Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Networks & Security
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 12-11-08, 11:01 AM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
FTP server

Looking for an easy setup FTP util I can install on a standard Vista 64bit pc, allow access to something like a folder and it`s contents, run for a day or so, then uninstall just as easily.

Many thanks.

EDIT: Filezilla looks free and easy.

__________________


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-11-08, 11:14 AM
llwyd llwyd is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3,726
Used BulletProof FTP and SmartFTP without any complaints, both simple and easy to use
__________________
Just ate 5 Cadbury's Double Deckers in 30 minutes

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-11-08, 11:34 AM
Bungral Bungral is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4,385
Installed filezilla myself for someone at work the other day... Was simple and free.

But yeah there are probably a few just as easy and just as free.
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4700mhz - 47 x 100MHz Mobo: MSI P67A GD65 GPU: EVGA GTX 570 RAM: 2 x 4GB Mushkin LV 1.35v 1600MHz DDR3 HDD: 3 x 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3's Case: CoolerMaster ATCS 840 - Custom House of Kolor paint job. PSU: Corsair HX750 Cooling: Custom WC - XSPC Delta V3, PA120.3, DDC Ultra with XSPC Res Top, 3/8" XSPC UV Green Tubing over 1/2" Barbs OS: Windows 7 Enterprise Edition 64-Bit
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-11-08, 12:11 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
Install em, port forward from the router, and I`m laughing - yeah ?
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-11-08, 01:08 PM
JN JN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,678
Serv-U is very nice, but Filezilla will probably do what you need it to, and with it being free u cant rly go wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-11-08, 01:20 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
Oh, one thing I meant to ask, in any of these cases, they don`t "need" the client versions on the other end in order to handshake do they ?

I`m hoping to just supply some1 with a ftp:// through IE.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-11-08, 01:25 PM
JN JN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,678
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
Oh, one thing I meant to ask, in any of these cases, they don`t "need" the client versions on the other end in order to handshake do they ?

I`m hoping to just supply some1 with a ftp:// through IE.
Nope FTP is the protocol standard so any FTP client can understand any FTP server. The only thing you sometimes find is that IE/Firefox don't implement the full FTP featureset, so if you're adding virtual folders and other bits to your FTP server, you are best using a full FTP client.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-11-08, 02:15 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
Nah, just plan on giving them an address ftp://123.123.123.123:21 ?? and have them take some things, once done it`ll all be uninstalled.

Will it present a listing or will I have to provide a specific address for each ? (in the main)
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-11-08, 02:16 PM
JN JN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,678
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
Nah, just plan on giving them an address ftp://123.123.123.123:21 ?? and have them take some things, once done it`ll all be uninstalled.

Will it present a listing or will I have to provide a specific address for each ? (in the main)
Totally depends on how you configure the FTP sever, but providing you tell it to just 'host X folder as the root' and every other folder is underneath that one, then yeah it will display the same in IE
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-11-08, 05:02 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
Kewl, thanks for the info guyz.
__________________


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 04:22 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.