Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Project Logs & Gallery > Desk & Work Area
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 12-09-08, 07:14 PM
Diablo Diablo is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Manchester/ Oxford Uni
Posts: 1,524
I think I have too many computers:

This is my desktop. I currently have four computers (and four keyboards and mice, two sets of 7.1 surround sound speakers, two screens, plus the laptop) on the desk, one in the Xaser V to the far left, with a portable HD on top and thermometer.

There is also an EEE pc (the little laptop with the fish in it), my main rig in the Xaser VI (better than normal thermaltake). On the other panel is a large 220mm fan blowing cold air from a cooler part of the room.

In the main rig, there is an ARTiGO Pico ITX PC, which acts as my always on server, complete with 120GB HD and 1GB RAM with a whole 1GHZ of processing power.

The main rig referenced in my sig, is badly cable managed due to the size of the case meaning that the cables won't go under the mobo tray and connect to the GPUs without some serious work. Fully air cooled with a total of fifteen fans, very quiet except when its playing games.

Also a picture of the hygrometer (measures temperature and humidity) which records onto paper strips. (It was bought in the early 90s when a server room was being decomissioned)

I think I need a bigger desk.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Desktop.jpg (90.8 KB, 414 views)
File Type: jpg Artigo.JPG (79.4 KB, 291 views)
File Type: jpg Big fan.JPG (47.9 KB, 200 views)
File Type: jpg hygrometer.JPG (62.9 KB, 227 views)
File Type: jpg Xaser VI desktop.JPG (62.4 KB, 189 views)

__________________

i7 3930K 4.5GHz -EK Supreme HF- Rampage IV Extreme EK Blocks - 32GB 1600MHz RAM - 680GTX SLI Koolance Blocks - Creative Titanium Pro - TJ07B-W - TCubed BigNG - 240GB SSD - 3TB HD - Dual Loop
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-09-08, 09:57 PM
k4p84 k4p84 is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 619
Wooden mouse and keyboard, way forward
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-09-08, 10:02 PM
Diablo Diablo is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Manchester/ Oxford Uni
Posts: 1,524
It matches the desk, and was pretty cheap (special offer from Aria) but the mouse has developed a bit of a (pun not intended) squeak. I needed something different from the mice i already have, bit awkward trying to use more than 2 pcs, and KVM switches limit the performance of 1000Hz polling G9 mice.
__________________

i7 3930K 4.5GHz -EK Supreme HF- Rampage IV Extreme EK Blocks - 32GB 1600MHz RAM - 680GTX SLI Koolance Blocks - Creative Titanium Pro - TJ07B-W - TCubed BigNG - 240GB SSD - 3TB HD - Dual Loop
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13-09-08, 12:30 AM
Acid90 Acid90 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 99
All that would drive me insaneeee!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13-09-08, 01:53 AM
Hassan Hassan is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 783
You say that you got too many computers. Well all I can say is that it is very cool. Although you should consider getting a corner desk or some sort. I reckon this will make it cleaner.
__________________
A mod changed my signature because it was too big. Tutt-tutt
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13-09-08, 06:34 AM
TonyG TonyG is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 624
You can never have too many computers.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13-09-08, 08:49 AM
Diablo Diablo is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Manchester/ Oxford Uni
Posts: 1,524
Well, i'm going up to uni in October, so that sort of makes getting a new desk a bit frivolous. But as TonyG says, can you ever have too many computers?
__________________

i7 3930K 4.5GHz -EK Supreme HF- Rampage IV Extreme EK Blocks - 32GB 1600MHz RAM - 680GTX SLI Koolance Blocks - Creative Titanium Pro - TJ07B-W - TCubed BigNG - 240GB SSD - 3TB HD - Dual Loop
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13-09-08, 09:07 AM
TonyG TonyG is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 624
Just picked up 5 pcs for recycling.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 13-09-08, 09:38 AM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='TonyG'
You can never have too many computers.
Hmmm I`m 50/50 agreeing and disagreeing.

I don`t think it`s a bad thing. It`s great to have lots of kit and that they work as you want them.

Then there`s the other side of having older kit that ~really~ has little use or not imaginary destination (ie. "I can replace my mom/sisters pc with this one cos theirs is older")

But I will say 1 definate thing, it can get out of hand.

Tis great to have a bunch of main ones and a few spares for testing stuff.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 15-09-08, 07:14 PM
Zoot's Avatar
Zoot Zoot is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,286
I don't think 4 is too much.

I've 3 myself. (2 Desktops and 1 Laptop)

Although these days my 2 desktops give most of their lives idle, considering I only go home maybe once every 3 weeks with college atm.
__________________
AMD FX-8350 | Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 | 16GB DDR3 | Nvidia GTX 780

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 10:19 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.