Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Graphics Cards
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 11-12-08, 12:08 PM
rrjwilson rrjwilson is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 574
Quad SLi and XP x64

Quad SLi is not supported but XP which given the bandwidth limitations of its kernel is perfectly fine by me. XP x64 (same kernel base as Vista and 2003) has higher bandwidth and can use all of the necessary components at full rate.

Yet Quad SLi is only for Vista? The big, dumb, fat brain child of Bill Gates his last mocking forced purchase scam before he slid into retirement. Vista is slower, more bloated and generally a pain while XP has been around long enough for even the dumbest of n00bs to stratup streaming it down so the ****e and other bloat is gone so it performs better.

Within the year I will be i7 and next gen nVidia (hopefully SLi). Yet if I managed to grab the GTX295 I'm forced to go the way of the bloated heffer that is Vista and lose many of my current abilities across my quite frankly ridiculous home computer setup. Macs: NO, Blu-ray: NO, Netwrok driving: NO, Headless control: NO and final biscuit Quad SLi: Yes.

Does anyone know someone ahead of me who has broke down the drivers so I can Quad SLi in XP x64 because I will not buy the hefferware out of morals?

__________________
Ritchie :haha:

If at first you don't succeed, buy a new part
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-12-08, 03:12 PM
SwaleSmith SwaleSmith is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 967
Hmm in my honets opinion and there are very mixed views I hav erunnued both vista 32/64bit and have little trouble with vista just install the 70 odd updates LOL inc SP1 all is fine

but windows 7 is near bye, although I think its just a vista revamp
__________________
Lian Li V1000 Plus - Core i7 920-Rampage II X58-Watercooled With 2x Feser TFC Xchanger 120mm Rad, EK Supreme Acrylic CPU Block, Laing DDC-1T Ultra Alphacool Top XSPC Res-XFX GTX295 (Overclocked 680/1380/1100mhz) - 3x2GB (6GB Total) Corsair Dominator Triple Channel DDR3 1600mhz - Tagan Piperock 1100w PSU - OCZ Summit 120GB SSD (O.S) - 2x WD Velociraptors Raid-0 (Storage) -Windows 7 RC1 64Bit
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-12-08, 04:45 PM
rrjwilson rrjwilson is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 574
With yet more bloatware
__________________
Ritchie :haha:

If at first you don't succeed, buy a new part
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-12-08, 05:08 PM
°TheMadDutchDude° °TheMadDutchDude° is offline
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 840
Windows 7 will be built on a completely new core kernal. I have tried the pre release BETA which is still currently running off the Vista kernal. However MS have said they're going to redesign it and hopefully get another reliable and quick OS such as XP.

PLEASE MS, WE WANT ANOTHER VERSION OF XP!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-12-08, 05:34 PM
Bungral Bungral is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4,385
Windows 7 is gonna be mostly based on Vista.. Heard it from a Microsoft dude. It's also what the Microsoft trainers have been told I believe.
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4700mhz - 47 x 100MHz Mobo: MSI P67A GD65 GPU: EVGA GTX 570 RAM: 2 x 4GB Mushkin LV 1.35v 1600MHz DDR3 HDD: 3 x 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3's Case: CoolerMaster ATCS 840 - Custom House of Kolor paint job. PSU: Corsair HX750 Cooling: Custom WC - XSPC Delta V3, PA120.3, DDC Ultra with XSPC Res Top, 3/8" XSPC UV Green Tubing over 1/2" Barbs OS: Windows 7 Enterprise Edition 64-Bit
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-12-08, 05:52 PM
zak4994 zak4994 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, United Kingdom
Posts: 3,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Bungral'
Windows 7 is gonna be mostly based on Vista.. Heard it from a Microsoft dude. It's also what the Microsoft trainers have been told I believe.
That's what I heard as well.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-12-08, 09:15 PM
Dualist Dualist is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 41
Your cpu will be the huge bottle neck your rig anyways, big benches early this year showed that the system bottle neck didn't move back to stock cards until you hit 5.4ghz (shamino proved it). So when you reach that level of cpu speeds, Vista will be quite nippy really
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-12-08, 09:26 PM
SwaleSmith SwaleSmith is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 967
jesus christ 5.4ghz can you imagine a 5.4ghz CPU by then were probably gonna have 10 core CPU's LOL
__________________
Lian Li V1000 Plus - Core i7 920-Rampage II X58-Watercooled With 2x Feser TFC Xchanger 120mm Rad, EK Supreme Acrylic CPU Block, Laing DDC-1T Ultra Alphacool Top XSPC Res-XFX GTX295 (Overclocked 680/1380/1100mhz) - 3x2GB (6GB Total) Corsair Dominator Triple Channel DDR3 1600mhz - Tagan Piperock 1100w PSU - OCZ Summit 120GB SSD (O.S) - 2x WD Velociraptors Raid-0 (Storage) -Windows 7 RC1 64Bit
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-12-08, 09:58 PM
rrjwilson rrjwilson is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 574
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Dualist'
Your cpu will be the huge bottle neck your rig anyways, big benches early this year showed that the system bottle neck didn't move back to stock cards until you hit 5.4ghz (shamino proved it). So when you reach that level of cpu speeds, Vista will be quite nippy really
My Q6600 will be a bit of a bottleneck but I am going i7 which will be more than enough for the GPUs given in testing the i7 just keeps lapping up the GPUs more and more.

Anyone answer my actual question?
__________________
Ritchie :haha:

If at first you don't succeed, buy a new part
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-12-08, 10:51 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,416
I've not been aware of any1 breaking down SLI drivers since the 7 series tbh, b4 the encryption.

(that'll either confirm it or find out)
__________________


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 09:46 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.