Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Cooling Forum > Liquid Cooling
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 05-03-09, 06:47 PM
Youngie1337 Youngie1337 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rugby
Posts: 2,620
Time to get some

Well since I have some cash to spend on the comp I was thinking of water cooling. I was looking to get a nice little water cooling kit, made from custom parts. Can anyone help me?

I want a nice kit to cool my Q6600 @ 3.8 or even higher if possible. Would someone help me with EVERY item they recommend.

My budget is £160, thank you.

P.S I have a Thermtaltake Res and Pump if needed, from this kit.

http://www.eclipsecomputers.com/prod...de=HFT-CLW0075

__________________
My name is Dan.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-03-09, 04:40 PM
D-Cyph3r D-Cyph3r is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 296
I'll be the first to say ditch anything with Thermaltake stamped on it then. :P

For £160 i'd go for something like this:

DDC Pro + XSPC/EK/Petra's top = £45-55

XSPC Delta V3 CPU Block = £35

A reservoir that suits your setup/case £10-30

Now radiator is a difficult one... I have a Kandalf aswell and I just dont see a BIG rad (like a ThermoChill PA120.3 or XSPC RX360) fitting in the floor.... and it certainly aint going in the roof with all the stuff thats up there already.

Your best bet would be a decent 240mm rad, either a ThermoChill PA120.2, XSPC RX240 or TFC X-Changer 240, all of which are around the £50-55 mark.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-03-09, 11:08 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 14,764
TFC blah over priced crappola
__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-03-09, 11:27 PM
°TheMadDutchDude° °TheMadDutchDude° is offline
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 840
Why do you want to go to water? Your load is only 40c (can't be 100% load, surely?) If it is... 3.8GHz is EASILY doable on that cooler without a question!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-03-09, 09:31 AM
Youngie1337 Youngie1337 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rugby
Posts: 2,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='°TheMadDutchDude°'
Why do you want to go to water? Your load is only 40c (can't be 100% load, surely?) If it is... 3.8GHz is EASILY doable on that cooler without a question!
Just because it's something new mate, I just got sick of fans and stuff. The temp is around 40-42c 100% load, I don't know why so low but it is. Other programs report different temperatures, this is using Everest.
__________________
My name is Dan.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-03-09, 05:36 PM
D-Cyph3r D-Cyph3r is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='tinytomlogan'
TFC blah over priced crappola
May be overpriced but at least they are available. (who knows when the world wide ThermoChill shortage will end) :P
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 09:25 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.