Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Graphics Cards
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 09-11-08, 04:08 AM
Kerotan Kerotan is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 470
Upgrade worth it?

I've just been offered an 8800GT [I'm pretty sure it's the 512MB version, but could be 256] for £40 which I would be getting off my mate at uni when he goes home at Xmas.

Is it worth it upgrading from my 7900GS 256 which I run with a nice little OC when gaming of:



(Got the Akasa Vortexx Neo strapped on keeping everything cool, so temps don't go above 50 on load at this time of year)



or should I just wait till I can afford something like a 4850? The 7900 is capable in most Source games, but I have to play with most settings down in TF2, so I'm thinking Left4Dead would crawl with any detail. Would the GT do ok in Mafia II/GTAIV?

__________________


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-11-08, 12:09 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
£40 for a 512 8800GT is pretty good. Dont think I'd bother with 256 considering what u already have. I mean sure u get dx10, but still 256m for gfx.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-11-08, 04:58 PM
The Sorcerer The Sorcerer is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 30
Ati 4850 does own 8800gt easily. The purchase come down to this- are you playing dx10 games now? If you want to wait for 4850, how long can you wait? I have upgraded from ati x1650 and waited till vista was actually usable. Then came 8800gt, thought of waiting for a month's time- ati started to pwn nvidia. Hence I bought palit 4870 1gb ddr5 dual sonic- and its excellent.

or

You can wait till your card has really outlasted its usefulness.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-11-08, 10:08 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
@ £40, for me, I feel his 8800GT prawns the 4850 - no ?
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-11-08, 10:24 PM
Bungral Bungral is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4,385
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
@ £40, for me, I feel his 8800GT prawns the 4850 - no ?
Agreed 100%.

Even if he found in a few months it didn't have enough power, he could probably sell it at a profit.
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4700mhz - 47 x 100MHz Mobo: MSI P67A GD65 GPU: EVGA GTX 570 RAM: 2 x 4GB Mushkin LV 1.35v 1600MHz DDR3 HDD: 3 x 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3's Case: CoolerMaster ATCS 840 - Custom House of Kolor paint job. PSU: Corsair HX750 Cooling: Custom WC - XSPC Delta V3, PA120.3, DDC Ultra with XSPC Res Top, 3/8" XSPC UV Green Tubing over 1/2" Barbs OS: Windows 7 Enterprise Edition 64-Bit
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-11-08, 11:07 PM
kataras kataras is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 323
For 40quid that is a steal right there
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-11-08, 07:33 AM
jasonelmore jasonelmore is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
yeah thats a good price for a 8800 GT.. your gonna see a pretty significant difference in games and now that you'll be able to run Direct X 10 your games are going to look a lot better.. Plus you'll have Physix and CUDA support not to mention Pure Video for HD Video Decoding.. You cant Lose.. i love mine.. I just got a 280GTX but i still have my 8800 GT for folding
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-12-08, 08:11 PM
Kerotan Kerotan is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 470
Just so people know, I did get the card, but unfortunately when I put it in I figured out pretty quickly that it was 256MB.

The good news is that the guy I got it from is a pretty top bloke so he said I could just use it in my system for free until I had enough cash for an upgrade!!! He said it was his mistake as he did think it was 512.

It's a nice upgrade from my 7900, TF2 for example runs much smoother, but I can't help thinking that the GT is a bit crippled by the framebuffer, as even at 1440*900 I can't really use more than 4*AA in most of my games when the action heats up, which is what I had it on before.

Still for free, can't complain I guess
__________________


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 08:53 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.