Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 06-10-08, 03:43 PM
f0x. f0x. is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Norhern Ireland
Posts: 324
Send a message via MSN to f0x.
Asus P5N-E issues

Hey guys, my friend has recently (last night ) attempted his first overclock, with 3.2ghz the traget. Using a q6600, o5n-e and 4 gig of geil Black dragon ram, he put in the following settings, vcore 1.35, fsb 333fsb and no other voltage increases.

After rebooting, his pc would stick on the black asus screen before post. We have tried unplugging all drives, different ram, cmos resets, reseating the gfx card, reseating all power connectors to no avail

Any suggestions at this point bar RMA on the motherboard??

Thanks guys.

__________________
Main rig: Nautilus

CPU: Q9550 @ 3.6ghz RAM: 4gb GSKILL DDR3 BFG GTX 295

PSU: Inwin Commando 1500w SND: Creative X-FI 2

HDD: 120gb OCZ Vertex SSD with 1TB WD (Storage)

Cooling: Custom CPU Loop with XSPC Edge V1 Block
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-10-08, 04:41 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
Do the usual cmos clearing to get it up ?
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-10-08, 04:55 PM
f0x. f0x. is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Norhern Ireland
Posts: 324
Send a message via MSN to f0x.
Nope

Unfortunatly not, we have even left the cmos battery out overnight ( all these mysitcs say 3 days pfft) and no joy. Thinking bios on the board may have crapped it self. Could it actually be the CPU has copped it?
__________________
Main rig: Nautilus

CPU: Q9550 @ 3.6ghz RAM: 4gb GSKILL DDR3 BFG GTX 295

PSU: Inwin Commando 1500w SND: Creative X-FI 2

HDD: 120gb OCZ Vertex SSD with 1TB WD (Storage)

Cooling: Custom CPU Loop with XSPC Edge V1 Block
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-10-08, 05:01 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
Very rare for that to happen. Three days without the battery is really unnecessary, to clear the bank u only need to remove the battery, disconnect from the mains and keep pressing the on/off until all the lights go from the mobo.

I`d try taking everything out except the gfxcard, a clear of the bios, stick 1 stick of memory in slot4 and fire it up.

If it fires up and sounds like it`s working - cept u cant see anything on the monitor, then thats another story.
__________________


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 04:29 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.