Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Graphics Cards
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 19-11-08, 09:45 PM
SwaleSmith SwaleSmith is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 967
Cod5 gripes please help last resort!!!

So Have brought cod5 installed without a problem.

however every now and the e.g 5-10 mins of play it crashes with nvllddkkm error have latest nvidia whql drivers have uninstalled and reinstalled after useing a driver cleaner have patched the game to version 1.1 tried with out any overclocks all they I know I'm stable have had no other problem with any other game, I hat to admit it but I am truly stumped.

can anyone help me????

__________________
Lian Li V1000 Plus - Core i7 920-Rampage II X58-Watercooled With 2x Feser TFC Xchanger 120mm Rad, EK Supreme Acrylic CPU Block, Laing DDC-1T Ultra Alphacool Top XSPC Res-XFX GTX295 (Overclocked 680/1380/1100mhz) - 3x2GB (6GB Total) Corsair Dominator Triple Channel DDR3 1600mhz - Tagan Piperock 1100w PSU - OCZ Summit 120GB SSD (O.S) - 2x WD Velociraptors Raid-0 (Storage) -Windows 7 RC1 64Bit
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19-11-08, 10:07 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
Driver version anywhere near 169.25 ? If not, it looks as if nVidia may've messed up another driverset.

If ur using 2xGTX280, I'm doubly stumpered >.<

Give the 180+ drivers a go ?
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19-11-08, 10:32 PM
SwaleSmith SwaleSmith is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 967
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
Driver version anywhere near 169.25 ? If not, it looks as if nVidia may've messed up another driverset.

If ur using 2xGTX280, I'm doubly stumpered >.<

Give the 180+ drivers a go ?
am running the 180.48 whql released today using 3x gtx 280's (tri-sli)
__________________
Lian Li V1000 Plus - Core i7 920-Rampage II X58-Watercooled With 2x Feser TFC Xchanger 120mm Rad, EK Supreme Acrylic CPU Block, Laing DDC-1T Ultra Alphacool Top XSPC Res-XFX GTX295 (Overclocked 680/1380/1100mhz) - 3x2GB (6GB Total) Corsair Dominator Triple Channel DDR3 1600mhz - Tagan Piperock 1100w PSU - OCZ Summit 120GB SSD (O.S) - 2x WD Velociraptors Raid-0 (Storage) -Windows 7 RC1 64Bit
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19-11-08, 11:34 PM
kataras kataras is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 323
did you download 1.1v cod5 patch? if not, go here
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20-11-08, 03:38 AM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='SwaleSmith'
am running the 180.48 whql released today using 3x gtx 280's (tri-sli)
If u had a previously working set of drivers I'd revert to them, or try older drivers than 180 until u find one that works.

That error was a fault within drivers, that nVidia have mumbled an indirect admission about. It was corrected with the driverset 174.xx. This tells me that the problem could quite likely have reared it's ugly head again.

It had something to do with the memory interaction on the cards, and no single resolution was found. Stepping down from 4g to 2g worked for some, underclocking worked for others, replacing the nvldkm?? file, some never got an answer until the fixed drivers came out.

1 thing. If u get the error, the pc will constantly get it unless u reboot. Then u need to reboot when u get it again.

Hope this doesn't effect single cards too. Is it a big pita to revert to 2x cards to try the drivers if all else fails ?
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20-11-08, 09:12 AM
SwaleSmith SwaleSmith is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 967
Have used all the later driver versions and the problem is still the same have the 1.1 patch,

No other game is, or ever has given me this problem???
__________________
Lian Li V1000 Plus - Core i7 920-Rampage II X58-Watercooled With 2x Feser TFC Xchanger 120mm Rad, EK Supreme Acrylic CPU Block, Laing DDC-1T Ultra Alphacool Top XSPC Res-XFX GTX295 (Overclocked 680/1380/1100mhz) - 3x2GB (6GB Total) Corsair Dominator Triple Channel DDR3 1600mhz - Tagan Piperock 1100w PSU - OCZ Summit 120GB SSD (O.S) - 2x WD Velociraptors Raid-0 (Storage) -Windows 7 RC1 64Bit
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20-11-08, 01:32 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
Goto the nvidia control panel, and click on the bottom left link if the window that says something like "system information", there is a tab in there that shows the versions of all the driver components. The very last section of the list is for the control panel and isnt too important, but all the files above it 'should' have all the same version numbers.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20-11-08, 07:35 PM
SwaleSmith SwaleSmith is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 967
yes all the versions are the same
__________________
Lian Li V1000 Plus - Core i7 920-Rampage II X58-Watercooled With 2x Feser TFC Xchanger 120mm Rad, EK Supreme Acrylic CPU Block, Laing DDC-1T Ultra Alphacool Top XSPC Res-XFX GTX295 (Overclocked 680/1380/1100mhz) - 3x2GB (6GB Total) Corsair Dominator Triple Channel DDR3 1600mhz - Tagan Piperock 1100w PSU - OCZ Summit 120GB SSD (O.S) - 2x WD Velociraptors Raid-0 (Storage) -Windows 7 RC1 64Bit
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 24-11-08, 03:01 AM
medic13 medic13 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: carthage
Posts: 28
* Uninstall the current Forceware driver via the Control panel.

* Reboot into "Safe" mode (F8).

* Run Driver Sweeper and choose the "NVIDIA - Display" filter.

* Press "Clean" and wait for it to finish.

* Reboot (normally).

* Cancel any hardware wizards that may appear.

* Install the desired Forceware Driver.

* Reboot.

most also update sound drivers that the other area COD5 has had same issuies fixed them by following that order. you can find it on Guru 3d com
__________________
Case: NZXT Phantom ,Corsair HX 1000W PS
ASUS P8P67 PRO Intel I7 3.4
Kingston XMP 1600 16 GB EVGA G force 580
2 DVDRW Hard drives 2 WD raptor sata 150 GB
Windows vista ultimate
Samsung .226BW
.windows 7 ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 24-11-08, 10:23 AM
SwaleSmith SwaleSmith is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 967
Was having soe trouble with nvlddmkm over weekend so decided to do a full o.s re-install and all seems fine plus cod5 works fine was playing for over an hour last night after farcry2 so fingers crossed it's sorted am using the whql drivers as the betas that are floating around were giving me issues.
__________________
Lian Li V1000 Plus - Core i7 920-Rampage II X58-Watercooled With 2x Feser TFC Xchanger 120mm Rad, EK Supreme Acrylic CPU Block, Laing DDC-1T Ultra Alphacool Top XSPC Res-XFX GTX295 (Overclocked 680/1380/1100mhz) - 3x2GB (6GB Total) Corsair Dominator Triple Channel DDR3 1600mhz - Tagan Piperock 1100w PSU - OCZ Summit 120GB SSD (O.S) - 2x WD Velociraptors Raid-0 (Storage) -Windows 7 RC1 64Bit
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 01:18 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.