Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Overclocking
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 12-11-08, 11:19 PM
n54 n54 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 9
New member, advice or suggestions are welcomed

Hi, I'm big fan of this community, and I am happy to join.

Just started messing around with my rig, and I was wondering if anyone could give me any suggestions on overclocking.

My specs:

CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 running at 4.0Ghz.

MB: ASUS ROG Rampage Extreme.

MEM: CorsairTwinX XMS3 2x2GB PC-10666 DDR3.

What I've done is, raised the multiplier to 8.5 and the FSB to 470Mhz.

I'm running on air (Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro) and very stable so far also reasonably cool (41C). I've attached the CPU-Z screen and would like it if you could give me any suggestions.

Cheers.
Attached Images
File Type: png sys.PNG (27.8 KB, 16 views)

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14-11-08, 09:32 PM
GavX GavX is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 778
Very impressive, I can't seem to get based 3.8 stably on my Q9450 on my Max Formula (DDR2 ) and I forgot how I got there so at a weedy 3.4Ghz until I can spend a good hour working it out again On air that is very impressive, I hit the wall I think at FSB 480 so you might have some headroom yet
__________________
Fail Hard, Fail Often!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15-11-08, 12:19 AM
n54 n54 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 9
I hit the wall at 480, not stable at all. I'm trying to look for a way to go beyond 4.0Ghz stable, temperature wise I'm safe but I can't seem to get it working beyond that area at all. My dream is to reach 5.0Ghz on air. Any suggestions ?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15-11-08, 01:19 AM
Bungral Bungral is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4,385
Yup... To keep dreaming

5 GHz on air isn't very realistic.

As for hitting 4 GHz then as you're so close, there is probably some tweaking you could do to get you there. You said your temps are ok, so you could put a tiny little bit more voltage through it to get you to the 4 GHz target but you wouldn't notice any performance difference compared to what you're at now. With higher voltage comes higher temps too so if they start to go up then you might want to look at a higher end heatsink and fan. That said, there is always the chance your CPU is at it's wall then that's that really.
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4700mhz - 47 x 100MHz Mobo: MSI P67A GD65 GPU: EVGA GTX 570 RAM: 2 x 4GB Mushkin LV 1.35v 1600MHz DDR3 HDD: 3 x 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3's Case: CoolerMaster ATCS 840 - Custom House of Kolor paint job. PSU: Corsair HX750 Cooling: Custom WC - XSPC Delta V3, PA120.3, DDC Ultra with XSPC Res Top, 3/8" XSPC UV Green Tubing over 1/2" Barbs OS: Windows 7 Enterprise Edition 64-Bit
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19-11-08, 08:20 PM
Allubz Allubz is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 37
You'll need a 1.4 vCore to try for 4GHz. Give it a shot.

I got the same board, hell of a thing. Somehow my E8400 C0 is limited to FSB 445*9 though.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 12:20 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.