Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 27-10-08, 04:20 PM
lf751 lf751 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 87
Overlclocking P6NGM

Hi I ogt this board and I wanna know if someone can tell me how to get my P4 OCed, also It sais it takes 800mhz RAM, I have 800mhz ram it works fine but in the bios it sais it's going at 667.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 27-10-08, 10:32 PM
AuraIndigo AuraIndigo is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 49
Is there a choice available for 800, ie, if you scroll down and whack enter, does it bring a sub-menu up? Don`t have the board m8, just a guess
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27-10-08, 11:22 PM
lf751 lf751 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 87
No, It's increased by 1 so I have to hold + key.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27-10-08, 11:46 PM
AuraIndigo AuraIndigo is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 49
Ok m8, just press it 133 times times and you`re up to 800! Your board may have spotted something it didn`t like in the RAM and downclocked it ... I`ve seen this and never suffered any repercussions from simply stating the RAM "as is".

I had some good experience OCing my old P4. Depends what it`s design is though. Is it a Prescott? If it is, it`s a hot chip and stock cooling won`t cut it.

I had a 3Ghz Prescott stable at 3.6Ghz, but to be perfectly frank, that makes it great for surfing, word processing, playing old games etc but obselete these days. Your board is LGA775, thought about a very cheap core two duo? Even a bog standard variant will out perform a P4 easily. Without checking prices, can be sought for around 35 notes?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27-10-08, 11:59 PM
lf751 lf751 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 87
You do realize I've been running Far cry 2 on Ultra High for the past four days right?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28-10-08, 12:05 AM
AuraIndigo AuraIndigo is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 49
Erm no, what makes you think I should have done?

I`m only trying to help, please don`t take that tone. I`m kinda having to ask more questions than information you are giving freely .... and if you`ve been gaming like that as you say, you`ve got a better machine than I have so I cannot render further assistance, sorry friend
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28-10-08, 12:06 AM
lf751 lf751 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 87
:O I was just being funny, You make me sad now...I...I Cry ;(
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28-10-08, 12:11 AM
AuraIndigo AuraIndigo is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 49
Don`t cry, you`ll upset the sheep ... sorry mate, I kinda just left a tremendously *****y forum looking for a new home to help, I`m used to being on the offensive/defensive

You got that RAM working yet then you Taffy ****?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 28-10-08, 12:13 AM
lf751 lf751 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 87
I will try it now!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 28-10-08, 12:27 AM
AuraIndigo AuraIndigo is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 49
OK sunshine ... now, that ain`t a bad board really. Good CPU support and perhaps we can optimise the RAM.

Tell me what CPU and RAM you are using. We might be able to get a little extra on auto settings, but I`ll keep reading manual and perhaps we can supply some extra juice where it`s needed
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 05:01 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.