Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Overclocking
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 17-11-08, 07:20 PM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
Official OC3D Core i7 Overclocking thread

Post your Core i7 OC's here!

Keep the format as below:

Make sure you include whether it was stable or not (with evidence - Prime95, Super PI 32m, F@H etc) and a CPU-z validation link.

Suicide shot

Stable

Stable with evidence

Example:

Code:
The Core i7 Extreme 940 (stock 2.94GHz)

Jim:

Core i7 EX 940: 7GHz (319 x 22) @ 1.0vcore, 1.1v FSB,  ASUS Rampage II Extreme Custom SS (Phase change)
Core i7 920 retail:

Mopnkey7

Core i7 920 retail: 3.80GHz (190*20) @ 1.3625 vCore, Gigabyte X58-UD5, Air cooled Noctua U12P SE1366

SuperPI time 11.000s, BSOD as soon as P95 started. No proof, as I lost the screenshots with the reinstallation of Vista.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-12-08, 12:06 PM
SwaleSmith SwaleSmith is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 967
jesus nobodys home :-/
__________________
Lian Li V1000 Plus - Core i7 920-Rampage II X58-Watercooled With 2x Feser TFC Xchanger 120mm Rad, EK Supreme Acrylic CPU Block, Laing DDC-1T Ultra Alphacool Top XSPC Res-XFX GTX295 (Overclocked 680/1380/1100mhz) - 3x2GB (6GB Total) Corsair Dominator Triple Channel DDR3 1600mhz - Tagan Piperock 1100w PSU - OCZ Summit 120GB SSD (O.S) - 2x WD Velociraptors Raid-0 (Storage) -Windows 7 RC1 64Bit
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-12-08, 07:12 PM
monkey7 monkey7 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,085
Okay, I guess I'll be the first to start

monkey7, core i7 retail:

3.5GHz (175*20) or 3.675GHz w/ turbo (175*21) @ 1.3625 vCore, Gigabyte X58-UD5, Air cooled Noctua U12P SE1366

CPU-z validation

SuperPI 32m

Core i7 920 retail: 3.80GHz (190*20) @ 1.3625 vCore, Gigabyte X58-UD5, Air cooled Noctua U12P SE1366

SuperPI time 11.000s, BSOD as soon as P95 started. No proof, as I lost the screenshots with the reinstallation of Vista.
__________________






Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-12-08, 07:29 PM
SwaleSmith SwaleSmith is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 967
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'
Okay, I guess I'll be the first to start

Monkey7:

Core i7 920 retail: 3.5GHz (175*20) or 3.675GHz w/ turbo (175*21) @ 1.3625 vCore, Gigabyte X58-UD5, Air cooled Noctua U12P SE1366

CPU-z validation

SuperPI 32m

Core i7 920 retail: 3.80GHz (190*20) @ 1.3625 vCore, Gigabyte X58-UD5, Air cooled Noctua U12P SE1366

SuperPI time 11.000s, BSOD as soon as P95 started. No proof, as I lost the screenshots with the reinstallation of Vista.
cool thanks, what are the temps of the 920 @ 3.8ghz would it go to 4ghz stable???

and what is the max vcore for these cpu's???
__________________
Lian Li V1000 Plus - Core i7 920-Rampage II X58-Watercooled With 2x Feser TFC Xchanger 120mm Rad, EK Supreme Acrylic CPU Block, Laing DDC-1T Ultra Alphacool Top XSPC Res-XFX GTX295 (Overclocked 680/1380/1100mhz) - 3x2GB (6GB Total) Corsair Dominator Triple Channel DDR3 1600mhz - Tagan Piperock 1100w PSU - OCZ Summit 120GB SSD (O.S) - 2x WD Velociraptors Raid-0 (Storage) -Windows 7 RC1 64Bit
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-12-08, 07:37 PM
monkey7 monkey7 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='SwaleSmith'
cool thanks, what are the temps of the 920 @ 3.8ghz would it go to 4ghz stable???
It didn't even get to its max. at 3.8. But as it's the same voltage as when on 3.5 I assume it's 62/62/64/64.

