Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Off Topic > Off Topic Chat
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 20-01-09, 07:24 PM
monkey7 monkey7 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,085
Could someone check out a company?

I have been contacted by the following company:

Quote:
PRIZEFLEX LTD, incorporated and registered in United Kingdom. Registered Office: Unit 3, Cygnus Business Centre, Dalmeyer Road, Zip: NW10 2XA, United Kingdom. Registered Number: 02135464 VAT Number: 918 4518 50.
They offered me a $2000 laptop for $700 incl. :| Also a lot of other electronic devices. Payment would be done through TNT / Western Union, which seems to be a reliable method. They also got me the procedure:

Quote:
1) First you will have to send me your full name and address. I will need them for the shipping.

2) I go to the TNT store and leave the products onto your name as the intended receiver.

3) TNT will check the products to see if everything is OK with them and also the legal papers that will come along with the products.

4) TNT will send you a delivery notification to let you know they have the products you ordered in which you will be told that they have them and that they checked them.

5) At this point you will have to go to a Western Union Agent Location and make a money deposit on the TNT payment agent name for the amount we agreed.

6) After you make the deposit you will have to send the info about the money transfer to TNT (MTCN, sender's name and address)

7) TNT will verify the payment information and if everything is in order they will deliver the products to you .

8) After you receive the products, check them and see that all is in order you will instruct TNT to send me the money.

If by any reason, you will not be satisfied with the products, you will return the product to TNT with no expense.

I will pay TNT for the shipping and you will pay Western Union for the Money Transfer fee.
Sounds reliable to me.

Can anybody find any information on this company? I was looking for a laptop and this one is just superb: http://www.notebookreview.com/price/...1023&pid=18573

__________________






Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20-01-09, 07:26 PM
Ham Ham is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,981
I'd avoid anything like that tbh.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20-01-09, 07:28 PM
monkey7 monkey7 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,085
Yeah, I don't really trust it either, that's why I'm posting it here.

Does the UK have any organisation where all companies must be listed? The registered number "02135464" must be from something.
__________________






Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20-01-09, 07:28 PM
WC Annihilus WC Annihilus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,057
Send a message via AIM to WC Annihilus Send a message via MSN to WC Annihilus
Just about any company that sells things at major discount prices with only money transfer as payment method is bad news.
__________________
Core i5 750 3.8GHz@1.3v under OCZ Vendetta 2

MSI P55-GD65

3x Kingston X25-V RAID0

2x Evga 9600GT SSC SLI

G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3-1600

Corsair VX550w, Ghettoed Antec Super Lanboy

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20-01-09, 07:32 PM
charlie-j charlie-j is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 182
Well you didn't enter the competition so I don't know how you won. Check out their status as a limited company.

http://ec.europa.eu/taxation_customs/vies/viesquer.do

Says not valid
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20-01-09, 07:37 PM
monkey7 monkey7 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,085
Hmm that isn't really good news... I have googled their registration number, came with a few relevant hits:All sounds quite trustworty there. Might be worth to make a call to the office block they are located.
__________________






Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20-01-09, 07:41 PM
nathan nathan is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,798
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'
I have been contacted by the following company:

They offered me a $2000 laptop for $700 incl. :| Also a lot of other electronic devices. Payment would be done through TNT / Western Union, which seems to be a reliable method. They also got me the procedure:

Sounds reliable to me.

Can anybody find any information on this company? I was looking for a laptop and this one is just superb: http://www.notebookreview.com/price/...1023&pid=18573
anything going through western union is usually dodgy, You can check on companies house for the reg number.

Although companies house doesnt give much info;

http://wck2.companieshouse.gov.uk/f1...85/compdetails
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20-01-09, 07:41 PM
meh meh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 145
All incorporated companies have to be registered withe the registrar of companies.

Heres this companies page on the governments site: companieshouse.gov.uk.
__________________
The folding spree begins:



AS! d- s+:+ a--- c+++ p t+ f- S+ e++ h-- r- n+() i+ m++ M+
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20-01-09, 07:44 PM
monkey7 monkey7 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,085
Address not found at your link Nathan. What could particularly go wrong with WU payment?

Hmm that companieshouse link does give some information... The company actually exists. I'll wait and see if I get a reply to my email.
__________________






Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 20-01-09, 07:45 PM
nathan nathan is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,798
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'
Address not found at your link Nathan. What could particularly go wrong with WU payment?

Hmm that companieshouse link does give some information... The company actually exists. I'll wait and see if I get a reply to my email.
In my experience only crooks use it!! i dont think you have any come back from it. You should always use a credit card with online payments.
__________________


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 06:20 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.