Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Overclocking
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 18-10-08, 09:40 AM
jaydee70 jaydee70 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 11
OCing P5KC and E6850

Hi guys, imma a newbee 2 OCing, and i can use some advice.

I have a P5KC with E6850 processor with pc8500 2 GB.

I have it stable now on 3.6, but i want 2 get it up 2 4.0.

Is that possible??

I have WC from thermaltake.

If I get it higher,like 3,8 if hangs after 1-2 hours, prolly my NB, coz I can bearly tough it than. Can U guys give me some advice?

Settings :

CPU ratio - 9.0

FSB strap North Bridge - 333

FSB Frequency - 399

PCIE Frequency - 100

DRAM Frequency - DDR2 799

DRAM Command Rate - Auto

DRAM timing Control - Auto

DRAM static read Control - Auto

DRAM dynamic write Control - Auto

Adjust CHA skew support - Auto

Adjust CHB skew support - Auto

Transaction Booster - Diasabled

relax level - 3

CPU voltage - 1.4250

CPU PPL Voltage - 1.50

FSB term Volt - 1.40

Dram Voltage - 2.00

Nort Bridge Volt - 1.55

Clock Over Charching - Auto

Load Line Calibration - Auto

CPU GTL Volt reference - Auto

NB GTL Volt reference - Auto

CPU Spread Spectrum - Auto

PCIE Spread Spectrum - Auto

Hope u guys can help me out,

Greets from JayDee

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18-10-08, 09:52 AM
°TheMadDutchDude° °TheMadDutchDude° is offline
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 840
What kind of temperatures do you have at the moment with 3.6 at max loads?

Download Orthos Stress Prime

http://sp2004.fre3.com/beta/beta2.htm

And also download CoreTemp

http://www.alcpu.com/CoreTemp/

Then download CPUZ

http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php

Run CPUZ to check your voltage, although it isn't the most reliable, it gives you a good idea as too how much Vdroop you're getting from in your BIOS in Windows. Orthos stresses your CPU to 100% for how ever long you let it run, when overclocking.. when you've found a speed you like, leave it running for around 1hr + (extreme but people leave it for 8hrs plus.. unneccessary!) Use CoreTemp to monitor your temperatures.

Report back with this please
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18-10-08, 10:27 AM
jaydee70 jaydee70 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 11
Hi Dutchdude,

Ran it 4 5 min and already got a fail :

Using CPU #1

Beginning a continuous self-test to check your computer.

Press Stop to end this test.

Test 1, 4000 Lucas-Lehmer iterations of M19922945 using 1024K FFT length.

Test 2, 4000 Lucas-Lehmer iterations of M19922943 using 1024K FFT length.

Test 3, 4000 Lucas-Lehmer iterations of M19374367 using 1024K FFT length.

Test 4, 4000 Lucas-Lehmer iterations of M19174369 using 1024K FFT length.

FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 0.5, expected less than 0.4

Hardware failure detected, consult stress.txt file.

Torture Test ran 5 minutes 50 seconds - 1 errors, 0 warnings.

Execution halted.

idle voltage was 1,384 Volts

max load was 1,328 Volts

max temp was 52 C

All this with the above settings
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18-10-08, 10:47 AM
°TheMadDutchDude° °TheMadDutchDude° is offline
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 840
That is a big Vdroop!

Up your volts a bit more.. that is a volt error normally. Put it up to 1.45v and try again, see how well that goes
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18-10-08, 11:13 AM
jaydee70 jaydee70 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='°TheMadDutchDude°'
That is a big Vdroop!

Up your volts a bit more.. that is a volt error normally. Put it up to 1.45v and try again, see how well that goes
got it running now 4 13 min now

vcore max load 1,3375(in Core temp) and 1,336(in CPU Z)

max temp 56

shall i wait longer, or go straight to 3,8 GHz??
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18-10-08, 11:24 AM
°TheMadDutchDude° °TheMadDutchDude° is offline
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 840
What temperatures are you getting..?

Also, what CPU Voltage do you have it set to in the BIOS now?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18-10-08, 11:27 AM
jaydee70 jaydee70 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 11
after 28 minutes its now 58 Celcius and I set my bios 2 1,450 like u said
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18-10-08, 11:31 AM
°TheMadDutchDude° °TheMadDutchDude° is offline
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 840
Cool You can try 3.8GHz if you like.. I can't see it doing any harm though you might require a bit more voltage.

Try booting at 3.8GHz, and see what it does.. if it doesn't boot.. up the Vcore by one notch and try again.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18-10-08, 11:45 AM
jaydee70 jaydee70 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 11
already at 1.500 Volts on motherboard, but still fails in less than a minut

Using CPU #1

Beginning a continuous self-test to check your computer.

Press Stop to end this test.

Test 1, 4000 Lucas-Lehmer iterations of M19922945 using 1024K FFT length.

FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 0.5, expected less than 0.4

Hardware failure detected, consult stress.txt file.

Torture Test ran 0 minutes 16 seconds - 1 errors, 0 warnings.

Execution halted.

up Voltage even more??
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 18-10-08, 11:58 AM
°TheMadDutchDude° °TheMadDutchDude° is offline
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 840
Nahh I wouldn't, 1.55v is the max safe recommended level. I'd stick to 3.6GHz and be happy with it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 03:04 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.