Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Graphics Cards
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 09-10-08, 06:27 PM
nightfox nightfox is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 7
Need help with XFX 9800 GTX

Hi guys just bought a second hand XFX 9800 GTX

to uprade from my 7800GT

what it is when i boot the pc all im getting is a blank screen

and 1 long beep and 3 short beeps

hav i done summit wrong, my pc is

Asus M2N32 WS Pro AMD FX 62 and 4 GB ram

Any help at all would be much appreciated

Billy

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-10-08, 06:28 PM
Luigi Luigi is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,499
What PSU are you using?
__________________
Luigi

-----------

Project: Flat Pack - Coming soon
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-10-08, 06:30 PM
nightfox nightfox is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 7
Using a Coolermaster Silent proM 700w modular
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-10-08, 06:49 PM
Phoenix Phoenix is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 418
http://www.computerhope.com/beep.htm

For AMI bios that would suggest "Conventional/Extended memory failure".
__________________
Intel Q6600 G0 | Asus P5N-T Deluxe 780i | 2x2GB Kingston HyperX PC2 8500 | XFX GF8800GTS 512 | Antec P182 | Antec TruePower Quattro 1000w | Tuniq Tower 120 | Sony 52" KDL-V5500

Not updated 3Dmark06 top score: 19995 / 14772 (Full AA/AF)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-10-08, 06:50 PM
°TheMadDutchDude° °TheMadDutchDude° is offline
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 840
I think that sounds like a memory problem going off by head (can't remember but worth a shot!)

Take out all your memory sticks and put one stick in slot one, attempt to boot up and see what happens, if you get the same result, pick another one and slot it in slot 1, try boot up again, if nothing.. I am out of ideas LOL!

Do you have another motherboard you can try? Do you have another computer built up you can try?

EDIT: Whos your daddy LOL lucky shot in the dark, also.. try removing all your external periphirals you don't need..!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-10-08, 07:18 PM
nightfox nightfox is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 7
Cheers guys will try that 2morrow and ill ask a friend to try it in his pc
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-10-08, 07:22 PM
°TheMadDutchDude° °TheMadDutchDude° is offline
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 840
Cool, best of luck getting it sorted.

I don't understand how putting in a graphics card can screw with your memory.. stranger things have happened though I guess.

Let us know the results
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-10-08, 07:24 PM
Phoenix Phoenix is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 418
Mind you, IBM bios reports it as Video (EGA) Display Circuitry.
__________________
Intel Q6600 G0 | Asus P5N-T Deluxe 780i | 2x2GB Kingston HyperX PC2 8500 | XFX GF8800GTS 512 | Antec P182 | Antec TruePower Quattro 1000w | Tuniq Tower 120 | Sony 52" KDL-V5500

Not updated 3Dmark06 top score: 19995 / 14772 (Full AA/AF)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-10-08, 08:01 PM
nightfox nightfox is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 7
just a quick one i dont get anything on my monitor when i boot the pc up,

just black screen
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-10-08, 08:12 PM
°TheMadDutchDude° °TheMadDutchDude° is offline
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 840
Mhmm, do you have another computer apart from your friends that you can try it in?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 11:37 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.