. That was the highest choice available. Does it make any difference?

I also noticed I am still seeing that my DDR2 is shown as PC6400? May not mean anything.

Thanks,

DC Miller
Attached Images
File Type: jpg memset.jpg (58.7 KB, 10 views)
File Type: jpg CPUZa.jpg (49.6 KB, 11 views)
File Type: jpg CPUZb.jpg (43.2 KB, 10 views)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-04-09, 12:42 AM
sprento sprento is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 384
I'm glad to hear your getting better results however, I don't have a fecking clue what a 'tRC' number is so I suggest you change it back before something goes wrong, or get a second opinion. Did you have to change any of the voltages and is your system stable ?
__________________
In total, more than 20 Buffalo Soldiers received the Medal of Honor, the highest of any United States military unit.

Here
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-04-09, 02:01 AM
dcmille290a dcmille290a is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Hey Sprento,

So far so good, stable as ever. I set the tRC at 42, auto had it at 32. I'll do a little digging and see what I can find.

Any opinion about seeing 47-50c on temps? Too high,.....OK?

I can't thank you enough for all of your help. I really appreciate it.

Any feedback on the images I posted with current readings?

Thanks,

DC Miller
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-04-09, 02:15 AM
dcmille290a dcmille290a is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Sorry, yes I dropped the VDDQ from 2.1V to 2.0

Thanks,

DC Miller
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-04-09, 12:42 PM
sprento sprento is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 384
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='dcmille290a'

Any opinion about seeing 47-50c on temps? Too high,.....OK?
I assume your talking about your cpu temps, if so then download CoreTemp

This will give you the most accurate temps for your system, run prime95 and check coretemp for readings under full load. It's also the best stability tester.

I don't have any experience of temps higher than 3.0 Ghz oc, so maybe post new thread relating to temps.
__________________
In total, more than 20 Buffalo Soldiers received the Medal of Honor, the highest of any United States military unit.

Here
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 08:31 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.