Yes, I would probably be able to get it 4gHz stable by turning HyperThreading off (is told to be eating about 0.05v) and cranking the vCore up to about 1.4~1.45v. I don't think I'm going to do that though, as I would like the chip to last for at least 3 years and with such voltages it will not survive that long.
__________________






Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-12-08, 08:16 PM
SwaleSmith SwaleSmith is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 967
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'
It didn't even get to its max. at 3.8. But as it's the same voltage as when on 3.5 I assume it's 62/62/64/64.

Yes, I would probably be able to get it 4gHz stable by turning HyperThreading off (is told to be eating about 0.05v) and cranking the vCore up to about 1.4~1.45v. I don't think I'm going to do that though, as I would like the chip to last for at least 3 years and with such voltages it will not survive that long.
whats considered safe max voltages???

1.625v???
__________________
Lian Li V1000 Plus - Core i7 920-Rampage II X58-Watercooled With 2x Feser TFC Xchanger 120mm Rad, EK Supreme Acrylic CPU Block, Laing DDC-1T Ultra Alphacool Top XSPC Res-XFX GTX295 (Overclocked 680/1380/1100mhz) - 3x2GB (6GB Total) Corsair Dominator Triple Channel DDR3 1600mhz - Tagan Piperock 1100w PSU - OCZ Summit 120GB SSD (O.S) - 2x WD Velociraptors Raid-0 (Storage) -Windows 7 RC1 64Bit
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-12-08, 09:26 PM
monkey7 monkey7 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,085
Hmm the max. I heard was 1.5V. Or at least that's the point where most chips stop benefiting from another voltage increase.
__________________






Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-12-08, 09:52 PM
SwaleSmith SwaleSmith is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 967
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'
Hmm the max. I heard was 1.5V. Or at least that's the point where most chips stop benefiting from another voltage increase.
whats considered absoloute max safe for 24/7 use do you reckon 1.3625v as your running??
__________________
Lian Li V1000 Plus - Core i7 920-Rampage II X58-Watercooled With 2x Feser TFC Xchanger 120mm Rad, EK Supreme Acrylic CPU Block, Laing DDC-1T Ultra Alphacool Top XSPC Res-XFX GTX295 (Overclocked 680/1380/1100mhz) - 3x2GB (6GB Total) Corsair Dominator Triple Channel DDR3 1600mhz - Tagan Piperock 1100w PSU - OCZ Summit 120GB SSD (O.S) - 2x WD Velociraptors Raid-0 (Storage) -Windows 7 RC1 64Bit
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-12-08, 10:30 PM
monkey7 monkey7 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,085
Hmm I guess somewhere around 1.35, even though I do not know exactly. I wanted to stay on 1.35, but the MHz fever got hold of me and I wanted to keep that 3.50GHz clock even if that meant breaking the 1.35 limit
__________________






Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-12-08, 06:03 PM
SwaleSmith SwaleSmith is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 967
Can't work it out mine cashes @ 1.3625 @3.2GHZ!!!! :-( what am I doing wrong

Dram is at 1.6435 odd volts ram at 1604mhz (stock) disabled all the CPU things like spread spectrum c1e etc heard someone mention somethng about PLL i think but have forgotten and can't find the post, any tips out there???

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'
Okay, I guess I'll be the first to start

monkey7, core i7 retail:

3.5GHz (175*20) or 3.675GHz w/ turbo (175*21) @ 1.3625 vCore, Gigabyte X58-UD5, Air cooled Noctua U12P SE1366

CPU-z validation

SuperPI 32m

Core i7 920 retail: 3.80GHz (190*20) @ 1.3625 vCore, Gigabyte X58-UD5, Air cooled Noctua U12P SE1366

SuperPI time 11.000s, BSOD as soon as P95 started. No proof, as I lost the screenshots with the reinstallation of Vista.
__________________
Lian Li V1000 Plus - Core i7 920-Rampage II X58-Watercooled With 2x Feser TFC Xchanger 120mm Rad, EK Supreme Acrylic CPU Block, Laing DDC-1T Ultra Alphacool Top XSPC Res-XFX GTX295 (Overclocked 680/1380/1100mhz) - 3x2GB (6GB Total) Corsair Dominator Triple Channel DDR3 1600mhz - Tagan Piperock 1100w PSU - OCZ Summit 120GB SSD (O.S) - 2x WD Velociraptors Raid-0 (Storage) -Windows 7 RC1 64Bit
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 01:04 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.