Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 31-01-09, 01:31 PM
keenan keenan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 128
All this Phenom II hype has got me pondering....

Up untill this point I have been so happy with my setup, but I cant stop this urge to get rid of all this intel stuff and get the Phenom II 940BE.

Please tell me it will not be worth my while to swith and that it'll be a silly move.

My current specs:

* DFI LP DK P35-T2RS

* Intel E8300 @4.0Ghz (500 x 8)

Now, i know these new Phenoms will do 4.0ghz aswell and that's what's making me gravitate towards all of this...

Please leave your comments....

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 31-01-09, 01:34 PM
Luigi Luigi is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,499
Clock for Clock, phenom II doesnt seem to be as fast.

However, you will be upgrading to quad core, which would be a lot faster in certain apps..

Tbh, if i were you, I would wait for Am3 phenom, and make your mind up then.
__________________
Luigi

-----------

Project: Flat Pack - Coming soon
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31-01-09, 02:42 PM
HypoglossalXII HypoglossalXII is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 217
I agree with Luigi. From your current setup, it shows that you will be needing a new Mobo...why not give it a couple of months, wait for Socket 941 and upgrade then. Note that AM3 CPU will work on Socket 940, BUT not vice versa (or maybe I've read it wrong)

Either way, I'd wait for AM3, and maybe enjoy DDR3

-HypoG
__________________
TTL made me change my signature and didn't give me anything in return. Angst is me.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31-01-09, 04:34 PM
keenan keenan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 128
Ye, i kinda know this, but it still doesnt settle this need for something new. I'll probably try to sell this setup and get the Phenom II..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 31-01-09, 04:53 PM
fruityness fruityness is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 238
Another reason to wait - prices will come down soon. They always release with high prices and within a month reduce.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 31-01-09, 06:00 PM
maz1989 maz1989 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 51
imo if you have a motherboard that can use the phenom 2, go for it. if not stay with intel.
__________________
02 rocks

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 31-01-09, 06:15 PM
ionicle ionicle is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bridlington, East Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 3,237
go for it
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-02-09, 02:29 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,416
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Luigi'
Clock for Clock, phenom II doesnt seem to be as fast.

However, you will be upgrading to quad core, which would be a lot faster in certain apps..

Tbh, if i were you, I would wait for Am3 phenom, and make your mind up then.
U can't really make clock for clock comparisons any more than u can an nvidia or ati gpu.

"If" the newest amd did superpi under 12s @ 3.5ghz and the intel does it @ 4ghz, doesn't make any difference. The matter that they did it is more of a factor.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-02-09, 02:54 PM
Sihastru Sihastru is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: You are here.
Posts: 269
I heard they can do 3.6-3.7 on air... with what seems to me to be a lot of voltage increase, requiring above average cooling solutions (perhaps WC).

It does depend on the things you use your rig for.

GAMING. At this time if only gaming is concerned, moving to a PII could let you disappointed. Your 4GHz 45nm C2D should cope better with this task, you should consider investing your money in a videocard.

OFFICE. Even your current config. is overkill for office work. Try downclocking and undervolting.

BUSINESS/MULTIMEDIA. I will put here everything that means serious work, the kind that puts a lot of food on the table and a gold plated roof over your crib. Unless the app. is specifically designed to use the extra cores, then you'll again be at a loss. Even with two cores, your little chip has that SSE 4.1 and VT (which PII also has to some extent) and that helps. A lot.

So, bottom line. If you have less then 4GB or ram, buy more. If you have something less then a 4870X2 or (better yet) a GTX295, buy one of those. Since you're on a P35, I don't recommend another CF/SLI solution. You'll see much more from these upgrades, then a switch. The novelty will help for a week or two, then you'll start wondering if it was really worth it. And I think it wouldn't be.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-02-09, 11:08 PM
FragTek's Avatar
FragTek FragTek is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stafford, VA USA
Posts: 15,931
Send a message via AIM to FragTek Send a message via MSN to FragTek Send a message via Yahoo to FragTek
I'll be assembling my air cooled Phenom II 920 rig tomorrow, I'll let ya know how she fairs.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 05:45 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.