Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 17-02-09, 02:41 AM
Serfaksan Serfaksan is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 20
Need Help :)

Well last time you helped me a lot (and i'm still thankfull for that) with my Abit Ip35 Pro, i was able to overclock it to 3.2Ghz with the Q9450 of 2.66Ghz, now I got a chance and sold the abit and the c2q, and bought an Asus Striker 2 Formula and a Core 2 Quad Q9650

The system i have now is:

CPU = Core 2 Quad q9650 3ghz, 1333mhz and 12mb cache

Cooler = Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme with one zalman 120mm fan

Ram = 8Gb OCZ Reaper HPC CL4 800Mhz FSB 4-4-4-15 (it was running at 6-6-6-18 I dont know why so I did those timings manually but that is the defaults timming of the memory)

Cooler = Corsair Dominator Airflow

MB = Asus Striker 2 Formula 780i

PSU = Ultra X3 1000 Watt Modular

GPU = XFX 8800GTS Alpha Dog Edition XXX 512mb

I am still a noob on overclocking xD so that's why I'm asking for recomendations, I already read the Intel CPU overclocking but maybe some of you who had or have already this board and have more experience than i do can give me some advice

also I am still trying to understand about the FSB ratio, a friend of mine actually explained some to me that it must be at 6:5 or something like that but I am still not clear about it.

thanks in advance for any helping me

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21-02-09, 09:57 PM
Thanh55 Thanh55 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 369
1st-You should lower cpu mutipier to the lowest and test your board for max FSB.

2nd-780i chipset alow you to set unink between FSB and Men Freq. So set you ram run at its speed and set unlink so you do not worry about FSB:Mem ratio.

After you get you board with max FSB (remember all the volteages you set during find out max FSB, you need it for o.c latter), you can now o.c you cpu with multiplier you like and working up with cpu votage with those votage you record before for the max speed. Hope it help
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21-02-09, 11:47 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 15,720
Easy one this, your old motherboard was better.

Unless you want to run sli, sell the motherboard asap.

Nvidia chipsets are all pants bar the 790i.

Even a p965 intel mobo will out do what you have, if you get a proper mobo that cpu should do 4ghz with water cooling easily 24/7
__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23-02-09, 01:40 AM
Serfaksan Serfaksan is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 20
thanks a lot I will try that

And I know that P35 is better but the problem in the first place was that I wanted to run SLI, and I have here 2 PCIE 2.0 at 16x, that's all I need in order to have 2 GTX295 in the near future, and the IP35 Pro was PCIE 1.0 and one of them was at 4x, either way I dont want to do an extreme overclocking, I think if I can make it to 3.5Ghz or 4Ghz I would be happy enough xD

thanks a lot again
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 08:08 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.