Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Screens and Displays
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 25-03-09, 08:08 PM
GavX GavX is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 778
24" Monitor - Help!

Right, my sister has come back from Aussie and wants her crappy 19" tv/monitor back So I am moving my Samsung 223BW onto the file server and looking for a new monitor for my gaming machine, ideally at least "one-up" from the 223BW.

I was thinking of going into the 24" market since the prices seem reasonable, 1920x1200 is tasty and will give my 4870 a work out, but monitors is not my strong point.

Budget is ~£250 but will pay more if it is really worth it (not going to pay £800 for example on one that is ace for photoshopping, wasted on me but £350 on a fantastic monitor for gaming I will give some thought to).

I honestly have no idea what to go for and what to avoid, so if anyone has any advise, much appreciated!

Anyway, time to give her this crappy "technika" and worry about what I am going to do

Cheers all!

Gav

__________________
Fail Hard, Fail Often!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25-03-09, 08:08 PM
Youngie1337 Youngie1337 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rugby
Posts: 2,620
http://www.play.com/PC/PCs/-/653/860...archtype=genre
__________________
My name is Dan.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25-03-09, 08:11 PM
Ham Ham is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,981
Two of these:

http://www.ebuyer.com/product/158908



Or if you only want the one, then http://www.ebuyer.com/product/135253.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25-03-09, 08:21 PM
Youngie1337 Youngie1337 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rugby
Posts: 2,620
Getting one of those Ham :P, gonna order one Friday most likely.

Cheers for the link .
__________________
My name is Dan.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26-03-09, 11:46 AM
!TIMMY! !TIMMY! is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,592
Could get shot down here:

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...odid=BG-018-HY

£206.99 + del.

B-Grade & from OCUk = Risky

But it is a 24" PVA panel monitor with HDMI, only 2 in stock.

I love my 24" DGM PVA monitor, so glad I bought it even though I had to send 2 back to OCUK, but I have never seen the Hyundai.

Some user reviews:

http://www.avforums.com/forums/compu...-review-3.html
__________________
Mobo: DFI LP X48 LT T2R | Bios 12/24 | XSPC Delta Chipset

CPU: Intel Q9550 E0 @ 3.6ghz (424 x 8.5) | Swiftech GTZ

Ram: OCZ PC2-9200 4GB (2 x 2G Flex II @ 1121mhz 5-5-5-15 2T

GC: 2 x Sapphire 4870 1GB @ 780/4000

SC: Auzentech Forte 7.1

Monitors 3 x DGM 24" L2442W-VA LCD

HD's: 3 x WD 150GB Raptor (Raid 0) & 2 x Samsung F3 1TB (Raid 1)

Optical Drives: 2 x NEC DVD Writers

PSU: Enermax Modu82+ 625W

Case: NZXT Tempest

Cooling: Custom Water Cooling

OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26-03-09, 08:39 PM
JackyBoy's Avatar
JackyBoy JackyBoy is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 445
If you can stretch, I have the Dell 2408WFP and it is amazing. Truely epic. But only if you want to stretch that far. The dell e248wfp is also suppsed to be pretty good and £200 cheaper, but is a TN panel
__________________
New Build, New Sig!

My 1xCr Build

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26-03-09, 09:55 PM
GavX GavX is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 778
see I was looking at the E248wfp (I am right now actually...) but £200 extra is really pushing the boat out, I doubt I can stretch that far, £350 maybe, not £450.

Thanks anyway, looks like another TN for me... *sigh*

Is the Acer 24" monitor any good? Looks "*****in'"
__________________
Fail Hard, Fail Often!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26-03-09, 10:25 PM
GavX GavX is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 778
Ok, it seems most 24" in my range are just TNs, and PVAs seem to have lag input. I might just get a 23" the now and consider a second if I can find desk space, £135 off ebuyer, 94 minutes til pay day...
__________________
Fail Hard, Fail Often!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 27-03-09, 12:16 AM
GavX GavX is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 778
*Unreal Voice* T-T-T-Triple Post!

23" in the post £135, so I can buy one now, and maybe another later. I tried dual on World in Conflict and Supreme Commander, was damn pretty, but I doubt it works with FPS
__________________
Fail Hard, Fail Often!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 27-03-09, 12:25 AM
AntiHeroUK AntiHeroUK is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 723
You aware that the monitor is VGA input only?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 06:39 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.